We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean but food rarely hot” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tossa Center Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Tossa Center Hotel to your Saves list
Tossa Center Hotel
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avda La Palma 9, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Clean but food rarely hot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We arrived at 12.30 am after waiting over an hour for the coach to be filled and then on the coach 2.5 hours which was longer than the plane journey. We could not get a hot drink and the evening staff were very unhelpful. However the hotel was clean and the entertainment and bar staff very friendly. The management were very rigid and once when we had puled two tables together we were told off like naughty children. In the dining room everyone was watched in case food was taken outside. The drinks were finished at 11.30pm instead of 12 and we were once told at 11.25 to drink up as they were closed at 11.30. The pool in both the Tossa Center and Tossa Beach is very small. One side of it is shallow and the other is very deep. Tossa Centre is opposite Tossa Beach hotel and Tossa Center is the quietest at night.

On the positive side Tossa itself is a beautiful place. There is a castle and several beautiful churches. The shops were not too commercialised. We were there for 10 nights and experienced a VW Beetle weekend. There were people in beetles and camper vans. On the Saturday evening they congregated and there was music and the drivers and passengers were dressed up as pirates etc. The next day (Sunday) they were all congregated in the centre for people to see them and there was some fun drag racing.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have less noise and ask for room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    82
    38
    32
    19
See reviews for
60
106
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chesterfield
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

When we arrived in Tossa de Mar, coaches were not allowed to go down the narrow streets into the town and dropped us off at the bus station. Everyone asked how to get to their hotels but the Spanish driver spoke no English and some 20 couples set of pulling suitcases. After about 20 mins, we found our hotel.
Check in was quick and efficient and we were given a double room with balcony. Double room! a Wendy House has more floor area than that room. The double bed was pushed into an alcove with one side up to the wall. Whomsoever slept on that side had difficulties getting out. There was only one bedside cabinet. If the bed and cabinet were pushed up to the wall, then the room door would just open. If either were one half inch out of place, the room door would not open. (Surely, that's a fire risk?)
With the wardrobe and dressing table, there was not enough room for two people to stand on the floor at the same time.
The bathroom was 'small'!. Be careful using the shower. It's very powerful and there's no shortage of hot water. The bath is small and the toilet is next to the bath. Be careful not to put your foot into the toilet pan as you leave the shower!.
The balcony. BEWARE!. The room floor is 9" lower that the balcony floor so so practice that manoeuvre before you've been to the bar!.
The hotel is spotlessly clean. The food is average. The hot food is cold and it's the same every day. Can't go wrong with the salads!.
Tossa de Mar is a lovely town with plenty to see. It's a pity this hotel spoils it. It's the only noisy one in the village. This hotel is not a 4*. 2* at best.
We spotted some really nice hotels and would try one of those if we go there again. Would certainly not consider this hotel again.































Room Tip: The rooms are very small. The bathroom is functional but can accommodate only one at a time. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Co-op Travel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just got back from a week in Tossa de Mar. I was really nervous about this hotel as I had read many horror stories. The hotel is really clean and the staff were nice and friendly. We spent every day at the beach as both swimiing pools were quite busy especially the Tossa Beach Hotel pool. Tossa Centre was definitley the quieter of the two hotels. We ate breakfast at the hotel which was fine. There was always plenty of choice so the reviews that I read about there not being much choice, I would like to know what they usually ate for breakfast!. You had continental, English breakfast, cereals, fruit, yoghurts, tea, coffe, juice. We only ate once at lunchtime which again was fine, but did not eat at the hotel iin the evening. The only thing that spoilt our breakfast experience was it felt like you were eating in a canteen. With that said you could not fault the efficient staff in clearing away and setting out new cutlery etc. The hotel could do with a comfortable seating area in the reception area and I would imagine if you went in the height of the season it would be manic!. Tossa de Mar itself is beautiful. There are many nice restaurtants and bars, especially near the Castle. The beaches were great and although a bit stoney, we thorougly enjoyed our holiday.

Room Tip: Try and stay at the Tossa Centre Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincs, uk
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

By the look of some of the pictures the Tossa Beach hotel has made a lot of improvements. Modern room with modern and new bathroom facilitates, Great power shower, but totally useless hairdryer, so take your own. The swimming pool gets crowded and is not spacious to either relax or walk around, due to the position of the pool you have to do musical beds to get the sun all day. The food is of a good standard, not the best that I've eaten, but enough choice to get by. The staff, who are mainly other nationalities are great and very helpful, however the Spanish restaurant manger was less then inviting, to be honest he was miserable and rude all week and never engaging in his customers, but barking orders to all the other staff. What you get from this Hotel is a good 3 star hotel, that is 5 min walk to a lovely beach, 2 minutes, form shop, bars and Restaurants and the rest of this lovely resort of Tossa Del Mar

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed at the Mar Bella hotel which is an annex to the Tossa Beach/Tossa Center but the Mar Bella does not have a restaurant or bar so food is taken at Tossa Beach and drinks are taken at the Tossa Beach or Tossa Center so I can only comment on drink/cleanliness etc at Tossa Center. Staff were lovely at this hotel and the service in the bar superb. Nice seating area beside the very small pool and also beside the road at the front of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Never done this before so here goes.....a nice clean hotel located near the centre of TOSSA. Rooms were adequate and food was desirable. The staff were robust rude and abrupt with a management team who wanted to run a strict militant regime. They were rude to customers including myself and I feel didn't put there customer service skills first!!! I asked to speak to the general manager and all he wanted to do was finger wag and speak to me like I was a nobody.....wrong person to pick on fella that's why you had 3 henchmen come to back you up!!!! I will credit the hotels for the cleanliness however the rest was rubbish. If you want a strict militant holiday go to TOSSA beach if not STAY WAY CLEAR!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
esex
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

I don't normally write reviews, I only read them. But felt the need to voice my thoughts. This is not a family hotel, it is a prison. The male Spanish staff were very rude, unhelpful and to be honest quite intimidating. Especially when they tried to gang up on my mother because we were having a bit I'd fun in the pool, which isn't a pool. So if you want a good family holiday in tossa, choose another hotel. This place stinks .....

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tossa Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tossa Center Hotel

Address: Avda La Palma 9, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tossa Center Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Costa Brava, Tossa De Mar and only 150 meters away from the great beach of Tossa and 200 meters from the town centre the Hotel Tossa Center **** has a priviledged location. The hotel has 74 rooms, 24 hour reception, Wifi at a charge, restaurant with buffet service for all meals*, internet corner, snack bar* and a small but cozy swimming pool. The Hotel Tossa Center **** is ideal for couples and families who want to enjoy a pleasant relaxed holiday, in one of the most beautiful towns of the Costa Brava, Tossa de Mar; where they can admire the fort wall, the old town, dream beaches, quaint bars, restaurants and boutiques which are the main attractions of this enchanting town. *Some of these services are provided by its sister hotel, the hotel Tossa Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tossa Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tossa Hotel Tossa De Mar
Tossa Center Resort All Inclusive
Tossa Center De Mar
Tossa Center Hotel Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tossa Center Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.