We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money But not a 4 Star Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tossa Center Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tossa Center Hotel to your Saves list
Tossa Center Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avda La Palma 9, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Value for Money But not a 4 Star Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We have just returned from this hotel after a most enjoyable stay. We booked a good deal on the internet and for the price we paid I believe we had good value for money. We had read the reviews before we booked so had some idea what to expect, you generally get what you pay for. We paid cheap and we got cheap,certainly not as advertised a 4 star hotel. The hotel itself is clean and tidy and looks like it may have been refurbished recently. The rooms the same, but walls and ceilings were wafer thin,but nothing earplugs didnt sort. The Dining room and bar same, but very basic,hard back chairs and no comfortable seats,very canteen like. The Food ok for this standard of hotel. The staff were mainly Bangledesh and Eastern European(surprisingly with the massive unemployment in Spain,but you can form your own opinions on that), but they carried out their duties to the best of their abilities.


On departure day as we had a late flight we asked the manager if we could have a late check out. He said he needed the room, but would let have the use of another for 50 Euros and that they did not provide courtesy rooms and that we could get washed in the toilets. I pointed out that in my many years staying in Hotels of varying standards normaly I would expect either an extended check out time for a nominal fee or the use of a courtesy room. His response was that in his 20 years working in the business he was unaware of this practice. But there it is, what do you expect,maybe this is why this hotel is of the standard it is. Management of a certain standard providing services and managing of that standard.

As I have mentioned previously, we enjoyed our stay, but would probably not stay there again, but would recommend it to anyone on a buget. However, bearing in mind, this hotel is in no shape or form a 4 star hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    85
    41
    33
    18
See reviews for
63
109
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We always enjoy coming to this hotel, so much so that we have been 4 times. The staff are extremely friendly and fun especially Bunny!. I thoroughly enjoyed the food and the drinks. It is only about 2 minutes from the beach and the town of Tossa de Mar is absolutely beautiful.

Room Tip: Always try and get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We booked into the Tossa Beach but on arrival they allocated us into The Tossa Center directly opposite which suited us fine as this was primarily couples with families in the Beach which is where most entertainment was. The hotel was very clean, the staff were very friendly and the AI drinks were fine. The food was typical AI served buffet and we always found something to eat which was good. We didn't experience grumpy staff in other hotel but have to say we were never there at last orders. We hadn't been to Spain for over 20 years but I absolutely fell in love with Toss de Mar its a beautiful place. I would return and stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

This was the perfect get away holiday for my best friend and I. We were not looking for a crazy clubbing holiday but more a relaxing and unwinding break. with pubs, beaches and restaurants. brilliant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

First of all, I have given this a rating of Very Good. It would have been excellent if the "kicking out" "sending to bed" at the end of the evening hadn't happened.
The hotel (and the Beach one opposite) were immaculate. There was always someone cleaning somewhere. Lot's of previous reviews slate the food. I completely disagree with these reviews.
There was always plenty of choice and the food was always hot (however a microwave was there should it not be hot enough). The bar staff were all really friendly and a credit to the hotel.
Our room was on the first floor with a balcony - not the largest of rooms but plenty big enough for the two of us. It had a balcony with a nice view.
Check in was very swift.
We met some lovely other guests there (Alan, Bev, Sandra (mimi) and Jim) and we all enjoyed the socialising aspect of the hotel however, that is where the negative feedback comes into play.
I appreciate that at the end of a long shift at work (I used to live in my parents pub) you want to get cleaned up and closed however to constantly start telling people to drink up from 23.10 and then pester every five minutes puts a complete dampner to such positive other aspects. The bar is open until 11.30 but their staff (especially the bar manager - normally a pleasant man) walks around trying to get people to drink up before 23.30. Bad practice in my opinion.
Also as we "after being kicked out" when you go onto the steps to say goodnight to people the night staff actually use the words "go to bed". I wonder what they would do if you walked ten yards down the road and weren't in front of the hotel? I'm 41 and don't expect to be told to go to bed - quite daft really.
There were a couple who stated that one night they were on their balcony and a night staff shouted at them to go to bed. Another lady reported that one night a night staff knocked onto her door and told her to turn her telly off? (What's all that about?).
If you want to stronger shorts to drink - get them in Center Hotel.
The activities lady was lovely and if you take kids there, she really looks after them in the day (and if you bump into her away from the hotel she always shouted hello etc.
On the whole we had a brilliant time here (I reckon due to the company we kept as if we hadn't met these people we would have probably got more annoyed at the "security systems" in the evening.
As stated, spotless throughout, great food and drinks, really nice staff (apart from the Gestapo ones at night).

