We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“need a holiday!!!!!!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tossa Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Tossa Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Tossa Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av de la Palma s/n, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“need a holiday!!!!!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

Just returned from Tossa Beach Hotel, now we really need a holiday to relax. We had asked for a room with balcony or sea view, on arrival we were given a room with neither! Returned to reception and asked for a room change, duly obliged, new room with balcony, size? not fit to swing a cat, room for one person only at a time. Meals are normal for a 2-3 star AI, definately not 4 star. As always you'll not go hungry. Snacks are toasties, hot dogs, burgers & chips served at main bar. Staff at main bar are very friendly & helpful, always ready for a laugh & joke. Bar was well stocked, tea & coffee served here from 10am-midnight.Room was very cramped,most have a double+single bed ,small bathroom with hair dryer no other extras .Not much hanging or drawer space for clothes ,the wardrobe is only a single.No towels on hire or loan for the beach. Entertainment consisted of 4 different ORGANISTS,(seriously our church organist has more beat in him, & he's been dead for 10 years, lol) The parrots show & karioke, that was it (thank God for Elvis, you stole the show).We found reception staff very friendly & helpful, cleaners & cleaning not up to much. Swimming pool area can be dangerous not much room for passing the loungers. No life-guard or first-aider on show. There are 44 loungers & 50 chairs, so not much room. Also you don't see the sun at the pool until late afternoon, sun on terrace most of the day. On the Saturday a Spanish wedding party arrived for an over-night stay, to say they took over is an under-statement, they were ringing all the rooms on our floor, annoying a lot of people. must visit the castle & old town & make sure you have your camera, it reminded us a bit of Rhodes town. The beach is only 500mts away, take a towel or sand mat as the beach is mostly shale.All in all not the worst Hotel we have stayed in ,but we wont be returning to this Hotel but maybe to Tossa Del Mar.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    239
    176
    89
    76
See reviews for
212
293
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

stay away from this hotel if you want a relaxed holiday i have never written a review about any hotel we have stayed in but this time i feel that people should be aware of this hotel myself husband son daughterinlaw and two kids stayed here for one week in october the food was terrible always cold and not much variety one family went and complained to the manager about the food and was told if he didnot like it then leave his hotel the family got in touch with there rep and was moved to lloret demar my husband and i was pulled up for smoking in the room also my son and daughter inlaw and told to pay 250 euros to get the room smoke smell free as myself or husband dont even smoke this was totally out of order my son smoked but only out on the terrace we made an appointment with the manager and he said that he was realy sorry that it was a mistake but that didnt help as they had locked my son and family out of there room until the matter was resolved also was told that this had happened the week before we arrived and that two familys had to pay to get back into there rooms because the maid had said it smelled of smoke if you are smoking in your balcony then i am sure the smell may come into the room i think it a way of getting money from you well they certainly made a mistake with me as i could provether was no smoke in our room as we dont even smoke i will never never return to this hotel stay away

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Couple Stayed 1 week
PLUSES
Hotel very clean and new, food surprisingly good. perfectly located for everything. Restaurant workers work so hard and were the friendliest,
NEGATIVES
Staff noisy 'throwing' out sunbeds around the pool at 8 am in the morning.dragging chairs about, even witnessed one of them kicking metal ashtrays along the ground!
Entertainment absolutely dreadful and so loud made my ears bleed!
Bar staff stand offish and were often too occupied cleaning glasses or filling the ice bucket leaving people standing waiting without a word.
SUMMARY
Hotel was excellent value for money and aside from some staff was very nice. bearable for a week no more, location was perfect and Tossa was beautiful would deffo go again but maybe not to the Tossa Beach Hotel

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

For the price we and many of the other guests paid for this hotel I can’t really understand why people moan.

First of all, the hotel itself has recently been refurbished, is immaculate and in an excellent location. You can walk into the centre of Tossa or to the beach in less than 10 minutes. The hotel has a large bar area with snack bar. The snack bar serves fries, hot dogs, hamburgers and tosties. Bar Staff are young and friendly, drinks are very good and they will make cocktails. There is a two glass rule where one person can only take 2 drinks at a time. Unless you’re a lager lout you wouldn’t find this an issue and stops there being huge queues. They do close the veranda outside at 11pm but there are a number of rooms that overlook this area and some clients of the hotel are not exactly quiet.

Entertainment was pretty standard, usual bingos and quizzes with some live music at night. Never found the music in either of the bars loud, during the early evening it was too quiet! There is not a lot for kids at all though so don’t expect them to be entertained. Pool area’s in both the hotels are small, the tossa beach does not get much sun until after midday so many people would use the tossa centre pool then move over around 2pm. Take your kids to the beach anyway, much better!

