We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tossa Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Tossa Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Tossa Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av de la Palma s/n, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“just ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

On booking the hotel we requested to stay in Tossa center with a balcony when we arrived we were booked into Tossa beach with no balcony when we challenged them they were not interested and were told that they were fully booked. The hotel was very clean and room we had was a good size. The food was good with a reasonable selection. The bar staff were not very good at all they were all miserable and they had a poor attitude , you could expect this from the odd one or two but they were all like this , they seem to be on their guard for any one ordering a drink more than they should or heaven forbid push two tables together. the pool area is too small . the hotel is in a good position for the beach and restaurants / bars. the beach is not great its more like grit than sand and its a nightmare to get in or out the of the sea.

Room Tip: don't expect what you request !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    244
    183
    92
    78
See reviews for
217
304
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Went there with a group of 30+ yr old women for a weekend. We had a late flight and arranged our own transfer from the airport, this was great and the journey took about 40 minutes. Another guest said their coach transfer took 4 hours!
We got to the hotel about midnight and were quickly booked in, the whole hotel was quiet and nothing was open. No where to even get a drink and we were told to be quiet as it is a family hotel.
Very pleased with the rooms, appeared to be recently refurbished with a large balcony and spotless. Went down to breakfast in the morning, ladies note you are not allowed to take beach type bags in the restaurant - you are literally pounced on and they make you leave them unattended near the door! It's the same with every meal, and I found it to be annoying.
The pool area is tiny and doesn't get the sun all day but it's literally a few minutes walk to the beach so we spent the days there.
Everything closes at 11.30, they kick you out of the bar and you can't take drinks from there even if you have them on your tables! Also you are not allowed to move the tables, you can move the chairs so lots of you can sit around a table for four- lots of petty rules that were not really called for as no- one was doing anything to make them have to clamp down.
The all inclusive food is not brilliant - very repetitive so glad we were only there three nights. The cocktails are good though, ask for the "green one" .
So wouldn't return to this hotel myself but liked Tossa de Mar.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor rooms as everyone has to walk passed to get to the pool, bar and restaurant a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

This was our second stay at the Tossa Beach hotel.The first time we stayed our room was lovely and was situated to the right hand side of the reception area.The room was clean and modern and had a slight view of the castle.I did request the second time we stayed to have a similar positioned room but we were given a first floor room to the left of reception which although was really nice room it was very noisy being situated over the entertainment area below.This didn't bother us too much as we were out of our room most of the day and evening,but for anyone with young children this room would have been a nightmare.The hotel is very clean and the staff are very polite and curtious.The food at the hotel is good especially the breakfast.The hotel is in a good position just a five minute walk to the beach.Tossa is a lovely Spanish resort night life is good but if you want all night clubs and stag and hens all over go to LLoret.lovely restaurants and friendly bars we love it here and will certainly return and stay at the tossa beach again.

Room Tip: if you stay at the tossa beach request a room on second or third floor at the right hand side of rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

