We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dolce fare niente in Maspalomas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort

Save Saved
You added Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda. Sunair s/n, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 65 hotels in Maspalomas
bilbao
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Dolce fare niente in Maspalomas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is a good choice if you want to stay at a short stroll from the beach and far from the crowd at the same time. The villas are simple but adequate, there is a choice of pools, you see grass, trees and flowers everywhere and the food is correct. Beware that if you choose half or full board beverages are paid separately. The dunes and the shopping and dining areas are a 10-minute walk away. All in all, a convenient place at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear davidleo Bilbao,

Thank you very much for your feedback about your holidays at Dunas Suites & Villas Resort.

It is lovely to learn that you enjoyed your stay and like our pools, the beautiful gardens and our food.

It will be a great pleasure for us to welcome you again at our resort on your next holidays in Maspalomas.

Kind regards

Marion Cohrs
Customer care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    337
    395
    142
    58
    45
See reviews for
512
248
24
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is nice accommodation- Our 1 bed Suite was lovely and very clean. The pools are lovely and the complex generally very child friendly which really suited us. Some of the staff could do with some customer service training or even smiling occasionally, but others we found to be lovely. The hotel is about a 15 min walk to the beach/maspalomas but make sure you walk on to the melonaras seafront. It is really gorgeous in the evening with loads of lovely restaurants and general good atmosphere. Be aware that the shops closest to the complex are really expensive and the ones at the resort have much more normal prices.

Room Tip: go for a suite, I personally did not like the standard of the bungalows
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear…..

Thank you very much for having chosen Dunas Suites & Villas Resort for your most recent stay here on the sunny island of Gran Canaria.

We highly appreciate that you took your time to share your experience with us and our community on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted that you especially mentioned the lovely pools and the child friendliness at our resort.

Once again thank you for staying with us. The entire hotel team is looking forward to welcoming you back at Dunas Suites & Villas Resort.

Best regards from Gran Canaria.

Marion Cohrs
Customer care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Very good accomadation, would get a 2 bed suite for sure as more spacious and not on top of each other. The Suites are set in the most beautiful gardens with lovely pool areas. The animation team are fab and keep everyone in high spirits!! Food is very good and all in all a good base to be near the beach.

Room Tip: 2 Bedroom Suites are more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear guests,

thank you very much for taking your time and share your comments about your recent stay at Dunas Suites & Villas Resort. This is always a positive thing as it helps us to improve our service.

Thank you very much for mentioning especially our entertainment team. We will forward your nice comments to them.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at our hotel in the future.

Kind regards and sunny greetings

Marion Cohrs
Customer care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We traveled 3 adults and 2 kids (1 year and nearly 3 year old) to Gran Canaria end of September 2012 for 2 weeks, booked 2 hotels for our stay. First one was 5*Lopesan Baobab (5 nights, see my other review about it, superb hotel). And second one was this 4* Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort (9 nights).
Its ranked 4* hotel, but it does not look it is 4* more likely 3*.We booked all inclusive option.
Food is repetitive, choice is very small. Drinks by pool bar are premixed from tap (mohito, tequila sunrise, vodka sun, pinacolada and some others, will cost u 5euro if u are not all inc) if u like some other drinks ones u have to pay extra even u have all inc option. Hotel have own super market with quite high prices.
Good bits: We stayed in largest available Senior suite . It has 2 bedrooms, good size bathroom and living room with air con, tv, safe (costs extra ). . Animation team are nice, they friendly and working hard to keep kids happy. Kids disco was good. Car parking is free and plenty of space there.
Bad: 4 days out of 9 one of 2 bedrooms was never cleaned and bed was not made up. Room cleaners do not bother to do their job properly. In restaurant some waiters do not speak a word in English. Restaurant staff are overloaded with work (they work so hard , respect to them). Red liquid what they call it “House wine” from tap is unlimited , managed to try once and never touched again. By swimming pool tiles are extremely slippery it’s dangerous to walk with wet feet. All of us slipped many times. And yes we have seen one cockroach in our bungalow. kettle will cost u 3euro per day extra.

Non of these bad bits we had in 5*Lopesan Baobab hotel we arrived from, sure it was more expensive but we had wonderful time there.
Dunas Suites and Villas Resort was cheaper but we no way coming back there, would not recommend this hotel. Disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear Darius D,

thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our hotel.
Your suggestions and comments are very much appreciated, as we are always interested to improve our service and satisfy the demands of our guests. We will take your critics about our all inclusive service, food and room cleaning into consideration.