The room we had was towards the back of the hotel, it was immaculate, was your standard hotel room size, reasonable balcony and a good size bathroom. There is a television which you can operate with the buttons on the side so don’t bother paying the deposit for a remote. It only has 2 English channels but you are in Spain so why people expect a full array of UK channels I just don’t know. There we’re no toiletries in the room apart from hand soap but we had brought our own so no big deal. There is air conditioning which we left on through the day so the room was always cool at night.

The food was very good, came out hot and plenty there. The desserts we’re repetitive but never found the main courses to be. Always meat, fish and vegetarian choices and the pasta salads we’re lovely. Breakfast was your standard continental/english. Don’t expect 5 star standards but still very edible. The restaurant was modern, had a full bar and the wine they had with the meals was actually very good.

Tossa itself is a wonderful, picturesque town with many bars and restaurants. The main beach is excellent but we found a small cove which was always very quiet so pitched up there. The castle and the old town is a must but avoid the bar vila vella which is at the top and overlooks the town, food and service very poor.

We had spoken to some guests who had gripes that they had to move between hotels for bars and food but they are across the road from each other and I preferred the bar in the centre as it had a better atmosphere.

Overall for the money I had paid the hotel is a good 3 star. Don’t go expecting the earth, don’t listen to reviews from people who cannot spell and you’ll have a great time.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

I wouldn't bother with this hotel. It is reasonably cheap but customer service is appalling. We had a large group (pre paid). We had one extra guest for one night and had e mailed the hotel 3 times in Spanish and English to pay for this extra person. They ignored us and when we arrived with an extra guest and tried to sort- treated us lke criminals trying to sneak a person in.

The hotel is clean enough - but pool no good for sunlovers, and if you have booked Tossa Beach you may well end up in Tossa Centre (we all did as did most of the guests we spoke to) - the rooms were very small, poor quality beds and basic. Some of the our double rooms were really single rooms with a double bed crammed in, a single wardrobe, and no floor space.

Food was fine but repetitive (particularly desserts) and most of the staff helpful. The duty manager Pierre was particualry helpful, though completely dominated by the hotel manager who is really very rude and arrogant (possibly little man syndrome). It took him the first 2 days of our stay to believe we had the number of guests we had paid for and made us feel really uncomfortable.

Definitely not four star.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We just returned from a week at Tossa Beach,We found the hotel very clean & the staff all very friendly and helpfull. we found it very hard to get a good nights sleep maybe down to the wooden floors although look nice are not very good when people move bedroom furniture round all night long.The food in the resturant was quite good at lunch time but evening meal was not very tasty and seemed to get worse as the week went on. The last night of our stay we were served potatoe crisps along side rice & fish fingers that did not contain any fish. That being said the hotel is in a good location for the beach and old town which is lovely also we met some very nice friendly people on Howards Way and enjoyed our holiday

Room Tip: Request a top floor room overlooking pool or front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

In my oppinion the Hotel Tossa Beach is not 4 star as you don't even get a bar of soap in the bathroom never mind shower gel or shampoo.You have to sit on the toilet side ways as it is right up to the wash basin. The water though was always hot whatever time you ran a bath or shower.The air conditioning is very low power,as is the fridge and is not worth paying extra for because it was not at all cold.Don't bother paying for the TV remote controll either as you can switch TV on at the side and for what programmes you get it's not worth it. As for the hotel itself,it is spotlessly clean and the food quite good although repetative,there was always plenty of it and refilled often.The desserts,apart from the fresh fruit,were a bit of a let down unless you like jelly,a type of creamy mousse or cold rice pudding,but there is a microwave if you want to warm it.The staff are of mixed nationalities and not over friendly, but will speak to you if you speak first,one of them a Bangladesh boy called "Robin" was very nice,willing to learn new English words and now knows what a "knife" and "fork" is.The entertainment is not up to much with the music in the main bar being far too loud,we went across the road to the Tossa Centre where Julian and Natalia did around an hour each evening of either a music or general knowledge quiz or bingo.You are not allowed to sit outside on the verandah after 11pm, you have to go indoors and the outside light on the balcony of your room is turned off at midnight, infact everything is turned off at midnight.The pool area is not very good as the sun does not get round untill late afternoon and the sun beds are crowded together with hardly room to pass without falling in the pool, which is quite small. We had a 'reasonable' balcony with 2chairs but no table and no view as there were very tall trees right out side.Tossa De Mar is a lovely place and a trip on the boat to the beach at Carla Giverola is a must, if you go to Lorette De Mar,beware of the flower sellers,they will rob you,and watch for pick pockets in Barcelona. As I wouldn't go back again to the Hotel Tossa Beach I could't recommend this hotel at all.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tossa Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tossa Beach Hotel

Address: Av de la Palma s/n, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#7 Luxury Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tossa Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Tossa Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tossa Beach
Tossa Beach De Mar
Tossa Beach Hotel Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tossa Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.