We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice small family run hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Capri Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tossa de Mar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Capri Hotel
Save Saved
You added Capri Hotel to your Saves list
Passeig del Mar, 17 | Apartado de correos 263, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
New Brunswick, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very nice small family run hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Ideal location right on the beach. Family operated business and they are very pleasant and visible. For all we had poor weather throughout our stay, we still had times when we could sit on the balcony and enjoy the sea views. A little bar fridge would have been great to have cold sundowners but very few smaller hotels in Spain seem to offer that convenience. Good location in that many little cobblestones street with lots of small shops, cafes, bars and restaurants wind their way around up behind the hotel. Ate dinner at the hotel restaurant twice and both times; we were very pleased with the meals and the cost was very reasonable. Buffet breakfast is very European so if you wish eggs, bacon, etc, you must order at extra cost. Overall, a lovely spot with a personal feel and good value. Would readily recommend and would stay again.

Room Tip: Request a sea view room for wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    24
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
18
57
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, VA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Our room had a beautiful terrace overlooking the Mediterranean Sea, the beach and an old castle with stunning views. Our room was large with a nice queen bed, a table and chairs, a makeup table, plenty of storage space and a nice bath with a tub and bidet. Bed was very comfortable, was nicely decorated and most the spacious room we had in 4 weeks in Europe. Breakfast is included and served on a terrace overlooking the beach and included good coffee, juices, croissants, breads, fruit and cold cuts. The hotel also provided beach towels and umbrellas and were quite friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend it. The hotel restaurant is also good, especially the calamari.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a terrace facing the water - the views and sunsets are stunning!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Pros- the best location and views of old town, incredibly helpful staff/owners ( nothing was too minor for them- they even told us to all if we had any difficulties in Barcelona!), great water pressure, so clean
Cons- old school beds, musty smell throughout hotel an rooms.

Felt like a beach side hotel from yesteryear- old school.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed 2 weeks in the Capri in a 2nd floor sea view room. The staff at the hotel are friendly and helpful. The rooms are charming if slightly old fashioned and are kept spotlessly clean. Location wise it could not be better with great views over the beach/sea and the old town and with a good choice of restaurants nearby. This was our first visit to Tossa but we will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We booked the hotel over email and they gave very clear idea of the rates and what it includes. It was super easy to book by giving them my CC no.

We finally landed in Tossa De Mar in the evening very tired from driving across the Costa Brava... It was difficult to get to the hotel, the directions were confusing and the roads were so narrow that we kept going in circles... Finally when we got there, we were only too glad to give our car to be parked in their garage though for a hefty $20euros for the night.

The people at the desk and others around were very friendly. The breakfast was simple but good and they even gave us some ideas how best to cover all the sightseeing if you are time constrained like we were...

The room was simple and basic because probably we paid for the basic room. But just FYI when they mention bathroom toiletries that means only soap. This is very different from travelling in the US where most decent hotels have a shower gel, shampoo/ conditioner and lotion. However, they have a bathtub instead of just a shower room.

Overall we loved the location of the hotel, the people and service was awesome. Not too wowed over the breakfast. Room was basic, but not sure about the sea view ones.

Room Tip: Our room was facing the street on the 2nd floor. However, we didnot hear much street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north west
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Having just returned from the most idyllic weekend wedding in Tossa De Mar I can only explain it as the above !
Tossa de mar itself was not what i was expecting, beautiful, clean, romantic, exciting, magical and... if you are a foodie.. well you can not go wrong here.
With its abundance of 4/5 * restaurants ( and they do not fleece you ) , the fantastic little typical fishing village bars and the most amazing castle and beaches you would be silly not to give it a go.

We stayed at the Capri Hotel, right on the beach and yet in the hustle and bustle of the busy little shopping streets.
The room was spacious and comfortable and the shower was well... brilliant .. a stand alone wet room with an amazing power shower.. THE HOTEL WAS SPOTLESS !!
The staff are amazing and can not do enough for you and I will certainly be returning here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

First, on arrival we were greeted by name by a very polite and helpful young man, check in was easy and he accompanied us to our room. This is four star service in most Europeon hotels yet this hotel is a reasonably priced two star! . We had booked a four night stay for this July, we ended up staying five nights. . Having booked very early in year was able to book a third( top) floor sea view room. On arrival we immediatley knew we wanted to stay longer in Tossa. In the morning the lady at the desk ( Ingrid, daughter of owner) was wonderful in assisting me to rearrange my hotel booking in Barcelona.. even making the call for me and sending a confirming email. Cannot thank her enough.
This hotel is absolutely a gem. The rooms are clean, a decent size , the ac was quiet and worked well, and our balcony on the third floor was very large. We had to move to a smaller room for our last night ( our added night) and still found even the smaller room to be very nice, modern clean bathrooms are a bonus!
The views from the rooms are amazing. The beds were comfy and had nice light duvets on them, room was well cleaned each day by friendly smiling maids. We were lent a beach umbrella by the staff, and there are stocked bookcases one can take or leave a book at in several spots in the hotel.
The hotel rate includes a nice but simple breakfast , hosted by the owner himself. In the evening we ate at the restaurant twice, as hotel guests tables were immediatley found for us, we were always made to feel very special by the lovely hostess.

I thought long about not making a report on this hotel ,, I selfishly did not want others to find about this hidden gem , but my fair nature made me realize I want these lovely hotel owners to benefit from all their hard work.

This is not a hotel ( or town) for rowdy partiers, but for most others this is a absolutely wonderful find in a lovely town.

Anyone wishing to know more may pm me for specifics .

Room Tip: Third floor seaview balcony rooms are the best, but we also enjoyed our second floor room seaview wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capri Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capri Hotel

Address: Passeig del Mar, 17 | Apartado de correos 263, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Capri Hotel Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capri Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.