We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made for a brilliant break!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Bahia de Tossa

Save Saved
You added Golden Bahia de Tossa to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Bahia de Tossa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Puerto Rico 29, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 43 hotels in Tossa de Mar
dorset
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Made for a brilliant break!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My partner and I, both 20 have just returned from a week at the Golden Bahia and were very impressed. Firstly with Thompson who were friendly and very accommodating throughout the booking process and continued to be of great help once there with providing informed transfers and an EXCELLENT holiday advisor Sam along with her advisor in training Maddie. They were very approachable, in the hotel almost every day, gave us a short welcome and departure talk, as well as taking us on a short walk around the local area pointing out amenities, and lots of sites of interest. Many of which we could have easily walked past without knowing the significance so that was great. Enjoyed excursions to Marineland, had pictures with Dolphins which was great although the park itself was slightly smaller than expected, Barcelona where our tour guide Frank was AMAZING! He knew masses about Spanish history and shared his knowledge on our journey to and around Barcelona visiting famous sites, would highly recommend the water fountain show (only shown on a thurs and fri at 9pm) This fantastic array or lights, music and fountains is a must see!! Also went on the Catamaran trip which was great too - would definitely travel with Thompson again.

Check in was easy, our room was first floor and the first room so very quick and easy, 178. The room was big enough for us with large built in wardrobes, a clean decent en suite and balcony overlooking the pool area. Cleaner came in daily, was very nice. The hotel ask you only to leave the towels you want replacing on the floor to reduce washing and energy, I thought this was a great idea!

The hotel itself was fresh, bright and clean with lots of marble, a large wifi lounge area, games room, adults only lounge, capri entertainments bar and restaurant. The Spa was a great space, fairly prices at 6 per person to use the saunas, steam rooms and array of different showers. We also paid for massages which were lovely and fairly priced! The gym wasn't extensive but large enough as you are on holiday after all, the indoor pool was warm and cosy with slightly darker lighting and Jacuzzi areas within it. Outdoor pool area was great, lots of pool space, more than enough sunbeds which was a relief after holiday experiences where there are a handful of sunbeds for an entire hotel. The water was cold but made a nice refreshing cool down, there were pool sides bars too. Moreover the level 6 adults only (had to ask reception for a key to enter) area was lovely, apparently the best place to catch the sun on top of the hotel with 2 Jacuzzis and sunbeds as well as an optional nudist section.

Entertainments team tried hard to get people involved, we did try rifle shooting which was fun as well as taking part in bingo one evening and watching some of the other shows such as a magic show and some Beijing acrobats. Whilst the entertainment was good It was also slightly repetitive with bingo taking place every night!

Restaurant was great, wide selection of food for all types of eaters, although sometimes what looked like limited choices for vegetarians. The chefs recognised us and were friendly throughout the week. Breakfast was an immense array of everything and anything you could possibly think of wanting for breakfast, as far as champagne. Lunches were the weakest meal out of the 3 but was still very good, there was just less variety and selection than at dinner. In the evenings multiple chefs would be out cooking and serving food, often varieties of meat joints etc. There was lots of choice, always plenty of bread, and a large salad bar. The atmosphere in the restaurant was nice and never had to wait for a table, always room for everyone. Recognition must go to Jose the Bar Manager, he recognised and greeted us warmly every time he was working from our very first meal to final breakfast and was extremely pleasant and friendly!!

Tossa itself is BEAUTIFUL! From driving through and visiting other towns in the Costa Brava it is clear that with its smaller population and maintained old town of beauty the resort has a laid back atmosphere. The beach is inbetween sand and stones, grainy. The seafront was lined with restaurants all looking out across the water and over to the castle like structure at the far end of the bay which is in fact the walled old town. You MUST visit this and walk amongst the cobbled streets and up to the lighthouse with beautiful views of the coast. Lloret de Mar, is much larger and the next town along but is also somewhat of a 'concrete city' pulling in tourists to its range of clubs and bars.

Only negatives would be - Reception staff sometimes rude - Indoor pool and gym closes at 8pm, bit early - Daytime and evening entertainment sometimes repetitive - Limited food for vegetarians - Some excursions fairly pricey

Overall, go to the Costa Brava, moreover go to Tossa and the Golden Bahia! You will not be disappointed, a great 4* hotel, hugely keen to visit again and hope to, so much to see and do!

