We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar / restaurants like this are what Spain's all about!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante La Tapita - Los Jose's

Restaurante La Tapita - Los Jose's
Calle Placido Domingo | San Fernando, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
928769680
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 178 Restaurants in Maspalomas
Price range: $15 - $31
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Spanish, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Late Night
Halifax, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
243 helpful votes 243 helpful votes
“Bar / restaurants like this are what Spain's all about!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

What an ace find; we were just walking about. Totally traditional tapas bar rammed with local people. Food quality was excellent and quicker than ordering a Big Mac! No joking, the place is run incredibly efficiently, attentive staff looking for eye contact rather than avoiding it. Ace albondigas and a brilliant twist on tortilla - omelette sliced in half & filled like a Victoria sponge, except with tuna, mayo, tomatoes, chargrilled peppers & grilled courgettes - gonna be making that at home. Perfect spot.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    57
    7
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Spanish food (tapas) at good prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I went with a small family group and initially was a little put off by the area. This is a rather busy non touristic area, with plenty of people round, so parking was at a premium (easier after 9pm).

There is no menu, but there are daily specials (ours was pan fried fresh cuttlefish) and you go to the counter and pick up from a wide selection of fresh salads, tortillas, sea food and other specialities.

The staff speak Spanish, English and German very well, and some French too. They are incredibly helpful and the kitchen will prepare something else for you if they have the ingredients (so if you want a tortilla with cheese and mushrooms, they can make it just for you!).

There is a selection of meats, fish, and vegetarian options and a few tables outside on the pavement, or tables inside the restaurant.

The Catalan Cream (creme brulee) was excellent, as were the chocolate mousse and tiramisu.

All together, 45 euros for 3 tapas "starters", 2 tapas "main", 3 desserts, 5 beers and the liqueur was offered! You just can't get wrong.

The cooking is also rather authentic and two tables near us were local Canarians, who seemed to return regularly and be known to the staff. The key is to go as a small group and share different dishes to taste if you are not sure of what to eat, just order one per person each first, then go back for more if you want more: take your time and try! It will be worth it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best tapas ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Best tapas ever! There is no menu. They make the best tapas from the best ingredients available each day. We paid 40€ for lunch, all together, three adults and one kid. Fantastic place and food! It seems simple, but boy do they surprise in a good way:) pic.twitter.com/LwF77FdI

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great value, great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

My friend and i went after a recommendation from our hotel (trip advisor reviews backed up our selection!). Small restaurant, simply furnished and decorated, with lovely atmosphere, great staff and gorgeous food. No menu, chose from the counter or ask the staff for specials, everything fresh and cooked to order! Pleasant surprise when the bill came and was approx €17 a person. And we were stuffed!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very good tapas joint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Checked Tripadvisor when in Maspalomas and this is number one currently, and it's not that big a mystery.

Ate out almost every night on Gran Canaria and this was the only restaurant that featured locals, often a good sign. The tapas were authentic and very well tasting all around. We had shrimps with mushrooms, guacamole/ham on bread, salmon/ham on bread, shrimps in garlic, squids and potatoes in what was almost a stew, and spanish sausages. Finally we had the grilled cheese. On top of that we had a half bottle of red. All in all about 50 Euro. Excellent value. The only glib was the grilled cheese sobbed a bit in what was almost marmelade. It was the last we had but even if we hadn't been almost full at that time, that dish had the potential to make anyone queasy.

But all in all, a very good visit. Friendly staff and enjoyable joint bar/restaurant setting. Recommendable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante La Tapita - Los Jose's also viewed

Maspalomas, Gran Canaria
Maspalomas, Gran Canaria
 
Maspalomas, Gran Canaria
 

Been to Restaurante La Tapita - Los Jose's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante La Tapita - Los Jose's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.