We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, very friendly and brilliant value.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bungalows Grimanesa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bungalows Grimanesa to your Saves list
Bungalows Grimanesa
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   CAPRICORNIO 4, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 65 Hotels in Maspalomas
Northants
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very clean, very friendly and brilliant value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

We stayed in a two storey 'bungalow' for two weeks in September and found it to be very clean and well presented. It was equipped as advertised with a double hob, fridge, kettle, toaster, cutlery, plates, glasses, mugs etc. Maid service five times a week with clean towels three times a week and clean sheets once a week. Onsite there is a laundrette )consisting of a washing machine and tumble dryer at 4Euros each for each use), a supermarket which was reasonably priced and very convenient and a restaurant which was also well priced and served very good meals. We ate there three times during our stay, each time having something different, and each time we were impressed. We made use of the free WiFi once the password was obtained from reception and this was very handy. There were no room safes but you could put valuables in your own safe in reception for about 10Euros a week if you wanted. The whole area was kept very clean and tidy, the pool was cleaned daily. Yes, it would be a long walk to Playa del Ingles but it's a 10 minute walk to Holiday World and a 5 minute walk to the Maspalomas market held on Weds and Sat. We had a hire car but approximately 20 minute walk to Faro 2 which hasn't much open at the moment but we were reliably informed this is due to the owner of the complex deciding to refurbish. We would strongly recommend Toro Piedra restaurant at Faro 2 for it's fantastic food and friendly staff. Outside you could hear a bit of road noise but it wasn't intrusive, we certainly didn't notice it and found the complex a lovely, peaceful place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    13
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
4
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

Apart from the fact there are mostly 2 story villas rather than bungalows we were pleasantly surprised,very clean and beautifully kept gardens,never saw one cockroach in the week we were there.That said the beds were not very comfortable and the pillows ridiculous! The kitchen was basically equipped but we asked for a kettle and toaster and had it next day so pretty much the usual gran canarian place.lovely friendly people ,staff and other guests although most of the other guests were elderly swedes so quite quiet.the noise from the nearby roads was a bit intrusive especially at night.It was quite difficult to get anywhere on foot because of these main roads and the Faro 2 centre has practically closed down,apparently it is being renovated and will be re-opened next year ! the vivo market round the corner however is well stocked.As we only paid £600 for 2 of us flights and transfers included it was a great deal but maybe next time we will get somewhere nearer to Playa and the nightlife.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

this property is a bit out of the way for playa de ingles about a 30 minute walk, but cabs are 3.50 euros.
We paid 48euro for the room per night, was lovely and clean, great comfortable double bed,not the norm in GC.
staff very helpful and friendly, has an on site supermarket and swimming pool ( rather cold in March )
Would highly recommend this for a relaxing break.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, Ireland
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

Was allocated a 2 bedroomed bungalow here, even though we had booked a one bedroomed duplex, so am unsure if the standard of the accommodation would be the same.

I found the complex to be compact and peaceful, lovely on site restaurant and pricey but handy supermarket. Many of these apartments seem to be privately owned, so the complex felt very safe. There was however constant noise from the very busy motorway link road. If you are a light sleeper you may need to bring your earplugs! The pool was absolutely freezing, though I did see braver souls using it in the afternoon. I found there to be little privacy, as the terraces at the front of the bungalows had little screening and even though our bungalow had access to a private solarium, it was unusable as there was just one broken sunbed and lots of broken glass.

The accommodation was crying out for a refurbishment, and a kettle and toaster was sorely missed. That said, the bed was so comfy and even though the accommodation was out dated, it was spotlessly clean.

I agree with the previous reviewer, in that the complex is slightly isolated, we were very happy we had remembered to bring our sat nav to use in our hire car! There is also a taxi rank about 3 mins walk away, and they are quite reasonable price wise into Playa del Ingles or Melonares for the night life.

