We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Avenida

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Avenida to your Saves list
Hotel Avenida
Avenida de la Palma 5, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Brilliant Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

This is a very basic hotel with some of the best staff I have experienced during my extensive travels. The Enjoyment Prevention Officer (wife) and I have two small children and from the moment we arrived all members of staff made us feel extremely welcome and were constantly helping us heating milk talking to the children etc. The bar and reception area is very modern however the rooms are very basic but as we were out all day at the beach this was not a problem. The continental breakfast was superb and again everyone at the hotel couldn't do enough to help us. In summary this hotel is very basic but second to none in terms of hospitality. I would higher recommend the hotel for anyone who wants a great location with brilliant staff. A big pat on the back to all staff at the hotel Avenida!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    42
    7
    3
    7
See reviews for
21
43
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We have been staying at this hotel for over 10 years - unfortunately we haven't had the chance this year yet. The hotel reception is very friendly and helpful, the hotel is clean and comfortable. The housekeeping ladies are very friendly and efficient. The breakfast staff are excellent always making sure the food is stocked up. So close to the beach and town. All in all we love this hotel and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: No Swimming Pool - sorry couldn't work out how to unrate it! However so close to the beach no n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The average price level suits to all that has to be said about this venue. Starting with breakfast that is really standard spanish,... Not awesome at all, basic rooms and facilities, wifi only at the entrance, and somehow a nice louge area with computers u pay to use...
Beeing very much near the beach with a nice view to the sea... When staying in the waterfront rooms, this can be a deal. I liked the erea a lot.

Receptionists were very nice and professional. parking in the parking lot on the other side of the street is a real expensy thing... There might be a way to park in the neighbourhood for free,... We had no energy left.....

Room Tip: Taking the waterfront, is the best u can do
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

if you like hot water and a shower that works don`t stay here.After a long journey we arrived at this hotel and decided to freshen up. It was our anniversary and we wanted to celebrate with a meal out.By the time our shower was fixed(after 10pm) it was too late to go anywhere.We complained that our night had been ruined but the staff didn`t want to know.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I have stayed twice in the Hotel Avenida in recent years and I would definitely return to this hotel on my next visit to Tossa de Mar. The location is perfect, a few minutes walk to the main beach, old town and castle. The hotel is spotless and bright. The breakfast is good. The staff are extremely helpful and pleasant. Although the bedrooms have not been refurbished they are simple and clean and have a certain charm. My only complaint is that the beds are hard and not very comfortable. On both occasions that we stayed our room was on the top floor of the hotel and had a spacious balcony with sea views.
Tossa itself is delightful. We have visited in September for the past three years for a long weekend and I look forward to returning.
All in all, the Hotel Avenida is excellent value for money and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: Great views from top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

As accommodation in Tossa de Mar goes, you will be hard pushed to find something that isn't from the 70's. Hotel Avenida is a basic two star hotel with the potential to raise its rating by some simple room improvements (they have made a start with the lobby).

Our first night was not good, as the walls are thin and you can hear your neighbour breath. The beds for my liking are very hard too. I asked if there was anything that could be done and the next morning we were moved to the top (fourth floor) where there are only five rooms. Thanks Rochel. Still the same conditions but fewer neighbours.

Housekeeping are brilliant. The rooms are spotless.

Breakfast was included and a solid selection. It is also served until 11:00am.

The location is in the centre of everything, so no major walks.

The staff were very helpful, especially on day 2 when I found myself ill and in need of A&E (yep it was that bad). They made sure I was looked after.

Be warned: there is a charge to use the in room safe Euro 15 a week and wifi/internet Euro 2 per hour (I think).

There is no pool or outside area for sunbeds, this is a downer. However it also whittles down the annoying children factor. Upside : )

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor!!! and if you don't like hard beds, bring an underblanket. Also bring your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This was our second visit to the hotel in four years. The rooms are clean. We again stayed in the family room which has two bathrooms, two full sized beds. The rooms are separated by a french door. The breakfast comes with the room. It's a decent selection of food -- gourmet coffee, cereals, some fresh fruit, breads and rolls. There is internet available in the lobby. The hotel is a 5 minute walk away from the beach. There is no swimming pool.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Avenida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida

Address: Avenida de la Palma 5, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Avenida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avenida Hotel Tossa De Mar
Hotel Avenida Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Avenida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.