We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard All Inc. Hotel best for those on a budget...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tossa Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Tossa Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Tossa Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av de la Palma s/n, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Standard All Inc. Hotel best for those on a budget...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This hotel has excellent staff who are friendly and approchable. They all speak fluent English but, do appreciate an attempt at some Spanish! We stayed here in Sept 2012.

Positives

Polite Staff
Clean Rooms
Balcony big enough for chairs (and a little sea view!!)
Literally 1 minute walk from the beach
Far enought back from the main street for peace & quiet
Large buffet that changed every so often (repetative but, lovely large portions of fish)
Big bar and outside drinking area
Entertainment

Negatives

Plastic tumblers (fine for me but not if you are fussy) they are also small (we just got 2 drinks at once)
Small pool (we didnt mind as we were within a stones through of the beach) we used the pool quite often andalways managed to get a sunbed. It is cold though!
The sun only hits the pool area at certain times
Desserts - ok but there only seemed to be mousse and jelly

All together we had a fantastic experience - the hotel is not suitable for someone who is looking to party but, neither is Tossa de Mar. Tossa is a peaceful resort suitable for those who are looking to relax.

Book if you are on a budget, dont book if you are looking for luxury.

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor - I would not want a room on the grond floor as they were right next to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    239
    176
    89
    76
See reviews for
212
293
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Had a reasonably good weeks holiday in this hotel, position and amenities were good. There was a problem with the the payment machine on reception on our arrival so receptionist brought across another machine from sister hotel across road.I was then asked to put PIN into this second machine which i did,. On receiving my credit card statement they had taken off 2 payments ,one from each hotel for same amount. When i contacted the hotel they were most unhelpful. It took about 6 phone calls at my expense and several to credit card company. I received very unhelpful e mails from the hotel including one which told me to STOP STRESSING ABOUT NOTHING !!!!!!

Im sure they wouldnt think 381 euros was nothing if it was missing out of their wage at the end of the month. They didnt even have decency to put a name to the e mails .

I will avoid this hotel in future.When i finally got a refund it was £24 short and therefore taking into account all the phone calls i made i am still about £30 out of pocket.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Travelled from Cardiff to Barcelona in October with Thomas Cook - what a shambles no rep to greet us and not sure which terminal to be at for travel arrangements to Tossa De Mar.No brownie points for Thomas Cook , flew with Veuling straight to Barcelona. If we had known we would not have chosen this flight as it took 3 hours plus to get to hotel.
Arrived at 3pm Barcelona eventually found a bus on a different terminal to take us to Tossa.Arrived at Tossa at 7.15pm lost a whole day. No brownie points for Thomas Cook ,

Hotel very clean. Restaurant much to be desired if you want to be eating in a cattle market this is a place for you. Do not book all-inclusive.

TOSSA DE MAR is a wonderful, peaceful location and would go back there at a moments notice. People absolutely lovely , shops bars etc.

Room Tip: Choose a different Hotel but Tossa De Mar is a must for relaxation, peaceful, fantastic beach, excep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

the hotel was nice the staff were very helpfull food was good for the price the kids club was brilliant thank you Regina ok was on the ground floor no balcony but hey if u are sad enough to sit there all day get a life!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Felt we would look on the bright side of the mixed reviews we had seen on Trip Advisor as we have never been disappointed before (I am NOT a Troll but if in doubt, please see my previous reviews).
The room was clean, fairly modern & spacious & had a bath (but apparently some others on the ground floor are VERY small ). The window looked out onto an "alley way" at the side of the hotel and a vent from the kitchen immediately below the room but we remained positive, hoping not to spend much time there.
We were directed to lunch immediately on arrival. The dining room reminded me of our hospital canteen: basic and crowded. The food was average Spanish "all inclusive" but the breakfast buffet was always very good: Bacon, 2 types of sausage & eggs, beans, fresh grilled tomato, cheese & continental meats available every day. As usual, the toaster was rubbish, but there was also a good variety of fresh fruit, and this was available at all meals. The waiters & bar staff were welcoming, cheerful & hard working, a credit to the Hotel. If the management were as good, the staff rating here would be "excellent". The drink is plentiful and all inclusive served til 12pm ( too late in my opinion adding to the noise and other problems.

The pool IS disappointing: VERY small and in such a built up area there was only sun for about 3 hours a day and that's if you were able to move to the next sunbeds along.

