We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing but the Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Bahia de Tossa

Save Saved
You added Golden Bahia de Tossa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Golden Bahia de Tossa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Puerto Rico 29, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Wales
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nothing but the Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Just returned from this hotel and had a great time, yes it is about a 10 minute walk from the sea front and there are no sea views but the pool view is very peasant to wake up to in the morning. Weather was perfect all week with no rain till the day we came home so can't grumble at that. Very clean hotel with very friendly staff, rooms cleaned to a high standard. Food is very spanish but you can always find something you can eat, my favourite is breakfast and there is plenty to choose from with champagne every morning which is a plus. There is always plenty of sunbeds and loads of space around you. The pools were a bit chilly so didn't stay in to long, we decided to sunbath on the roof (not in the nudest section) where there are 2 jacuzies which seemed to be a lot warmer and as it is adults only we had no children running around. There are atleast 3 bars but we preferred the Piano bar again adults only. The drinks we found to be not to expensive. The town of Tossa is very spanish with only 1 english bar Mick & Julie it had all the sport channels on and very reasonable priced if you were a repeat guest they charged you less, there is also a good beach bar which did lovely Champagne Sangria great to just sit and look out to sea (wish I was back there). Quite a few shops to look around and a must is to climb up to the castle the views are amazing and walk through the old town up and down the cobbled streets we will definately return one day. All in all a brilliant holiday.

Room Tip: Pick a high floor with pool view you get the sun in the afternoon on the left side of the hotwl.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    326
    116
    29
    11
See reviews for
397
346
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed for a week 4th - 11th June. Hotel feels very spacious and was always clean.
Rooms are very spacious, and the pool area is great will plenty of beds.
One of the best things about this hotel is the staff, they were all truly great and very helpful (especially Mercedes in the bar and restaurant) one of the nicest workers I have ever met.

If you don't go for the all inclusive option, there a many many nice restaurants within 10mins walk of the hotel and are all very good value.

Please take a walk into the new and old town, towards the beech, you will not be disappointed, the restaurants and bars around there are worth it.

The evening entertainment is a bit hit and miss, but they always have something for the kids and stuff to do around the pool.

The food in the hotel is great, a great buffet mix for all, including a very impressive desert trolley.

Room Tip: Try and ask for a pool view room, otherwise the view onto the road is not great and can get a bit no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I really don't understand why people have bad things to say about this hotel. We stayed 4/06/13-11/06/13 and it was amazing! Me (24) fiancé (26)and our son (2). The hotel is beautiful and spotless , room was a decent size with a big double and a single bed. Cleaned everyday.
The staff were lovely and friendly and there was evening entertainment every night, i would Definitely recommend watching the LORD of the DANCE... It was fab! Kids dance 8:30-9pm was my sons favourite time and they did songs and obviously dance!
The pool was freeeezing at first but once your in it wasn't too bad, the ends are shallow which was great for my son,they did have a kids pool too.
Dinner time ; dining hall was fab, we never struggled to get a seat, and there was sooo much food to choose from and it always tasted amazing! We are quite food fussy but not one night were we dissapointed! All freshly cooked and special done infront of you too. (Their jacket potatoes aswell were amazing haha)
It was a 5-10 minute walk really to the beach, but was through the town past the shops so it was a lovely little walk and really didnt feel long or an issue in anyway. It was a very quiet town with many little shops and restaurants. Not really any nightlife to be honest but we went for a quiet one anyway.the only thing I can say I was dissapointed with was the beach I didn't expect it to be as bad as what it was... It wasn't in anyway sand... But more stone/pebbles and dust ... Booo but I should of reviewed that a little more before I went. I would love to stay at this hotel again though =]

