We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ambassador (Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino)
Mar Mediterraneo, 1, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
928-128-100
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 171 restaurants in Maspalomas
Price range: $43 - $172
Cuisines: French, Spanish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Meh...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

The place was very nice, but the food did not relate with the price. Went for a special meal and left quite disappointed. Dont get me wrong, food was nice but perhaps it was too expensive.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    30
    13
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent New Year's Gala Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Ambassador is one of the rare gourmet restaurants in the area. Amazing is that prices are at the same level as in those where most of the tourists rush with lower service level.
New Year's Eve Gala Dinner was even better experience. Perfect menu with well chosen wines and on top of that a bottle of Taittinger Champagne. More info at reijosfood.com

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Oh dear. Pretentious and underwhelming.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

I'm fortunate that I get to travel quite a bit and to eat at some great restaurants. But this isn't one of them despite the fact that it obviously sees itself as one of the top dogs in the area.

There's a pretentious and superior air about this place that is not justified by the overall experience. The food is ok. Neither bad nor special. However, the service is very poor.

It took 45 minutes from arriving for us to get our starters. The waiter refused to make eye contact with us throughout the evening. When my wife asked the Maitre d' if they could serve her a tomato and onion salad to start he threw his eyes up to heaven and tutted and then walked off to the kitchen. She got her salad but why the performance and why try to make her feel awkward?

This place needs a good shake up. The best thing they could do is import a big name chef to set much higher standards for both the food and service. The staff all need to be sent off to work in some top restaurants to see how service is done properly and to learn what diners expect.

In the meantime my advice is to give it a miss. There are much better restaurants nearby with better food and friendlier service (e.g. Las Rias).

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in meloneras”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We have been in this restaurant for several times and never fakes. This is a great restaurant. The service is very nice and the food is amazing. They had changed the menu from the last time we were there and continues to surprise. Great from start until the end. We missed just the degustation menu they got on the old menu. Many thanks Ambassador

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Good restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

While staying at the Costa Meloneras Hotel I tried their flagship restaurant, the Ambassador. This is a very good restaurant, probably the best in the Meloneras area. This is not a place for jeans and runners so don't expect chips and burgers. The meal and the chosen wine were excellent. There is a comprehensive menu and wine list and while not everybody seems to have enjoyed it I certainly had no complaints.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ambassador (Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino) also viewed

 
Maspalomas, Gran Canaria
Maspalomas, Gran Canaria
 

Been to Ambassador (Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador (Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.