We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three years in a row” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy to your Saves list
MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ctra. Llagostera Km 14, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Haugesund, Norway
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Three years in a row”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Me, my sister and my father have been at this hotel 3 years in a row. The best thing about this hotel is the staff and all the people and friends you make. That is the number 1 reason why we return :)
There is always something to do and you don't need to leave the hotel. You relax, swim, get tanned at daytime, or play football and tennis. If you get bored the entertainers arrange different games. In the evenings there are shows, you can just relax in the bar, or hang around with friends. If you get tired of the place, you can go to the beach in downtown. Tossa is a nice and small city, however not so good shopping. Mostly there are souvenirs, jewellery, funny t-shirts, ice cream and pizzerias. There are some clothing stores, like Lacoste and Burberry, and cheaper shops like Only. For shopping you should go to Girona or Barcelona.
We stayed there for 2 weeks in July 2011 and only left the hotel once. We had all inclusive, and the food was as the other people say, not first class. However, it is good enough, they serve pasta, meat, fruits, ice cream etc. The alcoholic drinks are good, and the bartenders are really nice!
This hotel is a really good 2 star, we'll probably go back. The best thing about the hotel is the other guests and the staff. Some guests are rude, some are really nice, and you'll always make good friends.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    156
    72
    22
    33
See reviews for
290
54
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Went to the San Eloy in September this year, we got a great deal and paid £400 per person for all inclusive - ten days. When we arrived we got a very speedy check in, and the first room we were allocated was one right near the enterance, the apartment itself was of a comfatable size - really couldnt fault it. On the third day we have a slight problem with the room but thanks to the great staff we got moved to another larger room on the oppersite side of the complex. The food was okay, not loads of choice but good for what you pay for. The entertainment was great! kids entertainment till 9 every night, always loads going on through the day aswell, and adults entertainment at night which again was very good. The staff are ever-so friendly and really made you feel very welcome, a lot of the entertainers/barstaff where french/german/spanish so their english wasnt overally great but they really tried to make you feel at home. Tossa Der Mar is the most perfect place ever to go - its set in time but its beautiful, the hotel offers a free bus every hour to tossa, definately worth a visit or two! (Also visit Antonia's bar, just two seconds from the bus stop in Tosssa) really nice!!!!!! All in all, I would return as I really enjoyed this hotel, and the atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

