We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value and quality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Restaurant Maria Angela

Bar Restaurant Maria Angela
Portal 14 | C/ Portal14, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
+34 972 34 35 21
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 118 Restaurants in Tossa de Mar
Price range: $16 - $45
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Tapas, Pizza & Pasta, Creperie
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Value and quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Yup. 13 Euro menu got me spinach with pine nuts and sultanas followed by local botifarra sausages with chips. Lady opposite had cod brandade then cuttlefish with garlic (and a bit too much salt). Crème catala/ice cream concluded our 3 courses. Friendly service too. Recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    9
    4
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent food , excellent value & lovely friendly service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Didn't know where to eat in Tossa last weekend , so we wandered back from the sea front - which always seems to be where the over priced , over rated restaurants are & found "Maria Angela". The girls were super friendly & attentive & the food was excellent. Superficially, "Maria Angela" it might not look as flashy as the restaurants either side of it, but don't let that put you off because the food is extremely good and quality / price ratio is excellent. The goats cheese salad was fantastic - one of the best I've ever had & the gourmet burger was to die for! My wife loved her fish & the children devoured their pasta / ragu and rounded off affairs with a superb crepe.
Lovely family run restaurant - and highly recommended . I just can't understand why a certain Parisian reviewer below would quite so snobby about an establishment that so clearly gives good value for money and service with a smile. Take no notice & simply enjoy your food here where you are in very good hands!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent meal in the walled city. Inexpensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Loved the interior. Great reasonable house wines. Casual yet delicious menu. The catalan spinach was so good --I had to get a second order for carry-out (take-away as the Spansih say. I don't reccommend the white asparagus dish-it was canned but the rest of the meal was wonderful. Would go again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great vegetarian lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Our family of three visited Tossa De Mar on Nov25. We were looking for a restaurant that provided vegetarian options. We found Maria Angela which is very close to the Old city. The three course lunch that was served was excellent. Spain is not generally vegetarian-friendly. But, this place exceeded our expectations. The price was reasonable - Eur12 per person which included a glass of wine, salad, entree and dessert. The service by the owners was very pleasant. They treated us very well.
I would recommend this place for anyone who is looking for tasty and appetizing vegetarian fare in Tossa de Mar.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calatayud, Spain
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“very friendly service and very good abundant food, inexpensive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Angela was a wonderful friendly server, as well as owner-manager. The food was abundant and tasty. Menu of the day was a great deal for the palate as well as the wallet.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bar Restaurant Maria Angela also viewed

Tossa de Mar, Costa Brava
Tossa de Mar, Costa Brava
 
Tossa de Mar, Costa Brava
Tossa de Mar, Costa Brava
 

Been to Bar Restaurant Maria Angela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Restaurant Maria Angela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.