We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The apartments” 3 of 5 stars
Review of MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas to your Saves list
MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Villafranca Del Penedes 4, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Odense, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The apartments”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Yes the staff (reception and hotel maids) was absolutely very kind, friendly and accommodating. Allthough they seemed very busy all the time.
Location was OK (hard to find even with GPS).

I’ve noticed that others have described the cleaning as great. I have to say that I disagree. It was nice with new towels every day and can’t put a finger on the bath cleaning, however the balcony looked as it haven’t seen a wet mop for ages and no fresh bedding for 7 days.
I wasn’t aware that there was so many kids around as I always look for ‘no kids pool’. Pool area was quite noisy during the day – until after 10 pm. Never used it as guests put their towels over the sunbeds very early in the morning. Bad habit in my eyes. The lights went off on the balcony at 12 pm and you couldn’t swift it on yourself.
My studio (one room) was nothing like the ones you see on the photos. And not for 3 adults.
I have no experience with the restaurant nor the entertainment. Saying that, I can recommend it to families.

Room Tip: Ask for a description of your room or a photo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    73
    42
    9
    3
See reviews for
106
47
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Just returned after 2 great weeks. We requested a 5th floor room as advised on here and it was quiet - great little apartment and we didn't find the beds hard at all! Little kitchen area - tv with bbc1 and itv3 and sky news. The apt was cleaned every day and fresh towels given daily too. Air con was good if a tad noisy!
When we arrived we thought the pool was going to be a nightmare as it is small but there was laways plenty of room and plenty of sunbeds. Really friendly and nice atmosphere and the kids made loads of friends. The food was good - lots of choice and plenty of it - really reasonable for what we paid. My only complaint would be that the coffee at breakfast was yuck but they do serve a decent coffee from behind the bar.
The entertainer Steven was great with the kids and would organise low key activities for them some afternoons. there was also the usual mini discos, lots of bingo, quizzes and karaoke and a couple of shows with Kenyan acrobats, an illusionist and a parrot and reptile show. Some nights we just chilled out in the reception area - with our jug of sangria which was a bargain 7 euros.
The staff were all very very helpful and the hotel was immaculate. We had a problem with our loo flushing and it was fixed immediately.
the hotel is really near the supermarket (DIA) which was cheaper than supermarkets in UK. and a good location for the town and the beach. the sand is quite gritty on the beach but the kids loved the waves and the sea is v clean !
Tossa is a lovely town - felt v spanish and there are plenty of shops, bars and restaurants. we did a day trip to barcelona with thomson ( although we were not on holiday with thomson) and saw the noucamp and some barca sights. the tour guide that does the Thomson tours (Frank) is amazing - really good.
We had a great holiday and would return.

Room Tip: 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Can't fault the Esmeraldas at all, we stayed before 7 years ago and returned after planning a big family holiday, in total there were 20 of us ages ranging from 1 to 81 and it catered for us all. Some of us were half board and the food was lovely and plenty of range, the restaurant staff were friendly and quick to clear away dirty plates. There were plenty of high chairs available for the little ones.

The evening entertainment was excellent and varied. The entertainer Steven was really good with the children and our kids enjoyed the Mini Disco and Karaoke, he was interactive with guests which also contributed to the overall good holiday experience.

We booked to go to the water park through reception who were very helpful in doing so and we were able to get the free bus to Lloret by booking in this way.

The pool area was fine, the pool isn't massive but it is a little sun trap and there were plenty of sunbeds for the amount of people using the pool. There were also pool games on some days.

Towels are changed every day and apartments cleaned if you want them to be. The rooms were immaculate on arrival and we all agreed that the beds were comfortable.

We had a really good holiday and would be happy to visit again. We would like to thank all the staff there for being so accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

What excellent value! We were 4 adults so had 2 studios,, as we were able to cater for our own breakfast & lunch we were able to eat out at the numerous & varied restaurants around Tossa.
The studios are spacious & the kitchenettes well equipped with a fridge, 2 ring hob & kettle etc.

