We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit: clean, tidy small hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SM Hotels Turissa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added SM Hotels Turissa to your Saves list
SM Hotels Turissa
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda. del Pelegri, 27, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Durham
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Return visit: clean, tidy small hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Located right next to the Tourist Office and Bus Station; both make this a good base for arriving in Tossa de Mar. Beside the hotel is the Roman remains of Tossa de Mar. About five minutes walk and you are into the main streets with cafes, restaurants, shops etc.

The hotel has clean bedrooms, functional but quite comfortable [some rooms have balconies], decent modern bathrooms. There is a small outside area with small swimming pool and loungers, a breakfast room - breakfast was OK with a reasonable range of food items - although whereas they used to give you a voucher to collect a really nice coffee from the bar which is part of the hotel they now have installed a coffee machine and orange juice machine. What a pity!

However, the staff were very pleasant, it was at most a ten minute walk to the beach, and was despite being near to the bus station a quiet and good base in Tossa de Mar. I would use it again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    16
    18
    1
    2
See reviews for
5
23
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, Virginia
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We made a day trip of our visit to Tossa de Mar 15 years after our honeymoon -- this time with the kids. (We rented an apartment in Barcelona). Most of the hotels are closed for the season. Wait, make that ALL of the hotels except Turissa are closed for the season. This hotel is on the main drag through town, which is about a 7 block walk to the beach. We stayed in two spartan, but super-clean en-suite rooms that reminded me of dorm rooms. I was not crazy about the fact we could not get adjoining rooms. Kids each had a twin bed. My husband and I shared a full size bed with the worst mattress ever created. I do not exaggerate when I say that the springs audibly pinged with each breath. I had a lot of difficulty sleeping, but on the upside everyone else slept fine. We felt safe and that it was a value and our only choice. The staff was friendly and it served its purpose. They also served a decent breakfast with lots of choices.

A must-do for the Christmas season is the Christmas pageant/living nativity at the Castle.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girona, Spain
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The price was right, the location fine (right next to the bus station), the reviews on Tripadvisor favorable. However, if you have any sensitivities to artificial perfume, air fresheners, or cleaning chemicals, beware! Our room smelled like air freshener when we arrived, so we opened the window wide and turned on the bathroom fan. My husband removed a packet of liquid air freshener mounted on the bathroom wall, so we thought we would be okay. We left for a few hours and returned, and it seemed okay--but once we closed the window (it's December after all), the odor returned. And then we realized the sickly-sweet odor pretty much permeated the building--it was even noticeable in the reception area. It must have been circulating through the vents. Desperate, we checked out of the room. No refund offered for our 2 prepaid nights (of course!) and an unsympathetic clerk who said they never used air fresheners, but we couldn't risk getting sick.

Room Tip: If you have no problem with artificial chemical air fresheners (or maybe it was some kind of room cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem,
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Hotel Turissa is a lovely, small hotel. The staff is very helpful and friendly even if their English isn't the greatest.
The rooms are a nice size and very clean. The balcony has a nice view of the mountains. It is near the bus station but not noisy. It is walking distance to the beach/sites/shopping but not in the middle of the "action" to be noisy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

In early september 2012 a friend and I stayed 5 nights at the Hotel Turissa. I chose it from the great reviews it already had on this site.
And we were not disappointed. The room was clean, light, with a small balcony - with a beautiful view towards the mountains. The staff were very friendly, although their english wasn't that good. Overall the small hotel had a great atmosphere - compared to other budget hotels I've tried before - this was far far better - and could easily earn a star or two more. We stayed their quite late in the season, so it wasn't full - lot of space at breakfastroom and at the terrace and swimmingpool. We did not use the pool much - it's a bit small and the beach is only 5-10 minutes away. Overall a great experience with this hotel.
Only one minor complaint: The coffeemachine could not produce hot coffee - and the bacon/eggs etc weren't properly heated.
I strongly recommned this hotel, if you want a small and quiet place to stay.
And very important to: The town. Tossa de Mar, is absolutely beautiful. Wonderful surroundings - small mountains - great places to walk - and an old city called Vila Vella - with a fantastic view over the city and the beach/beautiful bay. I will go back there one day, for sure.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire England
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in January for 3 nights and the only fault we have is there is no safes in the rooms which I find to be an inconvenience. Cleanliness, quality of breakfast, friendliness of staff and value for money are all good. Good location for all facilities, beach,town,although there may be some noise issues from the nearby busbar in the summer months when it seems to be a congregation point for locals and youngsters, as we found out on previous visits during the summer, this was not evident in January and is one of only a few hotels open in Tossa at that time of year.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

The hotel is great value, money wise and is well positioned, only 10 minutes walk to the sea and the old town. We paid Euro 38.50 including all taxes plus breakfast for per night. Incidentally, on Sat. and Sun., the room rate for 2 people goes up to Euro 48 per night. Wi-Fi is an extra Euro 5 for 24hours. The buffet breakfast was awful. Took 1 mouthful of cold coffee minus milk plus a bite of a dry croissant. I mentioned about the cold coffee and no milk to the Receptionist but she was not interested. Obviously, the machine was not working: cold coffee coming out of the hot coffee faucet and water coming out of the milk faucet. I wasn't bothered, because we paid so little for the room, instead, we went down to the seafront and had 2 nice coffees with 2 croissants for Euro 4.80.
We had a double bed and it was rather a tight squeeze for 2 people.
Other than that, it was a good stay.

Room Tip: ask for twin beds(dos camas) as double bed(matrimonial) is small .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to SM Hotels Turissa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SM Hotels Turissa

Address: Avda. del Pelegri, 27, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — SM Hotels Turissa 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL TURISSA, open all of the year, the service and quality at the highest level.Cafe Bar - Outside Pool - Lift - 24-hour Front Desk - Terrace - Luggage Storage - Continental Breakfast - TV Room. We have 27 spacious and confortable rooms (some with view to Vila Vella), It has bathroom, Air-Conditioning, central heating, telephone, satellite TV and channel plus. Situated in Costa Brava in a lovely village: Tossa de Mar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Despegar.com and HostelWorld so you can book your SM Hotels Turissa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sm Hotel Turissa
SM Hotels Turissa Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SM Hotels Turissa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.