Room Tip: make sure you book a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We arrived at 12.30 am after waiting over an hour for the coach to be filled and then on the coach 2.5 hours which was longer than the plane journey. We could not get a hot drink and the evening staff were very unhelpful. However the hotel was clean and the entertainment and bar staff very friendly. The management were very rigid and once when we had puled two tables together we were told off like naughty children. In the dining room everyone was watched in case food was taken outside. The drinks were finished at 11.30pm instead of 12 and we were once told at 11.25 to drink up as they were closed at 11.30. The pool in both the Tossa Center and Tossa Beach is very small. One side of it is shallow and the other is very deep. Tossa Centre is opposite Tossa Beach hotel and Tossa Center is the quietest at night.

On the positive side Tossa itself is a beautiful place. There is a castle and several beautiful churches. The shops were not too commercialised. We were there for 10 nights and experienced a VW Beetle weekend. There were people in beetles and camper vans. On the Saturday evening they congregated and there was music and the drivers and passengers were dressed up as pirates etc. The next day (Sunday) they were all congregated in the centre for people to see them and there was some fun drag racing.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have less noise and ask for room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chesterfield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

When we arrived in Tossa de Mar, coaches were not allowed to go down the narrow streets into the town and dropped us off at the bus station. Everyone asked how to get to their hotels but the Spanish driver spoke no English and some 20 couples set of pulling suitcases. After about 20 mins, we found our hotel.
Check in was quick and efficient and we were given a double room with balcony. Double room! a Wendy House has more floor area than that room. The double bed was pushed into an alcove with one side up to the wall. Whomsoever slept on that side had difficulties getting out. There was only one bedside cabinet. If the bed and cabinet were pushed up to the wall, then the room door would just open. If either were one half inch out of place, the room door would not open. (Surely, that's a fire risk?)
With the wardrobe and dressing table, there was not enough room for two people to stand on the floor at the same time.
The bathroom was 'small'!. Be careful using the shower. It's very powerful and there's no shortage of hot water. The bath is small and the toilet is next to the bath. Be careful not to put your foot into the toilet pan as you leave the shower!.
The balcony. BEWARE!. The room floor is 9" lower that the balcony floor so so practice that manoeuvre before you've been to the bar!.
The hotel is spotlessly clean. The food is average. The hot food is cold and it's the same every day. Can't go wrong with the salads!.
Tossa de Mar is a lovely town with plenty to see. It's a pity this hotel spoils it. It's the only noisy one in the village. This hotel is not a 4*. 2* at best.
We spotted some really nice hotels and would try one of those if we go there again. Would certainly not consider this hotel again.































Room Tip: The rooms are very small. The bathroom is functional but can accommodate only one at a time. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Co-op Travel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tossa de Mar hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Costa Brava
Hotel Costa Brava
#14 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 stars 255 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#3 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 stars 440 reviews
0.2 mi away
GHT Hotel Neptuno
GHT Hotel Neptuno
#9 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 stars 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Golden Bahia de Tossa
Golden Bahia de Tossa
#6 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 stars 1,102 reviews
0.2 mi away
GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA
GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA
#18 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
3.5 of 5 stars 523 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Windsor
Hotel Windsor
#13 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 stars 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tossa Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tossa Center Hotel

Address: Avda La Palma 9, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tossa Center Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Costa Brava, Tossa De Mar and only 150 meters away from the great beach of Tossa and 200 meters from the town centre the Hotel Tossa Center **** has a priviledged location. The hotel has 74 rooms, 24 hour reception, Wifi at a charge, restaurant with buffet service for all meals*, internet corner, snack bar* and a small but cozy swimming pool. The Hotel Tossa Center **** is ideal for couples and families who want to enjoy a pleasant relaxed holiday, in one of the most beautiful towns of the Costa Brava, Tossa de Mar; where they can admire the fort wall, the old town, dream beaches, quaint bars, restaurants and boutiques which are the main attractions of this enchanting town. *Some of these services are provided by its sister hotel, the hotel Tossa Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Tossa Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tossa Hotel Tossa De Mar
Tossa Center Resort All Inclusive
Tossa Center De Mar
Tossa Center Hotel Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tossa Center Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.