Room Tip: Definitely request a balcony overlooking the pool, this provides a far better view than overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    392
    304
    108
    29
    10
See reviews for
361
332
9
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We had one weeks holiday last year here and enjoyed it that much that we have just finished our two weeks 2013 holiday here at the Bahia. We were certainly not let down from last years experience. They exceeded our expectations this year. The Hotel was kept spotlessly clean by the cleaning staff, which works 7 days a week to make sure that our stay was memorable. Catering and waitering staff worked tirelessly to see to our every demand. And the staff that run the desk were seconded to none. No problem was too small for them to take care of. The pool area was once again kept spotless and kept to a very high standard.
The food was brilliant. So many different courses and so many variety of dishes. It would be very very hard to find that there was nothing that you liked. I tried all the different types of foods, soups and sweets that was put out. We certainly did not go hungry.
All the staff were courteous and willing to help. The Thompson reps again made sure that our stay went without any problems. Part of our stay we experience a slight medical problem in which the reps took on board and made sure that we got the treatment that we needed. We have already booked our 2014 holiday for two weeks back at he the Bahia

Room Tip: High rooms of the pool gives a better view and sun trap.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

we have just returned from a week's holiday at the Bahia De Tossa and had a fab time.
We arrived early hours in the morning and they had opened the restaurant area and had laid out some biscuits, juice and water for us which was a lovely touch.
Check in was easy and we were allocated room 203 which overlooked the pool area. The room had two large double beds which was great as our party consisted of 2 adults and 1 child (aged 12). There were tea/coffee making facilities in the room which were replenished daily. There was also a bottle of water left for us and on each floor there was a ice/water machine that you could top up your bottle with...really good idea!
The pool area is large with a lovely shaped pool and there is also a 2nd pool which they call the sports pool....the rule of not reserving sunbeds is great as no matter what time you go down to the pool there are always beds available, we did notice that this was monitored and any towels left on sunbeds were removed.
The food at this hotel was amazing, so much choice...sometimes too much choice and it was hard to decide what to have...at breakfast fresh omelettes, eggs and pancakes were made for you and in the evening there was always meat and a fish dish that was made for you along with loads and loads of other things.
There is also a large Wi-Fi area which is free and it has lovely squishy sofas so it was nice to relax here and have a drink.
The entertainment was your typical holiday entertainment and some of it was quite good. The animacion team worked really hard and did daytime activities as well as evening activities.
The hotel is about a 15 minute walk to the beach but you go through the beautiful old town of Tossa with narrow streets that are lined with shops & restaurants...it really is a gorgeous town and you feel like you are in Spain..no yobs, no bars with blaring music it is so lovely and I would highly recommend it.
All in all it was a fab holiday in a fab hotel in a fab town...would defo go again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is the first time that any of us had been to the resort of Tossa. We were a party of 6 adults on an All Inclusive holiday booked with Thompson. One couple for 1 week, 2 couples for 2 weeks. The hotel we though excellent also the food. We were not very happy that having paid for A.I. we were subject to limits on our food and drink. We were only allowed to use a small snack menu at the pool bar until 1.00 even though it was open to the guests on half board who paid for lunch with a better menu, also we were only allowed one cocktail which was chosen by the management but this had to ordered by 4.00. We complained to the rep but were just told that this was the A.I. package we pointed out to that we had paid up front for the chance to have what we wanted any time the bars etc were open. We did not want to spend all day drinking etc but feel that the A.I. is not quite right, we were told that this is the first year that the hotel had tried A.I. but they have not got it right and are a niggardly with their restrictions. Day and evening entertainment was o.k. bearing in mind that different nationalities are all on holiday together. The hotel staff & entertainment team we found very helpful and friendly. The town of Tossa itself is an old town quite small with narrow streets lined with shops and some bars but you need to explore along some of the side streets a bit. When you reach the beach there is a strip of bar/restaurants along the front which are open to about midnight. All this is overlooked by the old walled town. However the shops shut at 8.00 so don't expect any late night shopping.
.

Room Tip: Try for a pool view room as some rooms overlook the road. Some noise at night but it gets quiet afte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, England.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

For the price of a Premier Inn in London you are getting a 4* hotel half board so no one should complain really, it is slightly dated in the rooms hence the rating of 4 but it is clean and does everything that a 4* spanish hotel should do.

The restaurant is probably the best part not only because the food was excellent (for the price) but also great entertainment. I carried out my own survey in the restaurant and I would say that 60-70% of people in this hotel were FAT and should not have been piling up their plates and should have instead gone to a boot camp. The amount of food I saw being carried around the restaurant before they stuffed their faces was wrong. Then going up for more and leaving half of it on their plates. Although a total waste, this provided me with great entertainment, watching these people balancing as much food as possible on their plates, it was like a game show, remember crackerjack? By putting smaller amounts on the plate would mean they would have to go back for more if they really wanted it and therefore getting more exercise in the process, simple!! it was very obvious why some people were half board or all inclusive.