THIS RESORT IS NOT SUITABLE FOR YOUNGSTERS OR GROUPS WHO WANT TO HAVE FUN. I have just spent four days in this Hotel and arrived back in UK today. We were 3 couples over the age of 40 and 50. Although this Hotel were very clean, as in fresh towels and a wipe over each day - although the bed linen was not changed in the four days we stayed , THE STAFF WERE ABSOLUTELY AWFUL....RUDE , OBNOXIOUS , UNCARING, IMPOLITE , AND INTERROGATING !!!! We arrived two hours later at 11.10 pm than we should have (delayed transfer). The hotel staff refused to provide us with a sandwich or a drink at reception and said they weren't sure what time we would have arrived and they had nothing prepared, but to go to their sister hotel opposite where the bar was still open to have a drink. Being in a group we pushed two small tables together so we could sit close, when a waiter came over and asked us to put them back where they were. We were then told not to over order as they did not want wastage on drinks. The next day we were told by the Hotel Manager that they checked their CCTV and we left 10 minutes after closing time which was 11.30 pm. We could not believe it !!! He showed no interest or sympathy when we told him we had arrived late the previous evening. The four days we stayed , our group felt scrutinized, patronized and victimized. Even the snack bar staff were very obnoxious and gave us dirty looks if we asked for more than one hotdog !!!! On leaving they asked us to wait outside the Hotel with our suitcases and not in reception from fear of us being too loud in conversation, so not to disturb other guests. So at 4am we waited for an hour in a deserted cold street for our transfer (late again). The young bar staff are terrified of chatting with customers, or having an empty glass on a table and the rest of the staff - apart from Pierre who was friendly to us - acted the same. Felt like a scene from Stepford Wives - robotic, unsmiling and obnoxious.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stayed here in June on a short 3 day break with my boyfriend.. This is the cleanest hotel I've ever stayed in, they work so hard and it shows. All the staff are really nice and polite, bar staff, reception and restaurant staff! The food here is brilliant always plenty of choice and always being topped up with fresh, plenty of fruit to choose from to! There's also snacks served all day by the bar, burgers, hot dogs, toasties and chips. I seen someone said before there's no signs saying what food it is but above all dishes there were photos of a chicken, pig etc. We stayed in a room above the bar area which was lovely and spacious and very modern and clean! You could hear the music quite loud in the night but this didn't bother us and it finishes at 11:30 anyway! Only about 200m from the beach, supermarket around the corner Aswell as plenty of bars and places to eat, very central! You can also use the hotel across the road which is part of the same group but we didn't bother! The only thing that id say let's the hotel down is the pool area as it doesn't have any sun there until about 1pm but once it's there it's there all afternoon! Not a problem really as the beach is so close but it's the only flaw if you like the sun! The jacuzzi is lovely to! We'd definitely go back here again we had a fab stay!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We hadn't reviewed the hotel before booking,and reading some wondered what we had let ourselves in for. I don't know what some people expect. When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised to find a modern, exceptionally clean, and very welcoming hotel. Arriving at ten fourty five at night we were offered toasties while we had a drink, before retiring to our very clean and spacious air conditioned room. In the morning we went to breakfast to find to find an exceptional choice of well cooked and well presented food on offer. We were so impressed with the staff on how clean it was all kept, even the restaurant manager did his bit. This carried on at every mealtime, I'm quite a fussy eater, but had no problem at all finding something that satisfied me.Although the pool area is quite small , and you have to chase the sun a bit ,it's fine. They have their rules, bar closes at eleven thirty, but if you want more, go out . All in all ,we have been to a lot of ALL IN hotel's and we think this is one of the best, we will definitely go back.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room (8) you had a bit of sewer smell
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Just spent the week in Tossa which would be our 2nd time visiting. We previously stayed in the hotel before so knew what to expect!

We didn't have the most relaxing week unfortunately as a day into our stay there was an issue with the water pipes outside the hotel which meant the road had to be dug up. This is obviously no fault to the hotel but all we heard all day and evening for a whole week was drilling and banging and more drilling....the water was on and off in the hotel....so you were lucky if the toilet flushed!!

The hotel itself was dead! Only a few people staying so we had all the sun beds we could have wanted. 5 days into our holiday the hotel told us they were shutting up the one side of the hotel as they have two hotels that share the same facilities. We were in the Tossa Centre and they told us we had to move hotel rooms to the other side of the road (Tossa beach) as they only had 3 rooms occupied and there was no point keeping us in there.... I'm not being funny but we were leaving 2 days later and we had no choice but to pack all our stuff up and move across the road to the other hotel!! As the hotel was sooo quiet I would assume that there were lots of rooms to put us in but they had everybody on the same floor, right above the bar and disco area which meant that for our last 2 days we had to listen to the dj playing extremely loud music until 11.30pm to a pretty much empty bar as well as having some uncontrolled children running up and down the corridor and banging doors.

Food...well...we ate in the restaurant twice in the whole week. And that was at lunch time. Yes you could find something to eat but it was the same everyday. You also have so many choices of places to eat in the town that you'll be missing out if you stay in all the time!

Rooms were cleaned everyday but the maids just walk in and don't give you chance to answer the door. My husband was half dressed in the bathroom when the maid came rushing in to clean it!

Overall i defiantly won't stay in that hotel again, as shame as we did really enjoy it last time we stayed there 2 years ago but I would probably do self catering as the all inclusive food wasn't great and the restaurants in the town are amazing!!! Loooovvveeee Tossa itself but not this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Tossa Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tossa Beach Hotel

Address: Av de la Palma s/n, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#7 Luxury Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tossa Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Orbitz and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Tossa Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tossa Beach
Tossa Beach De Mar
Tossa Beach Hotel Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tossa Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.