We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time even better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Bahia de Tossa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Golden Bahia de Tossa to your Saves list
Golden Bahia de Tossa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Puerto Rico 29, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Second time even better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed at the Bahia 2nd to 16th July 2011. The food was excellent and a wide choice to cater for everyone, I think the food was even better than last time we went in 2009.
The pools and surrounding areas are lovely and the cold pools are a welcome break from the heat. The rooms are very nice and we had booked a superior room for our stay (room 262) had a great view with a jacuzzi on the balcony.
Tossa itself is beautiful,charming and very spanish. The old town with its castle is amazing and will never get tired of the wonderful shops,restaurants and scenery.
We went on a Thomsons trip - The Barcelona City Tour which was brilliant and paid alittle extra to go inside the Sagrada Familia - well worth it. The tour takes you round the city on the coach so you get to see a lot of Barcelona,you also go to Gaudi Park,up montjuic with panoramic views over the city and harbour - amazing.Time outside the Sagrada Familia and free time to wonder round the Rambles and other places.
The staff at the Bahia are lovely and are always happy to help you. Thanks to Anka and Florin for remembering us from last time and to Julian in the Sports bar for making our coffees every night.
Would we go back ? DEFINITELY.
the majority of reviews are spot on - go,you will enjoy it and wont want to come home lol.

Room Tip: A pool view is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    357
    125
    32
    11
See reviews for
419
386
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

We staed at the hotel in July 2011. The hotel is cloce to bus station from where you can go to Girona, Lloret or Barcelona. Thereare lots of supermarkets in Tossa, small and big. We bought hamon almost every day. It took us about 15-20 min to go to the beach. You can rent sun beds and sun umbrella, 5 euro each.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

We visited Golden Bahia July 2011. Stayed in room 374-brilliant view of pool and surrounding areas. I emailed beforehand to request a pool view room and was happy to see this had been taken into account-def worth doing. Rooms basic but clean-no fridge!
As a 21 and 22 yr old the atmosphere wasnt ideal-lots based around children and families. We went for a guaranteed sun holiday on a budget and thats what the holiday served so cannot fault. I also cannot comment on the excursions or bus/boat trips as the furthest we went was for a walk to the town!! Plenty of restaurants and bars-as well as souvenir shops! Food at the hotel you CANNOT fault, you would have to be extra fussy to find nothing that suits! No same meal was served twice and the choice was endless.
Sunbeds you do not need to reserve-although the parasols are snapped up quickly!! We didnt sunbathe on the beach as it was stony sand-so i would stick to the pool!Im not sure what extras we were to expect from it being a Thompson Platinum hotel?
Overall we had fabulous weather and good value for money. I never normally write reviews but i wanted people to be able to hear from a young couple as many of the reviews are from families with young children. If that is you then i would highly recommend the trip, and for any couples wanting to chill with no expectations. Would I visit again?
Probably not as i think there are far too many other places to see!!!

Room Tip: Email in advance for a pool view room-they do take notice and there is no noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham Wales
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

We came back on Saturday and had a wonderful time at this hotel. The staff were excellent, the food great with lots of choice and it was in a good position for the bus station.

The one blip(for my sis) was that it was not super relaxing by the pool because of all the organised activities. However, for families it was ideal. I personally enjoyed the water polo etc! But then the splashing cooled us down...

The town was lovely and we really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

We went to Golden Bahia de Tossa in June this year. I haven't been to this area in Spain for nearly 15 years. We had a marvellous time at this hotel. Great food choice, facilities and activities. Infact for me it is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. It was the first time I have ever had papaya in a spanish hotel, which was dunked in the chocolate fountain! The ham and cheese omelete freshly cooked at breakfast was gorgeous.
The rep Wendy was wonderful extremely helpful and knowledgable. Paying perhaps a bit more through Thomsons was worth it for us as the guide 'Frank' also being local and about 30 years experience, his commentary on Catalonia,Barcelona and Montserrat was brilliant and really added to our holiday experience. We also went to Blanes by boat to the botanical gardens which was nice but further down the cost the Los Pinos camping area had really got run down a lot of restaurants closed down and a lot less sand on the beach due to storm etc. Also worth mentioning how great the water features in the indoor pool are , jets, especially if you have any neck/back pain, nearly better than a massage! Tossa very pretty, would like to go back and do some more trips. Weather was dull a few days, v different from 15 years ago, changing climate, so if went again may go nearer end June. Least liked no fridge. Walk bit far to beach when train stopped at night, but only as I have walking difficulty otherwise no problem.

Room Tip: We were at side of hotel rm 454, 4th Floor, quiet no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redbridge
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

We spent 10 nights at the hotel. The hotel is very child friendly. There were a large number when were stayed including babies. The entertainment was average with the room totally unsuited as many of the tables had restricted views. There was one Adult only room that we could escape to, not lots as one of the writers implied. Agree Thompson should make this clear. Tossa is a very pleasant small town. Hilly in parts. Very easy to while away a few hours people watching. Locals were friendly and helpfull. The bus station is a 5 minute walk from the Golden Bahia with buses going to Lloret every half hour, Blanes town and train station, Barcelona and Girona. Very reasonably priced and have air con. All the places I have mentioned are well worth a visit. Lloret has a really good sea musuem. Organised excursions are very expensive. The tourist information office is in the same block as the bus station. The day we arrived was the start of the local Fiesta with various events taking place for about a week. The highlight was the Friday evening firework display.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

We spent 10 days at he Golden Bahia and found the rooms very spacious clean and comfortable the room maids worked very hard and kept the rooms immaculate. I found the ones that spoke English extrememly helpful and even put the air con on for us as we didn't realise it doesn't work with the balcony door open.
There was a variety of food which should suit everyone as there was so much choice. We didn't go hungry and there was plenty of fresh fruit.
The pool are had some quieter spots which we made use of as the hotel did have a lot of families there and their children made good use of the pool.
There appeared to be plenty of day entertainment in the form of archery and water sports. Didn't take part but it was useful for the families there.Plenty to keep the children entertained, mini golf, football, tennis. table tennis .
We didn't go to any of the evening entertainment as it never started until 10 pm and after a busy day sight seeing we were happy to retire.
We did use the bar area for the first few days but didn't find some of the waiters very polite. One proceeded to turn the television over which we were watching on the terrace we were the only ones there and as 4 more people turned up they were content to watch the same English programme that we had on. When he turned it over to a music channel there was no "is it ok" , he was extremely rude. When i asked him why he had done it he said someone had asked for some music to be put on. There was music inside and we were told to move across and to watch another televison. His lack of manners was appalling and this was the only thing that marred our stay there
We found Tossa town was beautiful and it was more pleasant to find a bar on the seafront than to drink in the hotel, the scenery was beautiful and the boat trips around the bays well worth the money.
I would like to go back again and it felt very safe and the local people very friendly..

Room Tip: e spent 10 days
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Bahia de Tossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Bahia de Tossa

Address: Avenue Puerto Rico 29, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#3 Luxury Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Golden Bahia de Tossa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Golden Bahia de Tossa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Bahia De Tossa Hotel Tossa De Mar
Golden Bahia De Tossa Mar
Golden Bahia Tossa Hotel
Golden Bahia De Tossa Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Bahia de Tossa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.