We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Bahia de Tossa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Bahia de Tossa to your Saves list
Golden Bahia de Tossa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Puerto Rico 29, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Our second stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We booked before Christmas 2012 with Thomsons and paid about £530 for ten days full board which was excellent value. The food is very very good in our opinion and there was always something we liked. The way the food was displayed showed that staff obviously take pride in what they do too. Whilst we staying there was a Chinese themed evening in the restaurant which had been charmingly decorated with lanterns etc. In fact, we found that the majority of the staff in the hotel were very helpful and friendly and we recognised many faces from our last visit. As before, we emailed the hotel in advance to request our preferred area/floor and this was accommodated. We found the area in the restaurant to the left as you go in to be the quietest and quickly favoured a table in this area. Children and families are very well catered for however, Thomson also market this hotel towards couples and promote the 'spa' aspect of the hotel. So a little gripe now. The indoor 'spa' pool was being used by many parents as a baby pool (probably because it's heated) as well as being used by unsupervised children who were 'water-bombing' etc. We went to enjoy the pool at around 5.30-6ish on one afternoon and there were six babies in the pool and one parent obviously thought it was ok to change his baby right by the side of the pool. We spoke to the spa receptionist and she said others had complained too but she could not do anything about it. We raised our concerns with the customer relations person at the time and he appeared sympathetic. Whilst we were there we took some dogs out for a walk from the local dog's home/sanctuary which was very enjoyable. Simon on reception was very helpful with directions because it's not the easiest place to find but well worth the effort. The Thomson reps were always happy to chat and help. On the day of our departure we had an early evening flight and our only meal provided that day was breakfast. Since we had some lunches out of the hotel during our stay we asked if we could swap one of our them to our day of departure which they gladly did. Do ask in advance though and they will amend your dining card. All in all I can recommend this hotel and would have no hesitation in returning. Tossa is a charming town and we love it.

Room Tip: Email ahead with your requirements and they do their best to meet them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    356
    125
    31
    11
See reviews for
418
383
11
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Golden Bahia is the perfect hotel for all. The staff were very friendly, the rooms were clean and very comfortable. As for the food, what can I say...something for everyone and very tasty, well worth every penny! Great activities and entertainment at night, you do need to get in the bar area early though if you want to see the stage as there are quite a few obstructions so not easy to see. I would definitely recommend this hotel and Tossa is lovely and for all ages, my 12 year old Son loved it and wants to go back, all in all an excellent holiday!! We shall definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We love the Golden Bahia and all it has to offer. Are booking for August 2014 and for Christmas/New Year 2013. Christmas and New Year will be with a coach company as Thomsons do not include this resort in their Winter timetable, which is a shame as we are 7 hours from our South Yorkshire home to the hotel during our summer holiday, i.e. flying from Manchester to Girona. Shame about the drop in standards at the hotel though. During August when we stayed at the Bahia, in the dining room both at breakfast and in the evening, some adults/teenagers were wearing caps/hats; males (both young and old) wearing beach shorts, some flowery and sleeveless vests!; females wearing skirts so short that bum cheeks were showing. Certainly not worthy of a 4* Hotel or not what we would expect in any Hotel. In the main pool, children were allowed to mess about with lilo's, balls, inflatable toys which made it very difficult for adults to teach younger children to swim, and for older sensible teenagers and adults to enjoy swimming. There are 3 other pools for the youngsters to play in. Whilst we were there, up to midnight, a group of around 8 primary school age children (not English!) were running around the pool area, canoodling on the sunbeds above the outdoor cafe under the canopy then returning to their rooms by running down the corridor making a racket. Everything else was 100% so come on Management, do something about this drop in standards; we heard other guests making remarks about this too.

Room Tip: Have only ever had pool facing rooms so cannot really make a comparison.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed as a family with a teenage son in a nice pool view room,try and request one if you stay here. The food was varied and well prepared and always re-freshed, entertainment was good at night but make sure you get in early to avoid the obstructed views. Daytime activities are OK. All inclusive package is not worth the €27 pppd as it doesn't include enough to warrant the cost, stay HB The location is a 10 min walk to the beach and old town.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingston upon hull east yorkshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We had a big family get together our destination Golden Bahia we came from around the world England, Australia and the States the hotel is excellent food very good as where the room's spotless we could not fault it staff were friendly and helpful what I really like was the waiter service no need to stand and wait at the bar you sat down they where there ready to take your order. Just a short walk from the beach, bars and the old town there are many places to eat and relax. We would revisit this hotel and Tossa de mar.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in July 13. I really couldn't fault the hotel at all, all the staff were so friendly and only to pleased to help.the hotel was spotless,bedrooms were very clean and they had a great selection of food for all. Plenty to do during the day with different entertainment going on. Well done to this hotel. We had a wonderful holiday in fact we will soon be booking another stay there for next year.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I went with a friend in an effort to have a relaxing time without 24hour party student venues and teenagers spilling their takeaway food under our windows at 4am...and I have to say - Mission accomplished!
It was a short transfer from Girona airport and the location in relation to the town, old town, beach and castle is great. It's also just a couple of minutes walk to the bus station, with buses to Lloret de mar and Barcelona at frequent intervals throughout the day..
the hotel staff are among the best I've met - friendly, helpful and polite at all times but do not hassle you if you just want to be left in peace. There is a range of activities on offer at all times and things for kids and adults alike. there are also adult-only areas in case you aren't there with kids and need a bit more quiet at times - the rooftop sunbathing area with cool jacuzzis was a haven!
The food and dining service far exceeded my expectations - I wouldn't normally go for buffet-style, but in this case it was excellent. There is something for everyone, it is easy to eat healthily if you want to (or the opposite!) and they catered to my nut allergy extremely well. I genuinely looked forward to breakfast and dinner each day. I had an amazing selection of fish over the week we stayed, but there is also always meat, vegetarian and kids options, all being replenished frequently and some cooked right in front of you. House wine was reasonable and well well priced, but the cocktails and other drinks at the bars were quite steep. However, a 5-10 minute walk in to town and there is a host of restaurants and bars for all tastes and at all price points.
lunchtime food is easy too - bars around the pool have a selection cooked to order, but you can also opt for the restaurant as well. Day time drinks seemed reasonably priced, but the local supermarket is a few minutes walk and is very low cost for drinks, snacks and fruit.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the road instead of the pool - there isn't much traffic, so it was nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Golden Bahia de Tossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Bahia de Tossa

Address: Avenue Puerto Rico 29, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Golden Bahia de Tossa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Golden Bahia de Tossa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Bahia De Tossa Hotel Tossa De Mar
Golden Bahia De Tossa Mar
Golden Bahia Tossa Hotel
Golden Bahia De Tossa Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Bahia de Tossa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.