We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Delfin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Delfin to your Saves list
Hotel Delfin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Costa Brava, 2, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed in this lovely hotel for a week and had a great time. The breakfasts were lovely and you could go down late and everything was still fully stocked, and the staff did not rush you out. The room and bathroom were clean and nice. The hot tub was wonderful in the evenings. Cannot beat the location!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Hotel Delfin, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. And your review will help us improving our service in the future. We hope you come back soon.

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of all the Hotel Delfin staff, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    146
    30
    5
    5
See reviews for
72
232
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
richmond
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is amazing! The people are very nice, the rooms are spotless! The hotel is spotless inside and out! The reviews on this hotel are good for a reason. Everything is close by. Shopping, food and the beach. They have parking just a couple of blocks away for 15€ a day, parking can be expensive so 15 a day is very reasonable. Lovely hotel :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Hotel Delfin, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. And your review will help us improving our service in the future. We hope you come back soon.

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of all the Hotel Delfin staff, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Delfin for 4 nights in August 2012.

The best experience with this hotel we made even before we arrived. We had booked 2 hotel rooms with half board at a discounted and therefore non-refundable rate a few months before. When the person who had planned to come with us could not make it, we notified the hotel immediately in writing hoping that we at least would be credited the money for the meals which would not be eaten. We followed up with a phone call and the lady at the reception told us that she would check with her boss and get back to us by-email. The next day we received an e-mail that despite our non-refundable booking they would be crediting the full amount for the 2nd room and they did exactly that.

Positive: the hotel is centrally located close to the old part of the town and the beach. The rooms are well sized, modern and clean. Our room was equipped with a balcony. The breakfast came with a good variety. A nice touch were the different cheeses and sausages which you could choose to cut yourself.

We were aware of the fact that the hotel does not have a pool. Yet on the top floor it does have a jacuzzi and we spent a few quite relaxing late afternoon hours there.

Negative: Dinner!!! The dining room with it's bright lights has the charme of a cafeteria. While that certainly is okay for breakfast, these surrroundings are not very pleasant for dinnner. The restaurant at night is also open to the public, yet in the two nights we ate there, many people looked in and walked by and we did not see anyone come in, so we may not have been the only one who felt that way.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Hotel Delfin, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. And your review will help us improving our service in the future. Actually, we are already working in some improvements in our dinner service. We hope you come back soon.

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of all the Hotel Delfin staff, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ISRAEL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We spent 2 nights hotel
Hotel in an excellent location, very rich breakfast.
Excellent speed free internet
Great room is spacious and very clean
Staff very courteous and helpful.
We highly recommend.
And are looking forward to next visit

Room Tip: no parking and it cost money outside the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Hotel Delfin, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. And your review will help us improving our service in the future. We hope you come back soon.

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of all the Hotel Delfin staff, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We had booked a room for three adults, and requested three single beds. On checking in, I asked at reception if the room had three separate beds and the receptionist said yes. On arrival at the room, we had two single beds, joined, and made up as a double bed. The third bed was a sofa bed. We headed to the beach and, on our way out, we asked if they would make up the two single beds separately, and the receptionist said yes.
We returned four hours later, and the beds had not been changed. I went to reception to complain. The two women at the desk exchanged glances and seemed amused. They said tomorrow. I said 'Tomorrow is not good enough. We don't want to share a bed. We ordered two single beds. We want two single beds.' They offered a folding bed. Not good enough in a four star hotel! Eventually, one of the women came to the room with me to see what 'the problem' was. She couldn't see any problem. Moreover, the two beds couldn't be moved apart, as the bases were joined! We asked for another room, and she said all the rooms were like that. She made a big deal that they had given us a suite. We didn't book a suite.
On the positive side, the hotel is in a very good location right in the centre, the rooms were clean, and the breakfast was good. But I would not stay in this hotel again because of the unsuitable beds and poor customer service at reception.

Room Tip: Not suitable for singles as they don't have twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Hotel Delfin, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate all our clients’ opinions, and your review will help us to improve our services in the future.

On behalf of the entire staff working at Hotel Delfín, I would like to apologize if we did not meet your expectations, or if you found yourself uncomfortable during your stay.

I would like to suggest you to add a comment on your reservation the next time you need a room with three single beds, so that the hotel knows which room they can give you. We are used to welcome families in our hotel, and usually they prefer double beds, and we did not know you needed 3 separate beds. For that reason, we allocated you in one of our suites with no extra charge, hoping you would feel more comfortable than in a standard triple room.

I would also like to remind you, that after you complained about the double bed, we offered you a change of room to a triple room (with twin beds), and you did not accept the change, because you preferred to stay in the suite with three separate beds. After that, our housekeepers proceeded to allocate two separate beds in your suite.

I am really sorry that you did not enjoy your stay because of this situation, and I am also sorry that you found that the staff did not do everything that was needed to make your stay better.

Please, do not hesitate to contact me for anything you might need.

Yours faithfully,

Luis Osorio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pressbaum, Niederosterreich, Austria
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I chose the hotel mainly because of its location and the 4 star category. For me its on the Holiday-Inn niveau. Big rooms, nicely furnished, in the middle of Tossa, quiet. Great breakfast! Parking is the only problem I had, because the garage is about 300m away from the hotel and it is difficult to get in and out with a big car.

Room Tip: We had 2 rooms - one on the park side with a balcony, one on the street side with a terrasse. I pref...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Hotel Delfin, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. And we are sorry that we could not offer you a better parking service, but parking has become a a big problem in Tossa de Mar during the summer season, and we have signed agreements with a garage and a parking in order to have always parking spaces for our guests. Unfortunately the garage entrance is not easy for big cars.

It is a pleasure to keep imporving our service so that we can keep guests like you satisfied. We hope you come back soon.

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of all the Hotel Delfin staff, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Location location location! I could not imagine better in Tossa de Mar - not in the old town (which could be a little bit loud) but just few metres from it as well as from the city beach. Nice room, not so spacious but clean with roomy bathroom and balcony. Excellent breakfasts!
You cannot leave your car in front of the hotel, but don't worry - garage is very close to the hotel. I would definitelly choose this hotel once again - and I will :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Hotel Delfin, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is a pleasure to keep imporving our service so that we can keep our guests satisfied.

We hope you come back soon.

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of all the Hotel Delfin staff, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Delfin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Delfin

Address: Av. Costa Brava, 2, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#3 Family Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Delfin 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Delfin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delfin Hotel Tossa De Mar
Hotel Delfin Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Delfin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.