If you go to this hotel and there is no reason why you shouldn't just watch and you will see, The hotel guests were of various nationalities, but if you want English all round, stay at home.

Tossa is nice as stated in many reviews, but head north and then pick up the coast path its a fantastic walk.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Just returned from staying at the Golden Bahia with my wife and 3 year old for 11 days and overall had a good time at what is a nice hotel. Travelled with Thomson (Rep Sam was very efficient and good to deal with) on an all inclusive.

Most of the reception staff weren't particularly warm and welcoming and managed to forget an early morning call on the day we left, whereas the animation team headed by Christian were brilliant and worked their socks off and were good fun.

There are shows most nights in the Capri bar/theatre, most of which are ok (The Temptations were brilliant), however the view is very bad due to the many pillars with one practically right infront of the stage.

Service overall is a little on the slow side, but not bad. It seemed that a small few didn't understand how to smile especially one barman named Lobsan who was awkward and put out by polite and reasonable requests/orders.

If you are staing all inclusive, be careful what is included as certain things come with a discounted price. In most cases you are asked to sign a chitty. On one occasion we retuened to the hotel from a trip and went to the snack bar to order some food at 3pm (main restaurant closes at 2.30). We ordered a bowl of pasta but were told that we had to pay, however at 4pm it would be free???? Work that one out!

The room was quite nice. A little on the small side with 2 double beds and lacked a few small touches such as tissues and a child proof lock as my 3 year old was able to open the main door and escape!

The food is good with a pretty good range to suit all tastes, however as in all all inclusive hotels you start to get sick of it after a while! Omar cooks great eggs and omelettes. The biggest fault with the restaurant is that there are too many tables packed very closely together and it is sometimes awkward to get in and out with people sitting so close.

The pool is good with plenty of loungers. Unattended towels left in the morning are removed by reception. Hotel towels can be rented from the Spa for a 10Euro deposit and 1Euro to change. BE VERY CAREFUL WALKING AROUND THE POOL IN BARE FEET AS WHEN ITS WET IT IS LETHAL! I couldn't understand why most mornings at 10ish the area was sometimes being washed down. Surely this should have been done late at night or very early to avoid this hazard?Lifeguard on duty all day.

Childrens swings and climbing frame/slide was really all their was for younger children which was disappointing, especially when a lot of space was wasted with a 70's crazy golf. This area could be improved to make a huge improvement.

Tossa is a lovely town and the Golden Bahia looked to be by far the best hotel on offer, although the location is a good 10 min walk from the beach, which is very gritty and has a steep shelf - not great for small children. If you are into going to the beach, maybe Tossa is not the best place to visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view and at the opposite end away from the main bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed 08-06 - 15-06 with my partner and his family. Could not fault the hotel beautiful in and around the area. We were staying on the fifth floor poolside room all inclusive. The resturant was great for meals - the manager of the resturant managed his staff brillantly they were all very polite and happy looking throught out the holiday, during the end of the week we ate out as the meals do become quite repetitive but could not fault the quality. The bar staff throughout the day and night were very well mannered with table service and along with the smile various bars you could sit in and chill out for the evening. The entertainment staff were brillant and the choice of activities they offered around the poolside and the evening entertainment spot on, quite enjoyed the lord of the dance, greece and michael jackson tribute. The pool area is so quiet with the amount of people sunbathing, I could easily fall asleep under the brolley and forget about everything. The town of tossa is so beautiful make sure you take the 'happy train' up to the top of the castle and look at the breathtaking views'. The rep of the hotel was a let down be warned she will try and tell you to go to the only english bar in tossa MICK and JULIES do not listen to this very expensive, rude mannered people go find CHAPLAINS BAR open until 3am with cheap drinks and a very charming barman. Took a trip out to barcelona overpriced soled by rep do please go independently you can get a return ticket from the bus station and spend your leisurely experience of barcelona by yourself.
Overall enjoyed the holiday and would happy to try the chain hotel in a differnt country.

Room Tip: Do not believe everything the Rep says, there is not one english bar in tossa, do try chaplains bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Golden Bahia de Tossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Bahia de Tossa

Address: Avenue Puerto Rico 29, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#7 Romantic Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Golden Bahia de Tossa 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick, Venere and Otel so you can book your Golden Bahia de Tossa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Bahia De Tossa Hotel Tossa De Mar
Golden Bahia De Tossa Mar
Golden Bahia Tossa Hotel
Golden Bahia De Tossa Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Bahia de Tossa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;