We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good winter break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tossa Center Hotel

Save Saved
You added Tossa Center Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tossa Center Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avda La Palma 9, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good winter break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

We booked into the Tossa Beach but on arrival they allocated us into The Tossa Center directly opposite which suited us fine as this was primarily couples with families in the Beach which is where most entertainment was. The hotel was very clean, the staff were very friendly and the AI drinks were fine. The food was typical AI served buffet and we always found something to eat which was good. We didn't experience grumpy staff in other hotel but have to say we were never there at last orders. We hadn't been to Spain for over 20 years but I absolutely fell in love with Toss de Mar its a beautiful place. I would return and stay in this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    77
    36
    32
    19
See reviews for
60
102
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

This was the perfect get away holiday for my best friend and I. We were not looking for a crazy clubbing holiday but more a relaxing and unwinding break. with pubs, beaches and restaurants. brilliant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

First of all, I have given this a rating of Very Good. It would have been excellent if the "kicking out" "sending to bed" at the end of the evening hadn't happened.
The hotel (and the Beach one opposite) were immaculate. There was always someone cleaning somewhere. Lot's of previous reviews slate the food. I completely disagree with these reviews.
There was always plenty of choice and the food was always hot (however a microwave was there should it not be hot enough). The bar staff were all really friendly and a credit to the hotel.
Our room was on the first floor with a balcony - not the largest of rooms but plenty big enough for the two of us. It had a balcony with a nice view.
Check in was very swift.
We met some lovely other guests there (Alan, Bev, Sandra (mimi) and Jim) and we all enjoyed the socialising aspect of the hotel however, that is where the negative feedback comes into play.
I appreciate that at the end of a long shift at work (I used to live in my parents pub) you want to get cleaned up and closed however to constantly start telling people to drink up from 23.10 and then pester every five minutes puts a complete dampner to such positive other aspects. The bar is open until 11.30 but their staff (especially the bar manager - normally a pleasant man) walks around trying to get people to drink up before 23.30. Bad practice in my opinion.
Also as we "after being kicked out" when you go onto the steps to say goodnight to people the night staff actually use the words "go to bed". I wonder what they would do if you walked ten yards down the road and weren't in front of the hotel? I'm 41 and don't expect to be told to go to bed - quite daft really.
There were a couple who stated that one night they were on their balcony and a night staff shouted at them to go to bed. Another lady reported that one night a night staff knocked onto her door and told her to turn her telly off? (What's all that about?).
If you want to stronger shorts to drink - get them in Center Hotel.
The activities lady was lovely and if you take kids there, she really looks after them in the day (and if you bump into her away from the hotel she always shouted hello etc.
On the whole we had a brilliant time here (I reckon due to the company we kept as if we hadn't met these people we would have probably got more annoyed at the "security systems" in the evening.
As stated, spotless throughout, great food and drinks, really nice staff (apart from the Gestapo ones at night).

Room Tip: make sure you book a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We arrived at 12.30 am after waiting over an hour for the coach to be filled and then on the coach 2.5 hours which was longer than the plane journey. We could not get a hot drink and the evening staff were very unhelpful. However the hotel was clean and the entertainment and bar staff very friendly. The management were very rigid and once when we had puled two tables together we were told off like naughty children. In the dining room everyone was watched in case food was taken outside. The drinks were finished at 11.30pm instead of 12 and we were once told at 11.25 to drink up as they were closed at 11.30. The pool in both the Tossa Center and Tossa Beach is very small. One side of it is shallow and the other is very deep. Tossa Centre is opposite Tossa Beach hotel and Tossa Center is the quietest at night.

On the positive side Tossa itself is a beautiful place. There is a castle and several beautiful churches. The shops were not too commercialised. We were there for 10 nights and experienced a VW Beetle weekend. There were people in beetles and camper vans. On the Saturday evening they congregated and there was music and the drivers and passengers were dressed up as pirates etc. The next day (Sunday) they were all congregated in the centre for people to see them and there was some fun drag racing.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have less noise and ask for room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chesterfield
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