The hotel is very clean & the staff friendly & extremely helpful.The swimming pool isn't huge but is big enough to swim in, the water was quite cold when you first get in.
We ate twice in the hotel restaurant where there is a good selection of hot & cold buffet.
From the hotel it is easy to walk around the town which again is spotless. There are 2 supermarkets literally around the corner & lovely beaches again within a short walk.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I feel sure most reading this review will have seen the television program *The Hotel Inspector* with the wonderful Alex Polizzi where she travels around doing her best with her vast hotelier knowledge to help failing hotel/guest house businesses,
Well Alez is never going to have to viist The Esmeraldas as it will never fail.
Myself and my wife returned last night from yet another stay at the Esmeraldas in Tossa de Mar .
We always go self catering as the choices of food in the resort cater for just about every taste and financial abilities.
We did have a few mid afternoon snack meals at the hotel and found then perfectley acceptable and very reasoanbly priced i,e a large mushroom omlette with a good salad and chips if tou wanted it the cost six euros,now show me anywhere in the Uk where you could get that for under £10 and i will go there.
As usual the reception staff cannot do enough to help ,The bar staff are gems once again nothing is to much trouble and the three of them have now been there a good many years ,which in my opnion speaks well of the Med Playa group for the length of service.
As i have commented in previous reviews on The Esmeraldas its a good clean safe hotel ,our room was cleaned and fresh bedding every second day .
Tossa itself is just about the most unspolit resort on the Costa Brava and as we have been visiting Tossa for over twenty years now its virtually as unspolit as when we first visited .
if you want drunken idiots and music bursting your ear drums till unearthy hours go to Lloret de Mar ,because you will not find any of that in Tossa .
We are going to our local travel agents tomorrow 16-8-13 to book for 2014

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Excellent, very clean basic rooms, you get what u pay for. We stayed as a family of four, two adults, two kids, aged 15 and 16, beds a little uncomfy but not too bad, free with fi code in reception area is 20 30 40 50, breakfast five euros buffet is fan, go to the Tuesday market at later da mar, bus is three euros, better than the Thursday market in fossa due mar, check out the TV room where people leave things for out to get if they r leaving, we got a lilo and two parasols free, sand is very hot on the beach so wear shoes, if you want to spend an hour four star then nip across the road to the oasis hotel and use their pool, easy access ! Had a lovely week and would definitely go back, English TV as well, lovely for what we paid x

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had two self catering studios on the 5th floor, the studios are small but well equipped with coffee maker, kettle, microwave, electric hobs, and plenty of cutlery, utensils, pans and dishes.
Would say, however, that the studios are a bit cramped for three adults, with a pull out bed for the third bed, and would probably suit a couple with child much better.
Pool is on the small side and gets very busy peak season, children prefer the main pool to the kiddie pool and spend most of their time dive-bombing the pool, we swum early in the day or late in the day for this reason, there is a long list of 'pool rules' on display in several languages but nobody takes any notice which makes it difficult for everyone to enjoy the pool. I would suggest that during peak season a member of staff could do a quick tour of the pool every couple of hours to prevent bad pool behaviour because this doesn't only lead to sensible pool users becoming annoyed but could lead to accidents.
Overall, we found the hotel to be clean, well-run (with the exception of the pool), and the desk staff were always very friendly and helpful.
The cleaners cleaned our room every day which was exceptional service.
There are ramps outside the hotel and a lift inside so disabled guests could stay here.
Cannot comment on the food for we were S/C, but did not hear any complaints from fellow guests.
Again, would just like to see a tightening up of the pool rules especially during peak season, NO BALL GAMES, NO DIVING/DIVE BOMBING, NO RUNNING AROUND THE POOL.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher levels are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas

Address: Villafranca Del Penedes 4, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Esmeraldas Hotel Tossa De Mar
Aparthotel Esmeraldas Tossa De Mar
MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.