We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest Review” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Avenida

Save Saved
You added Hotel Avenida to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Avenida
Avenida de la Palma 5, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 43 hotels in Tossa de Mar
Mayo Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Honest Review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Firstly I don't like seeing reviews as per last one where history is the first review ever the user has made and it's such a negative one.....You would wonder...I think you should have to have a minimum number of reviews before they are published

Either way here's an honest review and I will identify room I stayed in what period of time and proof of stay is available

Stayed here in room 310 (family room) from the 7th to the 17th September 2013 with my wife and twin sons.

To be clear to everyone this a 2 star hotel and is advertised as such and is on the sign outside the hotel so not sure what other reviewers were expecting facilities you would get in the Ritz! You simply get what you pay for in this world.........So what do you get:

A hotel which is and I mean is a stones throw from the beach and beside a small supermarket with a larger one if you proceed up the road across from hotel and turn right (4 mins walk)
Restaurants again within a stones throw which offer a starter, main course and desert for 13.50 which are on the beach front so to me these are not extortionate prices? (Again have proof of this if needed)
Shops on your doorstep selling items from a bucket and spade to very good quality jewellery costing hundreds of euros (have the receipts!) to shops selling all the top brands in clothing - so no cheap tacky shops here. Having spent a lot of holidays in the south of Spain where tacky shops seem to be the order of the day this is not to be seen in Tossa de Mar. You are seeing a different part of Spain where a lot of the sea front has restaurants with the next street back from the beach mainly the shopping area mixed with a few more restaurants where we ate every evening with dinner for 2 adults and 2 kids with drinks coming to on average 7.50 euros a head (all receipts to hand).
The castle and the old town are spectacular with a sandy beach at the back of the castle. There's a green train which for 4.50 return for adults brings you to the lighthouse at top of old town with a 15 minute break at top and then back down with the whole experience lasting 30 minutes. Well worth compared to the white train whichnclaimsmto bring you around to show you the natural scenery of Tossa! It's a waste of money as it simply just goes around the town!
On the beach you can hire various sizes of boats for different periods of time and area is very well manned with lifeguards. Also I have never been to somewhere in Spain where such a large police presence could be felt and it was very reassuring to see it and not exaggerating every half hour I saw a police car simply just circling around checking all in order.
Close to beach is a park for the younger kids to enjoy with across from hotel bouncy castles and trampolines available.
At night simply sitting on the beach front wall looking at the castle and old town lit up with the sound of the sea behind you is a sight to see and a lot of people simply do this while enjoying a glass of wine.

Now I am only starting on the hotel as that's second as a hotel when you are on holidays is merely to us a place to sleep. Yes when you arrive the reception area is very modern and gives a great impression of the hotel and why not as this is a good two star hotel with most of the hotels in the tossa area been one and two star hotel so you know well in advance what to expect (or so we assumed).. My estimate is that the rest of hotel dates back to early 80s.
What we got was a smile on arrival and probably the best welcome we have every got and we have stayed in 5 star hotels and they were not a patch on the staff at this hotel. We also met the owner and his son and also their dog (met dog outside hotel one day) and we were made feel like we knew them for years. Also every morning the owner made a point of speaking to our 2 year old sons and calling each by their names also every member of staff down to the cleaning ladies did the same. The hotel insisted on taking our buggies and leaving in a corridor of their office area to save us having to bring them up and down to the room which has never been offered to us in any hotel in the world and this small gesture was a big help to us.
The room was adequate for our needs and we had two bathrooms as it was a family room and also two tvs with one having the program's all in Spanish while the stations on some of the other tv were in English. Yes view from balcony was looking out onto the back of other hotels but knew this in advance but its a 2 star hotel,so wasn't expecting anything different and wasn't bothered as wasn't on holidays just to enjoy a view from the room! Rooms were cleaned every day and as I judge everywhere on how clean the bathrooms are then this hotel got 10 out of 10 they were spotless and so were all public toilets in fact the whole hotel was very well kept.

Breakfast is the only course served a hotel and mid continental and found it to be very good, food constantly been restocked and more than enough choice and again breakfast room was spotless.

So overall I am giving 5 out of 5 for:

Best hotel staff i have ever come across
Location location
Spotless hotel

But remember this is a 2 star hotel with a 5 star welcome

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    37
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
19
34
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

The staff friendly and the bed ok. For the rest pretty grotty. Don't be fooled by photos or the lobby. View over broken down buildings and backs of other sad tacky Hotels. Would never dream of going back. The whole of Tossa unbelievably commercial and crass. Pity, as the views from the old part are fab and the beaches lovely. If you like 'orrible food at exorbitant prices and the smell of cheap plastic items on sale, this place is a must see. Otherwise avoid.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

This is a very basic hotel with some of the best staff I have experienced during my extensive travels. The Enjoyment Prevention Officer (wife) and I have two small children and from the moment we arrived all members of staff made us feel extremely welcome and were constantly helping us heating milk talking to the children etc. The bar and reception area is very modern however the rooms are very basic but as we were out all day at the beach this was not a problem. The continental breakfast was superb and again everyone at the hotel couldn't do enough to help us. In summary this hotel is very basic but second to none in terms of hospitality. I would higher recommend the hotel for anyone who wants a great location with brilliant staff. A big pat on the back to all staff at the hotel Avenida!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We have been staying at this hotel for over 10 years - unfortunately we haven't had the chance this year yet. The hotel reception is very friendly and helpful, the hotel is clean and comfortable. The housekeeping ladies are very friendly and efficient. The breakfast staff are excellent always making sure the food is stocked up. So close to the beach and town. All in all we love this hotel and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: No Swimming Pool - sorry couldn't work out how to unrate it! However so close to the beach no n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The average price level suits to all that has to be said about this venue. Starting with breakfast that is really standard spanish,... Not awesome at all, basic rooms and facilities, wifi only at the entrance, and somehow a nice louge area with computers u pay to use...
Beeing very much near the beach with a nice view to the sea... When staying in the waterfront rooms, this can be a deal. I liked the erea a lot.

Receptionists were very nice and professional. parking in the parking lot on the other side of the street is a real expensy thing... There might be a way to park in the neighbourhood for free,... We had no energy left.....

Room Tip: Taking the waterfront, is the best u can do
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

if you like hot water and a shower that works don`t stay here.After a long journey we arrived at this hotel and decided to freshen up. It was our anniversary and we wanted to celebrate with a meal out.By the time our shower was fixed(after 10pm) it was too late to go anywhere.We complained that our night had been ruined but the staff didn`t want to know.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I have stayed twice in the Hotel Avenida in recent years and I would definitely return to this hotel on my next visit to Tossa de Mar. The location is perfect, a few minutes walk to the main beach, old town and castle. The hotel is spotless and bright. The breakfast is good. The staff are extremely helpful and pleasant. Although the bedrooms have not been refurbished they are simple and clean and have a certain charm. My only complaint is that the beds are hard and not very comfortable. On both occasions that we stayed our room was on the top floor of the hotel and had a spacious balcony with sea views.
Tossa itself is delightful. We have visited in September for the past three years for a long weekend and I look forward to returning.
All in all, the Hotel Avenida is excellent value for money and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: Great views from top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Avenida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida

Also Known As:
Avenida Hotel Tossa De Mar
Hotel Avenida Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain
Address: Avenida de la Palma 5, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#8 Family Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Avenida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Avenida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.