When we arrived in Tossa de Mar, coaches were not allowed to go down the narrow streets into the town and dropped us off at the bus station. Everyone asked how to get to their hotels but the Spanish driver spoke no English and some 20 couples set of pulling suitcases. After about 20 mins, we found our hotel.
Check in was quick and efficient and we were given a double room with balcony. Double room! a Wendy House has more floor area than that room. The double bed was pushed into an alcove with one side up to the wall. Whomsoever slept on that side had difficulties getting out. There was only one bedside cabinet. If the bed and cabinet were pushed up to the wall, then the room door would just open. If either were one half inch out of place, the room door would not open. (Surely, that's a fire risk?)
With the wardrobe and dressing table, there was not enough room for two people to stand on the floor at the same time.
The bathroom was 'small'!. Be careful using the shower. It's very powerful and there's no shortage of hot water. The bath is small and the toilet is next to the bath. Be careful not to put your foot into the toilet pan as you leave the shower!.
The balcony. BEWARE!. The room floor is 9" lower that the balcony floor so so practice that manoeuvre before you've been to the bar!.
The hotel is spotlessly clean. The food is average. The hot food is cold and it's the same every day. Can't go wrong with the salads!.
Tossa de Mar is a lovely town with plenty to see. It's a pity this hotel spoils it. It's the only noisy one in the village. This hotel is not a 4*. 2* at best.
We spotted some really nice hotels and would try one of those if we go there again. Would certainly not consider this hotel again.































Room Tip: The rooms are very small. The bathroom is functional but can accommodate only one at a time. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Co-op Travel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just got back from a week in Tossa de Mar. I was really nervous about this hotel as I had read many horror stories. The hotel is really clean and the staff were nice and friendly. We spent every day at the beach as both swimiing pools were quite busy especially the Tossa Beach Hotel pool. Tossa Centre was definitley the quieter of the two hotels. We ate breakfast at the hotel which was fine. There was always plenty of choice so the reviews that I read about there not being much choice, I would like to know what they usually ate for breakfast!. You had continental, English breakfast, cereals, fruit, yoghurts, tea, coffe, juice. We only ate once at lunchtime which again was fine, but did not eat at the hotel iin the evening. The only thing that spoilt our breakfast experience was it felt like you were eating in a canteen. With that said you could not fault the efficient staff in clearing away and setting out new cutlery etc. The hotel could do with a comfortable seating area in the reception area and I would imagine if you went in the height of the season it would be manic!. Tossa de Mar itself is beautiful. There are many nice restaurtants and bars, especially near the Castle. The beaches were great and although a bit stoney, we thorougly enjoyed our holiday.

Room Tip: Try and stay at the Tossa Centre Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincs, uk
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

By the look of some of the pictures the Tossa Beach hotel has made a lot of improvements. Modern room with modern and new bathroom facilitates, Great power shower, but totally useless hairdryer, so take your own. The swimming pool gets crowded and is not spacious to either relax or walk around, due to the position of the pool you have to do musical beds to get the sun all day. The food is of a good standard, not the best that I've eaten, but enough choice to get by. The staff, who are mainly other nationalities are great and very helpful, however the Spanish restaurant manger was less then inviting, to be honest he was miserable and rude all week and never engaging in his customers, but barking orders to all the other staff. What you get from this Hotel is a good 3 star hotel, that is 5 min walk to a lovely beach, 2 minutes, form shop, bars and Restaurants and the rest of this lovely resort of Tossa Del Mar

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tossa Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tossa Center Hotel

Address: Avda La Palma 9, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tossa Center Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Costa Brava, Tossa De Mar and only 150 meters away from the great beach of Tossa and 200 meters from the town centre the Hotel Tossa Center **** has a priviledged location. The hotel has 74 rooms, 24 hour reception, Wifi at a charge, restaurant with buffet service for all meals*, internet corner, snack bar* and a small but cozy swimming pool. The Hotel Tossa Center **** is ideal for couples and families who want to enjoy a pleasant relaxed holiday, in one of the most beautiful towns of the Costa Brava, Tossa de Mar; where they can admire the fort wall, the old town, dream beaches, quaint bars, restaurants and boutiques which are the main attractions of this enchanting town. *Some of these services are provided by its sister hotel, the hotel Tossa Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Otel so you can book your Tossa Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tossa Hotel Tossa De Mar
Tossa Center Resort All Inclusive
Tossa Center De Mar
Tossa Center Hotel Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tossa Center Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.