Would return if the price was right - but would prefer to be somewhere with less road noise. Car hire would be highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

Firstly these are advertised, by the owners, as bungalows but are anything but. The Grimanesa bungalows? are privately owned, family run complex, consisting of a series of premises that are best described as, Spanish style, 2 floor terrace houses each with a large front patio, with table and chairs, rear terrace with washing line and a bedroom balcony. The downstairs consists of a large lounge/diner/kitchen, separate utility room, with fridge freezer, additional sink and staircase to the upper floor. Upstairs consists of a double bedroom with french doors onto the balcony and a large bathroom.

They are advertised as 1 star,! not sure why they are graded so low but this means you can take advantage of a 3 star complex at 1 star prices. We took the chance on these as we were looking for a cheap winter break and booked through Travel Republic for £246.00 for the week. Flights with Ryanair were £60.00 each return and car hire £100.00. So the week cost the wife and I less than £500 in total.

Although the furniture is dated the cleanliness of the bungalows is excellent, which is clearly down to the dedication of all the staff who work there. On the downside the television only receives CNN world news and there is no kettle provided so requiring your water to be boiled in a saucepan. The grounds, like the accommodation, are subject of constant pampering by the staff who, are regularly seen sweeping, raking and tidying at all times of day and night with the minimum of disturbance. Whilst sitting around the pool you may suffer from slight traffic noise from a nearby road that links the GC/1 to the GC/500, however this never really bothered us.

Within the grounds there is a very good, reasonably priced bar/restaurant with friendly staff and plentiful menu. However, apart from restaurants within other nearby apartment blocks, there is very little grown up entertainment in the area. The bungalows are not, as advertised, in Maspalomas but in an area called Campo Internationale. This generally suburban area is situated between Maspalomas and Playa Ingles and is approx 15 min walk to Holiday World funfair/arcade and the Faro 2 shopping centre but apart from that there is very little else, so for us car hire was essential. There is a curtsey bus from the complex to Maspalomas beach, that operates every hour and takes approx 15 mins.

A taxi from the airport is approximately 35 Euro's so, if you're happy by the pool and not one for exploring the island by car, this would probably be your cheapest option.

A word of warning Maspalomas and the beach, so we were to discover, is very popular with German tourists who either enjoy walking around in public with ageing beer bellies wearing saggy Speedo trunks or, in the case of the beach, no trunks at all! To avoid this I'd recommend spending your time in nearby, more up market, Melanoras with its long promenade full of classier bars and restaurants.

In summary, great value for money. pleasant,friendly,helpful staff, but perhaps a little isolated.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buckinghamshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

bunglows were clean tidy cleaned everyday the complex was clean beds made everyday all staff on site were nice and very freindly not all spoke english but they did try its the perfect place for adukts as the nearest entertaint was in yamboo centre short taxi ride or 30 minute walk away i would go back again in a flash but not with the kids also the manager could not have been nicer checkout is 10am but as i flight never left til 4 he said we could stay in our room until we had no leave at no extra cost brill never had that b4 lookin to go maybe next year adults only no kids !!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

We have stayed all over this island and return to the Grimanesa time and time again. Julian runs the complex like a well oiled machine. A fab mix of ages and most of the bungalows are privately owned which means during the day not a lot goes on other than the gardener pottering and the cleaning ladies wheeling their trolleys from apartment to apartment. Weekends can be busy especially during school holidays but it is a small price to pay for a small, safe,secure and private complex.
If you are looking for an 18-30 kind of resort then stay away, this complex is small quiet and everyone respects each other. You can hear a pin drop during the night and it's a perfect place to spend the day after a very late night at the Yumbo. EUR3.00 in a taxi and you are right in the hub of all the action. On site restaurant and shop cater for all your needs if they have not got it they soon will. Enjoy it, you'll go back again guaranteed

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bungalows Grimanesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalows Grimanesa

Address: CAPRICORNIO 4, 35100 Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 65 Hotels in Maspalomas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Bungalows Grimanesa 1*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bungalows Grimanesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bungalows Grimanesa Hotel Maspalomas
Bungalows Grimanesa Maspalomas, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bungalows Grimanesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.