We are very pleased to hear that enjoyed the spacious suite. Regarding your comments about our animation team we already passed your positive words to them, as this is a brilliant motivation for proceeding in the same way.
We hope that you will change your mind, because we would look forward to welcoming you again as guests in our resort.
For any question, problem or information our public relations department in the hotel will be at your disposal.

Best regards,

Marion Cohrs
Customer Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We booked this hotel and then less than 24 hrs before we left the UK they told us we were being moved to another hotel, they had over booked, it was a Saga hotel with 1 pool. Very unhelpful, we managed to get moved after 2 days back to this hotel.
The customer service was poor, reception could not answer any questions, at 12 noon on leaving we checked out 5pm we were told the all inclusive was now finished and we had to pay for food and drink, even though we arrived 10pm on the first night.
Rooms were good and food but our holiday was ruined and we are still awaiting a response to our complaint 3 weeks later. 3 star not 4. Many drinks in the all inclusive not included.

Room Tip: They had massage facilities but reception knew nothing about it and it was always closed You wouldn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this review, December 25, 2012
Dear Guests,

First of all, thank you for taking your time to write your comments about your stay at Dunas Suites & Villas Resort. We will pass on your comments to our management.

We appreciate very much that you enjoyed the room and our food.

Regarding your comments about customer service and reception, your opinion is also much appreciated since it helps us to improve our service.

The hotel offers all inclusive service until 12.00 o’clock the day of departure. If customers arrive in the evening, we organize a free lunch in our main restaurant the day of departure.

We hope that you will give us in future another opportunity to provide you the excellent and professional service our hotel is known for, because we would really look forward to welcoming you again as guests in our resort.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed in a Junior Suite in November (no. 2225) on all inclusive. The resort is large and the gardens are beautifully maintained. There is a large pool but our suite was located just a few steps away from a smaller and quieter pool - lovely to relax by.

There were a lot of pre-school children staying but they were well catered for with entertainment provided by the kids club.

The food is all buffet style and a fantastic variety. Full cooked breakfast, pastries, breads, fruits, cold meats and cheeses. In fact everything you could want. Lunches had a salad bar, a huge number of hot dishes including fish and vegetarian choices, fruits, puddings and cakes. Dinner was similar to lunch.

The all inclusive drinks include wine, beer, sangria, selected cocktails (piña colada, mojito, etc) soft drinks and bottled water. Premium wines and champagne is available at a cost but you won't need to.

The rooms are well appointed and clean. There is a lovely big bathroom with separate shower, bath and 2 his & her basins. A separate lounge area with tv, fridge and sofas. Outside there is a terrace with a table & 4 chairs.

We had a fabulous time and would certainly return. It has a nice family atmosphere rather than a resort full of people getting drunk on all inclusive.

The only gripe is that you have to pay for wifi. That said, it was €17 for the week. Not the fastest Internet but good enough to check emails.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in August with our two boys aged 13 and 10. We always go to the Canaries and whilst we loved this area the hotel was a huge let down. The cleanliness and pool area were good but it is totally geared to the Spanish.
The food ranged from ok to downright unedible on occasions . My 10 year old nearly ate a piece of raw pork only I spotted it on his plate .
We had the two bedroom villa but we had no air conditioning for 3 days, in the middle of a heat wave. We were offered no alternative for three days as apparently the hotel was full. Once we moved to a new room we were much happier. However the rooms are sufficient but not a 4* standard.
There is nothing for older children unless you are Spanish and the complex is too far from the town for a comfortable stroll .
All in all I wouldn't return and wish I had booked the impressive Lopesan group.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort

Address: Avda. Sunair s/n, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#12 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its architecture and the horizontal layout of its Villas, Suites and Senior Suites, located amidst a subtropical garden of over 75,000 m2, make this a unique resort within the Canary Islands. It is located next to the Maspalomas golf course and the Dunas de Maspalomas nature reserve, whose beach is just 800 metres (approx.) from the resort. This hotel is ideal for families, couples and golfers, who want to enjoy a holiday in a haven of peace and open spaces, giving freedom of movement to our customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dunas Suites And Villas Maspalomas
Dunas Suite Hotel Maspalomas
Dunas Hotel
Hotel Dunas Suites And Villas Resort Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.