We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suitable for everyone!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas

Save Saved
You added MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Villafranca Del Penedes 4, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 43 hotels in Tossa de Mar
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Suitable for everyone!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Can't fault the Esmeraldas at all, we stayed before 7 years ago and returned after planning a big family holiday, in total there were 20 of us ages ranging from 1 to 81 and it catered for us all. Some of us were half board and the food was lovely and plenty of range, the restaurant staff were friendly and quick to clear away dirty plates. There were plenty of high chairs available for the little ones.

The evening entertainment was excellent and varied. The entertainer Steven was really good with the children and our kids enjoyed the Mini Disco and Karaoke, he was interactive with guests which also contributed to the overall good holiday experience.

We booked to go to the water park through reception who were very helpful in doing so and we were able to get the free bus to Lloret by booking in this way.

The pool area was fine, the pool isn't massive but it is a little sun trap and there were plenty of sunbeds for the amount of people using the pool. There were also pool games on some days.

Towels are changed every day and apartments cleaned if you want them to be. The rooms were immaculate on arrival and we all agreed that the beds were comfortable.

We had a really good holiday and would be happy to visit again. We would like to thank all the staff there for being so accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    61
    35
    9
    3
See reviews for
93
38
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

What excellent value! We were 4 adults so had 2 studios,, as we were able to cater for our own breakfast & lunch we were able to eat out at the numerous & varied restaurants around Tossa.
The studios are spacious & the kitchenettes well equipped with a fridge, 2 ring hob & kettle etc.

The hotel is very clean & the staff friendly & extremely helpful.The swimming pool isn't huge but is big enough to swim in, the water was quite cold when you first get in.
We ate twice in the hotel restaurant where there is a good selection of hot & cold buffet.
From the hotel it is easy to walk around the town which again is spotless. There are 2 supermarkets literally around the corner & lovely beaches again within a short walk.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I feel sure most reading this review will have seen the television program *The Hotel Inspector* with the wonderful Alex Polizzi where she travels around doing her best with her vast hotelier knowledge to help failing hotel/guest house businesses,
Well Alez is never going to have to viist The Esmeraldas as it will never fail.
Myself and my wife returned last night from yet another stay at the Esmeraldas in Tossa de Mar .
We always go self catering as the choices of food in the resort cater for just about every taste and financial abilities.
We did have a few mid afternoon snack meals at the hotel and found then perfectley acceptable and very reasoanbly priced i,e a large mushroom omlette with a good salad and chips if tou wanted it the cost six euros,now show me anywhere in the Uk where you could get that for under £10 and i will go there.
As usual the reception staff cannot do enough to help ,The bar staff are gems once again nothing is to much trouble and the three of them have now been there a good many years ,which in my opnion speaks well of the Med Playa group for the length of service.
As i have commented in previous reviews on The Esmeraldas its a good clean safe hotel ,our room was cleaned and fresh bedding every second day .
Tossa itself is just about the most unspolit resort on the Costa Brava and as we have been visiting Tossa for over twenty years now its virtually as unspolit as when we first visited .
if you want drunken idiots and music bursting your ear drums till unearthy hours go to Lloret de Mar ,because you will not find any of that in Tossa .
We are going to our local travel agents tomorrow 16-8-13 to book for 2014

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Excellent, very clean basic rooms, you get what u pay for. We stayed as a family of four, two adults, two kids, aged 15 and 16, beds a little uncomfy but not too bad, free with fi code in reception area is 20 30 40 50, breakfast five euros buffet is fan, go to the Tuesday market at later da mar, bus is three euros, better than the Thursday market in fossa due mar, check out the TV room where people leave things for out to get if they r leaving, we got a lilo and two parasols free, sand is very hot on the beach so wear shoes, if you want to spend an hour four star then nip across the road to the oasis hotel and use their pool, easy access ! Had a lovely week and would definitely go back, English TV as well, lovely for what we paid x

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had two self catering studios on the 5th floor, the studios are small but well equipped with coffee maker, kettle, microwave, electric hobs, and plenty of cutlery, utensils, pans and dishes.
Would say, however, that the studios are a bit cramped for three adults, with a pull out bed for the third bed, and would probably suit a couple with child much better.
Pool is on the small side and gets very busy peak season, children prefer the main pool to the kiddie pool and spend most of their time dive-bombing the pool, we swum early in the day or late in the day for this reason, there is a long list of 'pool rules' on display in several languages but nobody takes any notice which makes it difficult for everyone to enjoy the pool. I would suggest that during peak season a member of staff could do a quick tour of the pool every couple of hours to prevent bad pool behaviour because this doesn't only lead to sensible pool users becoming annoyed but could lead to accidents.
Overall, we found the hotel to be clean, well-run (with the exception of the pool), and the desk staff were always very friendly and helpful.
The cleaners cleaned our room every day which was exceptional service.
There are ramps outside the hotel and a lift inside so disabled guests could stay here.
Cannot comment on the food for we were S/C, but did not hear any complaints from fellow guests.
Again, would just like to see a tightening up of the pool rules especially during peak season, NO BALL GAMES, NO DIVING/DIVE BOMBING, NO RUNNING AROUND THE POOL.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher levels are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Basic, clean, good air con. Kitchen fully equipped, tiny bath but good shower. However the pool is very small but there is a sandy beach 5 minutes down the road. Hotel bar and restaurant are very good and great food. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here earlier in the month (July 2013). We checked Trip Advisor first and requested a high room as this was advised. Our apartment was on top (5th) floor and overlooked the pool. You could just see the turret of the castle and the lighthouse in the distance. We had a very wide balcony and the kitchen area had al we needed to prepare and cook light meals on it. The room is at the end of a corridor so there was no noise from other hotel users getting to their rooms at night. The pool was used mainly by families and there were lots of sunbeds available. Within a few minutes walk you can reach the supermarkets and a little further there is the town. The beds were a bit too hard for our liking but apart from that it was perfect for a simple break away. The room was cleaned and fresh towels available every couple of days. The receptionists went out of their way to help with any enquiry we had.

Room Tip: I would advise the 5th floor an overlooking their pool as not as much sun on other side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas

Also Known As:
Aparthotel Esmeraldas Hotel Tossa De Mar
Aparthotel Esmeraldas Tossa De Mar
Aparthotel Esmeraldas Hotel
MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain
Address: Villafranca Del Penedes 4, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, HostelBookers, Expedia and Venere so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MedPlaya Hotel Esmeraldas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.