We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel on the planet.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tossa Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Tossa Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Tossa Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av de la Palma s/n, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Worst Hotel on the planet.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

The only good thing about this hotel is, it is clean. I read the reviews after I booked, massive mistake, and if I can stop one person from going here it will be a fantastic achievement. If you look like you are enjoying yourself at this place it means you have had too much to drink and you will get no more for the rest of the day, even though you have paid for it. The smell as you go down the stairs to the school canteen makes you gag to the point of wanting to vomit. The food is disgusting, deserts were just a coloured mess, under/over cooked meats mostly cold (but they have got a microwave). Snacks, if open, were ham and cheese toasties, cold dogs, sausage burgers and under cooked chips. Want crisps, pay for them, 1.30 euro. All spirits were very much paint stripper, wine terrible.The bar staff are very rude and the management do not care. Complain and you are out. Anyone that has got anything good to say about this Hotel should be locked up in it for six months. Tossa de mar is a lovely town with plenty of places to eat, I would go there again, but not all inclusive. If this review stops at least one person from going to this hell hole of a so called hotel then I will be a very happy man. All the best Eddie.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    236
    174
    89
    75
See reviews for
208
291
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Ok so you may have noticed reviews are very much 50/50 on this place. To make any decisions simple this place is VERY family orientated. The bar shuts at 22:30 on the dot, music is stopped, toilets are locked and boozers are told to go to bed. It's not a party resort or a place for 24hr hard drinking. If this is your scene don't go here. If however, you have young children or like a quiet holiday, this could be for you. Oh and it's full of Germans, Russians, French, Polish etc.....very few Brits. If you like your sausage and chips and "good British looking", again......probably not for you.

As hotels go, its a run of the mill, bog standard, all inclusive. To start with the hotel is spotless, and rooms are basic but clean. Could do with decent beds, I thought I had been trampled by a heard of buffalo by about the 5th night. And the place is very noisy with bangs and footsteps at night (in true Spanish style).

It caters a lot for our European friends so there are a lot of stewed meats......cold meats and cheeses at breakfast and assorted salads. A lot of Brits reviewing have mentioned the raw chicken, having lived in Spain for a while this is actually the dark meat and the way they cook it, but you know how some people are with food. They can't afford to poison people. Overall the food is of a basic quality, and we referred to the "dining room" as the canteen. Think bak to school and you've pretty much got it.

I found the staff very friendly, I chatted and smiled with them and we had a laugh, but they don't tolerate abuse or idiots. The pool is small and when we were there, not heated. There was also a very suspect smelling "hot tub" that was Luke warm.

The location is so central you can reach everything and Tossa De Mar is a fantastic fishing village with great little bars and restaurants to explore.

The only let down for my holiday was the shingle beaches. We have a two year old, so had to buy wet suit shoes to keep up with him, on the one hand you can't dig in the sand and make castles, but on the other it doesn't get everywhere! It didn't bother my son, but annoyed me more! Great sea for snorkelling.

All in all good for a short sun break, wouldn't recommend more than 6 nights tho.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

First of all the hotel is in a great location to the town and beaches which are literally 2minutes walk away. Yes the food was basic and did repeat itself but most all inclusive places are the same now anyway. I would recommend this hotel if you are just goin for a short break like we did. Entertainment was on everynight and in both hotels as Tossa Centre is the sister hotel across the road. People have said the restaurant is like a canteen we'll they are very mistaken it was very clean and just reminded me of restaurant back in the UK.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouves, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Just come back from a 5 night stay at the Tossa beach hotel and I can easily say it wasn't what I expected it to be. To start with the positives, the hotel rooms were spotless, couldn't fault them, cleaned everyday with fresh sheets and new towels! All the reception was clean and so was the pool side which made it more enjoyable to sit there. Also, the hotel is situated in a stunning little town which is a 5 minute walk down the road and a 2 minute walk to the beach! However, that is all the positives I can say about this place. To start with the food is DREADFUL!! The smell when you walk down the stairs to the food hall was enough to put you of going in there altogether! And when you manage to pluck up the courage to walk through the smell, it gets worse. On the first night there was chicken nuggets and they were pink inside!! The potatoes were rock hard. Day two was chicken which was pink on the bone! And for lunch was spaghetti bolognaise which most people love except that one!!! The look of it was enough to put your off!!! I didn't even attempt the pudding as it just looked like mushed up guu in a bowl!! I think the best thing i ate down there was a plumb which was lovely!! After this we then ate out for the rest of the nights and we couldn't bare to step back down them stairs!! Another point is the bar staff are the rudest, most arrogant people I have ever met in my life!! They NEVER smile and it almost like a chore for them to make you a drink!! By the pool side there is a little seating area which is lovely to sit out at night time however, you get kicked out of that at 10.30 at night which then means you have to sit inside and watch/listen to the AWFUL entertainment and look at the miserable staff!! But it doesn't end there. 11.30 the bar closes and the bar staff pretty much kick you out and send you to bed!! The hotel is a clean tidy hotel which is situated in a lovely town however everything that goes on inside the hotel is not enjoyable!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

hello...
I just came back from tosa beach hotel 2 weeks ago and I still ask my self how they got 4 stars , up to my opinion no more then 2...
Staff:all of them are rude and unhelpful,may be thei are not get paid enough or who knows. ..
The hotel luck as hospital and smels a bleach all the time.
Room small and dirty. ...
In one word. ..avoid..

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mike-cheshire-uk
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights at the Tossa Beach hotel and would rate the accommodation as very clean and tidy. The staff were also very friendly, helpful and welcoming.

The food was however Very disappointing and had more of a low end canteen feel. Breakfast was ok however the hotel could use another toaster as the one that they did have, had long queues most of the time.

The pool at the hotel was in the shade for most of the day however we did use the pool at the sister hotel across the road which was much better as it was in full sun from early in the morning.

The hotel caters mainly for Russians and English guests.

My only other criticism of the hotel was the luggage room where anybody could take the key and help themselves to other people's luggage whilst it was being stored. A simple solution would be for a staff member to control the access to the room.

Overall for the cost it was reasonable value.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

would go back time after time beautiful town lovely weather and the hotel was fantastic!!! the hotel is unbelievably clean and staff very quick to help where ever they can the children's entertainers were great our kids loved playing with them I couldn't rate them high enough!! the restaurant staff were fantastic with my messy little boy again great with the kids couldn't rate them high enough for their patience with the children they had a few new shows this year with snakes and reptiles one night and a parrot show a few nights later and a duet with a man and woman singing together they were fantastic especially the woman singer only a couple of negatives some of the evening entertainment isn't overly entertaining the one man band with his keyboard mic and guitar is a bit boring and watch out for the men with the animal shows as they offer pictures with the animals but for 20euros!! and the baggage room was open when I went to go pick up my cases to go home >:( thankfully nothing was taken and the food is great if you like sea food there was a mix of other things to be fair but mostly sea food they're the only bad things I could say about the place over all if you stayed here you wouldn't be disappointed it is a really nice hotel with fantastic staff very friendly

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tossa Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tossa Beach Hotel

Address: Av de la Palma s/n, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tossa Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook and Despegar.com so you can book your Tossa Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tossa Beach
Tossa Beach De Mar
Tossa Beach Hotel Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tossa Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.