We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing,again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort to your Saves list
Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda. Sunair s/n, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 65 Hotels in Maspalomas
Cardiff
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very relaxing,again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We have stayed here at Easter two years running and both times I have been impressed. At check in we were a little early and as our allocated room was not available so we were given a choice of the others available if we didnt want to wait. The quieter pools were very relaxing. We booked a Villa as although we were on all inclusive, I required a kitchen as I was travelling with diabetic children, this was something the reception staff failed to understand and tried repeatedly to put me in a suite, eventually this was sorted out, and to be honest didnt affect the quality of our stay, just irritated me on arrival. Previously we have stayed in a suite and I felt that the suites were of a higher standard and kept cleaner by the maids. The food is good with a nice variety over the week, however any longer it can get a little repetative. The entertainment was typical of spanish hotels and not my taste (especially the parrots riding bicycles) however the children enjoyed the mini disco which worked hard to include all nationalities. The negatives for me were that the stray cats dirtied around the pool area close to our room and this was not cleaned up by the maintainance staff, leaving unpleasent smells to pass us as we were sunbathing. After watching the maintanence team ignore this, I ended up cleaning it away several days running, as I have two cats I felt this was a homely touch too far! Overall we had a fantastic stay and will probably stay here again in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool bar are quieter and have nice gardens if you enjoy sitting outside in the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Manager at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear guest

We would like to thank you for choosing our resort a second time and for reviewing your vacations.
Our hotel cooperates with an organization of animal welfare and guarantees the surviving and healthiness of these cats what is appreciated of many of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you again in near future.

Best regards

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    467
    169
    63
    49
See reviews for
613
309
30
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Just arrived back from eleven day holiday. Pros and cons with everything.
Bad start as reception staff attempted to split family group of five into two separate suites.
Villa 3*, rather than 4*. Very basic, quite small and in need of update. No kettle. Air conditioning very noisy, sounded like a gale force wind so kept me awake at night.Shower didn't stay hot for five showers. Not enough seats in sitting room for five people. Hairdryer broken on arrival(forgot to report it!)
Stayed all-inclusive. Lovely dining room, split indoor and outdoor. Good selection of food but usually lukewarm, not hot. Some strange options - rabbit, lots of veal, venison, goat and squid.Something for everyone though. Sandwich snacks between meals. Hot dogs and burgers served at bars as well as in diner.
Pools busy, some quiet, some with activities and music. Good atmosphere even though English are in a minority. Mainly Spanish and German staying there. Language barrier occasionally.
Staff superb. No problems. Friendly, helpful, courteous.
Youngest granddaughter enjoyed kids' club but not much going on for eldest one who's thirteen.
Evening entertainment acceptable. The staff try very hard. Always the kids' disco first.
Reasonable choice of "free" drinks including some cocktails.
A bit far out from shops etc. so not suitable if you want to wander round town.
Camel ride nearby - interesting experience!
Grounds attractive and well kept, plenty palm trees and cactii.
Overall, more suitable for children. Ours loved it and cried on departure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Manager at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Dear Jenny

Thank you for the time you spent writing about your vacation in our hotel. We thank you for your positive review and for praising our staff.We are pleased to hear that you were satisfied with our delicious dishes, our pools and the beautiful surroundings.

Concerning the star rating we have different kinds of lodgement (3 star bungalows, 4 star bungalows and 4 star suites) and sometimes normally 5 persons prefer to have two villas with enough space.

Furthermore we apologize for the problems with your hairdryer and the air conditioning but next time do not hesitate to contact our technicians to solve the problems.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanarks
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Asked for quiet room and had no complaints.Arrived on a Wednesday and pool area very quiet until the Friday night, at which point the peace was shattered- the Spanish arrived in droves and took over.When arriving we were told we were at the quiet pool, at the weekend there was no such thing. Was glad the last few days were peaceful before we left. Apartments were nice and clean and food was fine. Town Centre has usual tourist shops and is a good 10 minute walk away. Would recommend if you wanted to do nothing for a week, if you love shopping, not the place to go

Room Tip: Quiet room we were in was opposite the gym(not worth using)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Manager at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Sophie,

Thank you very much for the statement considering your stay at our hotel.
It’s nice to hear that we could fulfil all your wishes and that you spend a great time with us. Thank you also for your praise considering the clean apartments and the meal. We definitely forward your praise to our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you soon in our hotel.

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Stayed all-inclusive in a suite with my wife and 2 year old daughter in June. Had a very pleasant week where there are many more positives than negatives to report.

Positives :

Spacious Suite with aircon, nice bathroom, comfortable beds and very quiet at night

Complex is very well kept with lots of space. It is clean and tidy with some beautiful trees and shrubs.

