We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic friendly budget hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas

Save Saved
You added MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Villafranca Del Penedes 4, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 43 hotels in Tossa de Mar
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Basic friendly budget hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

I would definitely recommend this hotel as a good choice for basic,budget place to stay.
The staff were extremely welcoming and friendly especially on the reception.
Our room was dated but clean,and the cleaners were attentive.
Self catering facilities were quite basic,just 2 rings on hob,kettle,toaster and microwave.O.K for a week but not longer.
Overall a good place to stay and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    64
    39
    9
    2
See reviews for
97
41
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

A very clean, friendly hotel. We booked self catering as we like to do as we please when away. The receptionists are lovely as are the bar staff really funny and down to earth and good for laugh. The only down side with the room was the beds. They are rather hard and not very comfortable. The Shower is great with hot water and nice and powerful.
The other gripe was that there was no daily/evening entertainment at all, maybe because it's the end of the season so there was only the games room and table tennis for entertainment. Do NOT book bed and breakfast it works out more expensive! With the holiday price it works out at an extra tenner a day each. Paying there its only 5 euros which ain't bad. The evening meals which can be booked for 10 euros per person is also good value and up to a decent standard and dishes replaced frequently and are HOT! Llui's Restaurant in the town is well worth a visit. Really friendly and wonderful food. They really looked after my wife and I preparing a special meal for our wedding Anniversary.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

I cannot believe this hotel is owned by the same company as San eloy. The difference between the two is unbelievable!
Esmereldas is clean, has great rooms with toasters! The bar staff (two brothers) are fantastic and its a very happy place to stay.....cant fault it!
I would never ever return to the San eloy but would love to stay again at esmereldas!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were looking for a cheap week away in the school holidays and having got cheap flights to Girona, Tossa De Mar looked like the best resort choice for us. Reviewing hotels, a number of first choice options were full so we booked with Aparthotel Esmerelda following reading the reviews here.

Upon arrival, we had to wait about 5 minutes for the receptionist to acknowledge we were there. However, they then checked us in relatively quickly and we had immediate access to our room.

We had a one bedroom apartment which was clean and basically furnished. We were staying self catering and we used the Caprabo supermarket which is a short walk from the hotel and reasonably priced.

The pool at the hotel was small and at the start of the week there were a large number of older children who spent their time bombing in to the pool. This unfortunately meant my children were unable to use the pool. The bombing activity appeared to be led by a hotel representative!

There is a small games room on site with games for about a euro each. We reported some balls missing from the pool table but the receptionist wasn't very forthcoming in sorting this out.

We didn't eat in the restaurant so can't comment on the food. We went in the bar on just one occasion, which was to watch the Reptile Show. My son enjoyed this very much.

Tossa as a resort is beautiful. The hotel is about a slow 10 minute walk to the beach and similar to the bus station.

The hotel worked well for us as a base, as we spent most of our time out and about. If you are looking to spend more time at your hotel, you may wish to book something with a larger pool.

We used From2Travel for our resort transfer. This came from a google search and was 80€ for return transfer for the 4 of us from Girona. Unfortunately, we were the last to be dropped off so our trip took nearly 2 1/2 hours to get to the hotel. On our return journey, we were the last to be picked up which meant just as short 30 min journey to the airport. I'd recommend booking a cab/individual transfer to ensure a quicker journey to your hotel.

Activities to recommend in Tossa are:

• taking one of the glass bottom boats and seeing the caves. We spent a lovely afternoon on a beach we reaches by boat.

• Catch the bus to Barcelona. This cost us 23€ each for a return and took 80 minutes. Book your tickets in advance from the bus station as they get very busy. It drops you off just a 5 minute walk from Las Ramblas and by a Metro stop.

• Marineland. Less a marine animal park and more a waterpark (not many animals!) but a couple of great areas for the kids.

• Medieval Castle show - very touristy and expensive but if your kids are in to knights as much as my son is, this is a must do!!! Both kids loved it. However, it is a very late night so be warned. Our coach picked us up at 6:30pm and didn't get to the venue until 8:40pm. The show starts at 9pm and we didn't get home until after 1am

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

have stayed here 5 times now rooms are always very clean staff very helpful would recommend very highly suit couples and familys. very good choice of food also lots to see and do in the area
staff available 24hrs all rooms have air con beds are changed twice a week and also towels beds were always made each day. always plenty of room around the pool with a shallow end for toddlers sunny all day long

Room Tip: if you like a afternoon nap then ask for the rooms facing the oasis
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Yes the staff (reception and hotel maids) was absolutely very kind, friendly and accommodating. Allthough they seemed very busy all the time.
Location was OK (hard to find even with GPS).

I’ve noticed that others have described the cleaning as great. I have to say that I disagree. It was nice with new towels every day and can’t put a finger on the bath cleaning, however the balcony looked as it haven’t seen a wet mop for ages and no fresh bedding for 7 days.
I wasn’t aware that there was so many kids around as I always look for ‘no kids pool’. Pool area was quite noisy during the day – until after 10 pm. Never used it as guests put their towels over the sunbeds very early in the morning. Bad habit in my eyes. The lights went off on the balcony at 12 pm and you couldn’t swift it on yourself.
My studio (one room) was nothing like the ones you see on the photos. And not for 3 adults.
I have no experience with the restaurant nor the entertainment. Saying that, I can recommend it to families.

Room Tip: Ask for a description of your room or a photo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Just returned after 2 great weeks. We requested a 5th floor room as advised on here and it was quiet - great little apartment and we didn't find the beds hard at all! Little kitchen area - tv with bbc1 and itv3 and sky news. The apt was cleaned every day and fresh towels given daily too. Air con was good if a tad noisy!
When we arrived we thought the pool was going to be a nightmare as it is small but there was laways plenty of room and plenty of sunbeds. Really friendly and nice atmosphere and the kids made loads of friends. The food was good - lots of choice and plenty of it - really reasonable for what we paid. My only complaint would be that the coffee at breakfast was yuck but they do serve a decent coffee from behind the bar.
The entertainer Steven was great with the kids and would organise low key activities for them some afternoons. there was also the usual mini discos, lots of bingo, quizzes and karaoke and a couple of shows with Kenyan acrobats, an illusionist and a parrot and reptile show. Some nights we just chilled out in the reception area - with our jug of sangria which was a bargain 7 euros.
The staff were all very very helpful and the hotel was immaculate. We had a problem with our loo flushing and it was fixed immediately.
the hotel is really near the supermarket (DIA) which was cheaper than supermarkets in UK. and a good location for the town and the beach. the sand is quite gritty on the beach but the kids loved the waves and the sea is v clean !
Tossa is a lovely town - felt v spanish and there are plenty of shops, bars and restaurants. we did a day trip to barcelona with thomson ( although we were not on holiday with thomson) and saw the noucamp and some barca sights. the tour guide that does the Thomson tours (Frank) is amazing - really good.
We had a great holiday and would return.

Room Tip: 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas

Address: Villafranca Del Penedes 4, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 43 hotels in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Esmeraldas Hotel Tossa De Mar
Aparthotel Esmeraldas Tossa De Mar
MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.