We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The food was perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maximilians Restaurant

Maximilians Restaurant
Boulevard Faro | Meloneras, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
+34 928 14 70 34
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 177 Restaurants in Maspalomas
Price range: $37 - $62
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Situated on the avenue Boulevard El Faro, in an idyllic place with precious views on the sea and on the lighthouse of Maspalomas, with a spaceous and lighty terrace, capacity of 70 quests.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The food was perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

Four of us visited this restaurant on our first night in Gran Canaria and we were not disappointed. We were quickly seated and the staff seemed friendly.

We had garlic bread for starters - it had clearly been freshly made and was relatively cheap. For mains I had the gnocchi with mozzarella and tomato - this was lovely and not too overpowering. We all tried some of each other's food and the pizza one of my friends had was so good we had to revisit a further two nights whilst on the island!

On our second visit I had a pizza - this again had been freshly made and was cooked just right. The base was thin but not dry. The carbonara dish was lovely also.

To top it off the views were beautiful and the outside seating area is by the sea so it kept it cool. The prices were very good for the quality of the food and I would happily pay the same again. From memory it was around 75/80 euros for four of us including a bottle of wine.

As a side note on each visit we ordered mateus rose wine which was around 18/19 euros per bottle in the restaurant but it is only about 4 euros in the local hiperdino. This didn't cause a problem as this was generally the case in all of the restaurants in the area (but it may be something to bear in mind if on a budget.)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaximiliansRestauran, Gerente at Maximilians Restaurant, responded to this review, October 10, 2014
Thank you very much. We hope to see you soon! You are always welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    115
    39
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Rude”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We've been to This restaurant on our previous visits so decided to head back.

When we got there we asked the hostess for a table but were told there wold be a wait - fine no problem. We sat down are were willing to wait - however the hostess was basically looking me up and down as if i had no right asking for a table - perhaps it was because i was carrying a baby.

We then decide rather than waiting to book for the next night - I asked the hostess and her book was clear for the next day. So i said 9 - she again stared at the baby and me and said no what about 8 - I replied no i want 9. She accepted but not before another rude glance at us.

Needless to say we did not return the next night for dinner - there's lots of choice in the area and as a paying customer of a party of 6 we would rather eat where our business is appreciated.

So i can't comment on the food but can say the hostess is probably the rudest person i have ever met.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essen, Belgium
1 review
“Nice food nice staff very friendly for kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

During our stay last year september we lunched their neirly every day. The service was Always super friendly, the food was fresh and very tastfull. The staff was super friendly, even to our little son Noah at the time 1,5 years old who could sometimes make a little bit too much noise.
This year in september we are going to meloneras for holidays and we will certainly go back to have lunch.
One of the staff members, forgot his name..oops...at the time also had a little boy of 3 months old. Hope everything is fine.
Regards,

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edegem, Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“VERY GOOD RESTAURANT. GOOD CUISINE AND VERY FRIENDLY STAFF.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We can recommend this restaurant. We ate several dishes (starters, main, desserts....) on 2 different occasions. Everything we ordered of very good quality: nice presentation, very good quality of the dishes and a friendly staff. Even the wine the ''maître'' recommended us, was how we expected: very good. We even found the bill more than acceptable.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Chilled afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Lovely views, brilliant coffee and staff,..... Sat people watching and drinking coffee, for a very relaxing afternoon!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maximilians Restaurant also viewed

Maspalomas, Gran Canaria
 

Been to Maximilians Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maximilians Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.