Food was very good. You will always get bored with the food coming to the end of an all inclusive week, but I think the quality and selection was just right for a four star hotel. The waiting staff were first class considering the amount of people they had to serve

Entertainment was good, day and night. The animation team work very hard and had a smile and a hello (in many languages) for everybody especially the children

The complex is just a 10 minute walk to the beach and beautiful promenade in Meloneras

Negatives (just two)

Reception staff could have been more helpful. Reception consisted of senior and junior staff with the juniors looking to pass all queries to their seniors. We originally booked for 4 days and after day 3 decided to extend our stay for an extra 3 days. Upon enquiring, the senior receptionist told me that the hotel was booked out for the coming weekend and she could not extend my stay. I went to the internet room ten metres away and within 5 minutes I had booked the extra 3 days through one of the many booking websites.... strange hotel policy

My other negative point is an unusual one. One afternoon while walking around the complex, I came across what I can only describe as a cage which housed around 6 peacocks. These beautiful birds hardly had room to turn not to mention extend their wings. I am not an animal rights activist, but I have to mention this as I thought it was very cruel. Management should either provide a much bigger space for these birds or donate them to somewhere more appropriate. I know the Dunas manager reads these reviews, so I hope he will respond.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Manager at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear guest,

We thank you for the review of our hotel. We are glad to hear that you complimented the cleanliness of our hotel, the food and especially our staff. Of course we will forward your positive comments to our colleagues to let them know how well they did.

Furthermore we want to let you know that sometimes the capacity of our rooms are blogged by the tour operators and because of that reason the receptionist told you that the hotel is booked out.

We also want to inform and calm you that now only a few animals are in the cage and we can assure you a species-appropriate husbandry.

We look forward to welcoming you soon in our hotel.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

firstly there is 3 types of accom1)bungalow with no aircon & a kitchenette.2)suites mainly with aircon in lounge not in bedroom with a fridge3)villas with aircon in lounge & bedroom & kitchenette(no kettle)all have terrace with table & chairs.We had 2 one bed villas but there are some 2 bed.The complex is a very clean well run complex and the food is very nice with good choice most days.snacks are served at same time as lunch but only at two of the 6 pools these snacks include hotdogs,burgers,chips,toasties etc these you help yourself to.we found the main dining room very noisy & full of very young spanish & german families not many british.The entertainment wasnt very good bingo was a card & a toothpick to poke in yr number,there was a michael jackson tribute for half an hour one night this was the only thing we enjoyed.The dunas suites are a 25mins walk to the beach & shops (they do run a beach bus 3 times a day)nothing much round the complex.in our opinion this is for families with young children.our daughter & friend(14yrs) went in the internet room most days no games room.luckily we'd took cards.We found the staff very friendly & always working hard.its a good place if you just want to relax & eat /drink & not to bothered about entertainment.The villas are great & cleaned every day.

Room Tip: villas if you like air con in lounge & bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Manager at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you for taking the time to create a review of your holidays in our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked our villas and the cleanliness of our resort. Furthermore we are happy to hear that you kept our food we offer and friendliness of our staff in positive memory.

We look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.

Kind regards

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Just returned from a pleasant week here with the only disappointment being the lack of English speaking teenagers for my daughters to "hang out with" and for this reason alone I would not return. The hotel is well kept, clean and most of the staff are friendly. The food is tasty and varied in the all inclusive package. It was further out of town than I thought and therefore we didn't see as much of maspalomas as I would have liked.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Manager at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you for you short review of your vacations in our hotel. We are happy to hear that you liked our resort. As we have international guests our multilingual animation team always tries to involve all children in order to help them to get in touch.
We hope anyway to be able to welcoming you again in our hotel.

Kind regards

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

My wife and i have just come back from this resort 16-7-2012, the staff are very friendly and helpful and they are always smiling, the grounds were very well kept and tidy, the accommodation was very clean, i would recommend this hotel complex to anyone.

Room Tip: The rooms are bungalows housed in the grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Manager at Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Chris

Thank you for your brief and nice review of your vacation in our hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort

Address: Avda. Sunair s/n, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Maspalomas
#12 Family Hotel in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its architecture and the horizontal layout of its Villas, Suites and Senior Suites, located amidst a subtropical garden of over 75,000 m2, make this a unique resort within the Canary Islands. It is located next to the Maspalomas golf course and the Dunas de Maspalomas nature reserve, whose beach is just 800 metres (approx.) from the resort. This hotel is ideal for families, couples and golfers, who want to enjoy a holiday in a haven of peace and open spaces, giving freedom of movement to our customers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dunas Suites And Villas Maspalomas
Dunas Suite Hotel Maspalomas
Dunas Hotel
Hotel Dunas Suites And Villas Resort Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.