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed 16 - 23 May 2013. A nice clean hotel with good facilities but not one to choose for the views. Rooms overlooking the pool would be marginally preferable but not if the supplement is significant. The room was spacious and had plenty of wardrobe and shelf space. One real complaint was that no 'ladies' hangers were provided (or obtainable). (Clothes hangers with notches for hanging garments with loops). The reception did find one 'bent-wire' hanger which they let us have, but this is quite an oversight for a hotel of this standard.
The buffet-style meals were adequate and predictable but would have been a bit boring if we had elected for half board. Children's and evening entertainment was very good and a number of acts were very professional.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We had 12 days at the Golden Bahia de Tossa and it was very good indeed, and excellent value for money. We had half board but had lunch on 2 days because it was convenient and cheap, but there are lots of great places to eat in Tossa so I'm very glad we hadn't gone for full or all inclusive. We travelled with Thomson and their rep there, Sam, is great, you are in very safe hands. Excellent reception staff, unobtrusive maid service (she seemed to know exactly when we were going to breakfast and cleaned while we were downstairs) and good waiting and bar staff. The pool area and kid's area were great, I especially liked that one pool was purely to swim in so it effectively discouraged children ..there was plenty of stuff for them elsewhere but I liked the adults only feel) Sadly the weather was inconsistent so the pools were very cold but there's an indoor one and I was even able to do an aqua class.The quality and variety of food was good, lots of fish, all very fresh. I would have liked more variety of fresh fruits (strawberries, raspberries etc) at breakfast though there was always melon and watermelon, plus apples and oranges. I particularly likes the salads...including beetroot, egg, artichoke, sardines, prawns, smoked salmon, pasta, rice etc etc Once again I was shocked at people's greed as I saw people pile up plates with more smoked salmon or prawns than anyone could eat! Chefs cooked fish or steaks or chicken while you waited. I found breakfast nicest at 7.45/ 8.00 am when the doors opened...at 9 it was very busy and as we went at half term it was noisy and full of children by then. The dining layout was illogical to me... tea and coffee on opposite sides of the room and butter and jam with the fruit, away from the toast and croissants, but my only real niggle was the cheap weak tea bags (I had to use two in a pot and I normally ask for the bag separate in England as I have my tea so weak!)The entertainment was OK, better than most hotels I've stayed in and if you don't fancy it the bar/lounge area is pleasant and there's a piano bar was pleased to find that despite being among a coach load of people from the same Manchester flight, the hotel and the resort were very mixed...lots of French, some Dutch, Italians Germans and Russians.Its about 5 mins walk to the bus station and maybe15 to the seafront but it is flat and you pass nice shops and cafes
Tossa itself is really lovely, not at all brash and full of clubs and high rises like its neighbour Lloret. This hotel is good for families and older couples, but Tossa isn't for teens or clubbers. It has fishing boats pulled up on the beach and the windy streets of the cobbled old town that you just have to love, and if your knees are dicky you can get the little green tourist train up to the top (if you want a loo up there there is only one, in a bar with a sea view). Montserrat monastery is very interesting though rather a long coach journey, and we had a great day out visiting the castle and museum of Salvador Dali. We had been to Barcelona before so didn't go, but my advice there is if you want to go there do a city break..it deserves longer than you have there on a day trip.Altogether, a really, really good break !

Room Tip: Pool facing rooms nicer view but we had a room over the restaurant on the 1st floor and it looked ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

stayed here from 23/30 may with my wife.
we wanted a weeks get away to re charge out batteries and relax.
god did we do that alright !!!!
firstly,must comment on the staff,all dressed immaculate at all times,so nice helpful and polite !!!
shame about the ignorant french that tainted that lol !!!!
food was excellent and catered for all ages and nationality
found to my suprise there was all kinds of people staying, spanish,french,german,russian and even chinese !!!
this may have been due to the beauty of the old town nearby,we visited it a couple of times and would definately recommend it.Beautiful old town with a bay,castle and lots of things to do.
Anyway back to the hotel....spotless,staff always cleaning and the maids cleaned rooms every day without fail.
As it was may the weather was a bit hit and miss but the staff assured me this was a freak month, just our luck !!!
So if you have energetic children if the weather is not the best and you have to come inside there is an indoor heated pool which is not the biggest but was very popular when the rain came.Even in may there was entertainment every night,albeit some was not the best!!!
overall very good hotel,my only negative (which is a personal opinion) is that the other guests were a bit too old for us.
But excellent hotel
staff brilliant
food lovely !!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed here from 18/5/13-25/5/13. Rooms are far better in real life than the pictures we seen before booking on Thomson.They are modern and comfortable overall, with a nice balcony. Our cleaner Valentina was great, she takes real time and care with her work and it shows. We found the rooms too hot, which is quite strange as soon people have complained about this but also others saying they are cold! Suppose everyone has their own opinion with such things. The air conditioning in our room could do with updating as it did not get very cold. The staff are all great overall, especially the bar waiters and reception staff. There is plenty of choice of food in the restaurant and the only time we were disappointed was when the breakfast cereal one morning was stale. Apart from this the food was great. We never felt frog marched to our seats, in fact we found this a nice change from other hotels we have stayed at where you can spend five minutes looking for a seat. The hotel is about ten minutes walk from the beach front, but we found this a nice walk. There are plenty of small shops here and loads of restaurants. We thought it was a shame that more people from our hotel and others did not go out of an evening as the town centre after 9pm was dead. We would recommend the Don Juan bar near the beachfront, drinks are a little expensive but its the only place we found with a good atmosphere and loads of Brits up for a laugh. For anyone thinking of booking the day time tour of Barcelona
with Thomson, then don't it is rubbish. About two thirds of the day is spent travelling and visiting two vantage points over the city which are boring. We never saw the entertainment unfortunately as we were too busy having fun and entertaining ourselves but lets face it entertainment in all hotels is dire now.

Apart from the poor air conditioning and stale cereal I cannot fault this hotel. It always amazes me on Trip Advisor the stick people give some places for the price they paid, what do they want?! We paid £380 each for a week full board (should have been half board but Thomson had an offer on). Even if we would have paid £500-600 each I would still recommend it because to get a top notch hotel where every last little thing is perfect you would have to £800 plus each. Just to note, I am a fussy person and have high standards but if if expect the best of the best then pay for it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Bahia de Tossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Bahia de Tossa

Address: Avenue Puerto Rico 29, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Golden Bahia de Tossa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Golden Bahia de Tossa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Bahia De Tossa Hotel Tossa De Mar
Golden Bahia De Tossa Mar
Golden Bahia Tossa Hotel
Golden Bahia De Tossa Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Bahia de Tossa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.