Our first problem came at bed time our first evening, when after traveling from the early hours, we tried to sleep at 10,30pm. Having put the TV on in an attempt to drown the noise from bar/entertainment room we failed miserably: the noise drowned out the TV! The laminate flooring throughout the hotel adds to the noise problem .
On speaking to the receptionist the following morning we were told we must pay another 20E a night to be moved as we had booked a "budget" room (apparently this is a room without a balcony). This was repeated by the assistant manager when asked. He said he was well aware of the noise problem in this room. Apparently there are "budget rooms" on other floors but they were not available.
So we decided if you "cant beat the noise, join it" and stayed up til the bar closed at midnight.
Getting into bed at 00.20 we were then disturbed by a fracas upstairs. I do not want to distress anyone with details but, a short time later, a man fell to his death from a balcony above us, landing outside our window, We did not get any sleep that night.
On speaking to the assistant manager (the large man who wore a suit) the next morning, my husband was told that due to the distressing event, we would be moved to another room as soon as possible. We packed our bags in preparation.
On asking the young man on reception later in the day when we would be moved, we were told that we could only move if we paid the extra 20Euro a night. That we were just trying to make trouble to get a better room without paying! He said it was not their fault the man had fallen to his death outside our room - THEY had not pushed him off the balcony.
Even more distressed at these remarks we went to speak to the assistant manager again who was walking up and down the middle of the road smoking:He said HE was under stress and would not speak to us again. At this a member of staff told us that the younger man (in his 30s, NOT wearing a suit) on reception, was actually the manager. He clearly did not want guests to know this.
We left the hotel and took a room at a pension paying much more than 20E a night Tossa Beach wanted to move us for B & B, but had our meals at Tossa Beach. The following day we were given another "budget room " on the first floor.
I can honestly say it was the first time I was glad to come home.

SO OVERALL:
The hotel is clean & modern but the room sizes vary greatly, and the pool area is very disappointing. The food is average but plentiful, The bar times, and amounts served, also plentiful, The general staff: bar men, waiters, receptionists and domestics are excellent.
BUT the manager (Alberto) who hides behind the inadequate assistant manager, was TERRIBLE.

We Returned from holiday 21 October 2012.

Room Tip: ALWAYS book a room at Tossa Center or with a balcony & NEVER accept a room on the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Easy Review
Food : Repetative desserts, Main food hot, a good selection and plentiful
Rooms : Small, but have everything you need, except a shelf in the bathroom, if you have a wet room rather than a bathroom.
Cleanliness : I have ocd and am a compulsive cleaner, it was immaculate, the cleaners were cleaning all day and night.
Animation : All i can say is 'Regina' - we miss you !! She is amazing and really takes the time to get to know the children and make their time there fun. She is worth her weight in gold.
Staff ; They do not tolerate abuse or disrespect to their hotel, and rightly so, why should they be spoken to rudely and have their place ruined ! The waiters are all very friendly and take the time to smile, say hello.
Pools : They are small and in the shade as the sun moves, but you can use both pools and one is in the sun in the morning and one in the afternoon, but we were there in October when the sun isn't as high.
The beach is a slight disappointment due to no sand, but tiny pebbles, not very easy to walk on.
A walk through the town and up the old Fort is a complete must, absolutely beautiful.
About 200 yards from the hotel is a park area with equipment for the children to play on to burn some more energy while you relax on a bench in the sun.
We were a family of 5 and this was an amazing holiday, we got a bargain on the price and weren't expecting too much, we were very pleasantly surprised and would definately return.
Thank you for a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: The inner rooms don't have a balcony, so drying your towels is tricky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Words almost fail me. In a nutshell; very, very rude management. Families are not allowed to eat together - crazy but true - tables must stay in their previously dedicated places and any attempt to move them is met with massive hostility. The same with sunbeds - sun moves - sunbeds stays put or management are on to you big style.You can not move, turn or position them in any other way than the way they are laid out! You may book this hotel, as we did only to find you are sleeping in a grotty room across the road in their 'sister hotel - Tossa Center'. You have to leave that hotel and visit the sister for all your meals. If you are a smoker be extra aware - they have 'spies' watching balconies to catch you and then they FINE YOU 300 Euros!
My advice - nice town - book a different hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tossa Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tossa Beach Hotel

Address: Av de la Palma s/n, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#7 Luxury Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tossa Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Tossa Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tossa Beach
Tossa Beach De Mar
Tossa Beach Hotel Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tossa Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.