The hotel san eloy has been previously quoted in other reviews on here as an old style butlins camp, personally I would say a poor mans butlins with an expensive view. On arriving we were amazed at how nice it looked (from the outside). Once we got to the outdoor reception we soon realised it was not going to be such a great holiday. We were giving our keys and told what number our apartment was, no offer to show us, we had to venture off to find ourself, the first woman we spoke to was very unhelpful and rather cheeky. We enquired about upgrading to All Inclusive as we were self catering and were told we would have to pay £39 per adult per day, and £15 per child, and this was a 14 day holiday which would have cost us over £2500 for 4 adults and 2 children. So that was our first shock. Next was the apartment, number 124, right next to the entrance, it was tiny, nothing like the pictures online, which have been edited to make everything look bigger than it was. The apartment has cracked walls, no air con, and infestations of ants. On our first night we had a power cut which was caused by a faulty cooker, on some appliances in the apartment there were bare live wires which never got fixed. We then ventured around the complex and were met by cracked paving slabs next to the pool areas, which cut our childrens feet, an onsite supermarket, which resembled a corner shop here in the UK, but with extremely expensive goods, over 150% more expensive than the goods from the supermarkets in Tossa town.
We tried to put things to the back of our head, but we couldnt, it was a holiday we had looked forward to for so long, and the things we were beginning to see about the complex really put us off. We aint in the apartment a few nights, and then spent most of the time eating out in Tossa De Mar, by getting into town you were either greeted by a friendly bus service and driver, couldnt fault this guy, he didnt speak english, but still in a way was very friendly if that makes sense, he even stopped in the middle of the road to give us a lift with shopping when we were nowhere near the bus stop, we often tipped this driver. The bus was 1 Euro for adults, and 50cents for children, and free if you were all inclusive. The bus was on every hour, and picked you up outside the Rivierra Nightclub in Tossa De Mar at 5 minutes past the hour. Which would have been much easier if it was every half hour, the other way was walking, along the main road, and down a cycle track which takes you through the woodland area and into the rear of the complex where you would wait for the bus. This walk would take you about 30-45 minutes depending on your walking speeds and the heat, it fairly drains you walking it in the heat.
I do reccommend you visit the Tossa De Mar town, it is beautiful, the castle is amazing, although when you get to the top of the castle there is a bar for cold drinks etc which is great on a very warm day but be prepared to pay almost 9 euros for 3 cans of coca cola.
The beach and other parts of the town are beautiful, although the sand is very rough and hurts your feet to walk on it, and if you wear goggles, or a mask and snorkle the fish you see swimming beside you is amazing. Tossa de Mar is a town that makes alot of revenue from tourism, the expensive prices show this, you very seldom see any locals out and about, its all holiday makers, not once did we see a group of youths loitering or anything like that. We did not even see any traffic lights which was surprising at the amount of traffic, it was all zebra crossings, and every single driver stopped to let you across. The town is just beautiful, and also has a kebab shop that sells the worlds most delicious donner kebabs, for this alone, we would return to Tossa de Mar ha ha.
Back to San Eloy....... The rooms were small but easy enough for a short holiday, there was no air conditioning, but you could hire a fan from the reception which cost about 50 euros per WEEK, including a 15 euro deposit. Our flat had an infestation of ants that ate some of our shopping and it had to be binned, not a good sign when your having to travel into Tossa, and then get a taxi back to the complex, the taxis cost in excess of between 9-12 euros depending on the time of day, the starting fare in the taxi meters was 7.60, which was rather steep considering your in the taxi for about 90 seconds. We alerted the reception about this and had a handyman come out and spray the cupboards, that was it, they still returned....
We had been staying there for about 5 days and had to request a change of towels, bedding etc so went to the reception and was told this should have been done every 2 days. After which we were bombarded with towels and clean sheets almost every day.
The entertainment for young kids was great, the team really strived to make the kids happy, and after a while made me feel obligated to get up and dance with them, videos of which will be going on youtube and making me the laughing stock of my friends ha ha, all in good fun though. There was a young blonde haired girl who worked on the site who was up first thing in the morning to play games with the kids, and there until last thing at night to dance with the kids after the night time entertainment was finished. It was really the entertainment team that fulfilled our holiday. The drinks at the bar were less desireable, with the glasses being filled 3/4 of the way with vodka, and about 10ml of coca cola, making it undrinkable, it was like this with all the drinks, it was also 3 euros for a small plastic cup of cheap fanta for the kids, and around 4 euros for a pint of san miguel. If you are going here please go all inclusive if you plan on having a few beers. The snacks available from the bar were burnt toasties, and uncooked chips, or re-cooked chips, for about 3 euros.
The pool onsite was smaller than in the pictures, still a good size, but smaller than the online images make it look, at times the water was excruciatingly freezing, and other times was bareable, the bottom of the pool could be doing with a painting though, as there were alot of cracks at your feet. The pool was fine for kids at the shallow end and the deep end was really deep, with me being 6ft 4, i struggled to touch the bottom, it must've been around 12ft deep. This was really the only attraction for kids, when the entrtainment team were not playing with them, the swing park onsite is for toddlers, there is a home made crazy golf game with about 4 holes, which cost around 5 euros to play EACH, there was a table tennis table outside our apartment which was a 5 euro deposit for the bats and ball, and about 3 euros to play, the tennis courts were 10 euros deposit for equipment and 10 euros per hour to play, bare in mind that you can pick up 2 tennis rackets, 4 tennis balls, 2 table tennis paddles and 4 ping pong balls in town all for under a tenner. They must be making a killing at this complex, which is apparently a low budget holiday complex. With us being there for 2 weeks we seen alot of people coming and going, alot of whim had kids in prams, buggies etc, and they were all being put on the top floor, this was totally out of order and this meant they had to carry kids and prams down very steep narrow stairs, and when they requested another room, they were met by a 70 euro charge for this. The management at the Hotel San Eloy obviously aren't stupid when it comes to making money off of holiday makers. Now I know this is a 2 star complex, and low budget but with the things we seen and experienced we were shocked at the cheek they had to charge the prices they charged, we have stayed in 5* hotels and complexes worldwide that have been cheaper than this place.
On our last 2 nights we decided to sample the food on site, we paid £10 per adult, and £6 per child, we got up to the buffet style restaurant, and were met by what looked like a delicious feast. We really enjoyed our food, the staff were even tucking in and having their dinner too. Always a good sign if you see the staff enjoying it. Although the restaurant closes about 9.30pm, we were shocked to see that we were the only people left and they were still putting out fresh food. We assumed there must have been alot of waste if there was nobody left to eat it. How wrong were we? Because on the second night of eating there we were shocked to see the same food had been recooked, and put back out for us, with a few new things added in, which resulted in all of us fighting over the bathroom for the rest of the night. Not a very good way to have your guests enjoy a holiday.
There were more negatives from this holiday than positives...... The kids loved it, and made some lifetime friends, would I return? Only for the sake of the kids to be honest, but there are 4 star hotels nearer the town centre that cost less than this complex, so I am unsure.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

just back from hotel san eloy, i went self catering and the appartments were clean and towels were changed a lot and sheets chaned regular, the cleaners were very good as well. when we arrived i asked how much it would be to upgrade to all inclusive and they were asking for 39 euro per night per person , whih i thought was a bit expensive , you can but your breakfast lunch and dinner at a cost, breakfast six euro, lunch 8 euro and dinner 10 euro. i did buy dinner once just to see what food was like and all iu can say is thank god i didnt go all inclusive. there was plenty to choose from but the so called hot food was cold and dried up and a bit tasteless. on a plus note the entertainment team are good and keep kids busy with plenty of activities during the day, the complex is always cleaned around pools etc and kept tidy . if you want to use phone in room they ask for a ten euro deposit , they also ask for a five euro deposit for table tennis bats and 2 euro to play and its dearer if u want to play normal tennis and there so called crazy golf. The complex is a good 35 min walk from tossa de mar , the hotel do run a free bus if you are all inclusive and they charge other boards a euro from hotel into the town once every hour on the hour apart from 2pm and last bus from town to hotel is 9pm. all in all would i return i dont think so . i would go to tossa de mar again but not hotel san eloy.. also the hotel reception always put familys with child buggies on the top landings so if they asked for a ground floor flat they would ask for 70 euro just to change appt. i think this was done deliberate so the hotel could try and get more money, they also did not have any safety gates at top of the stairs. this hotel could do with a total refurb and brought upto date

Room Tip: make sure u ask for groud appt and not near entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wokingham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

We stayed there for 10 days with two children aged 12 in late August/early Sept. The rooms were okay, but exstremely hot at night and no aircon. Food not very good at all.Entertainment was average but did not start until 10pm a bit too late. There is free bus to Tossa which ran 8.45 to 21.00, and a short break between 13.00 and 15.00, it could have done with running until 10 pm to give you more of an evening in the town, which was really good, loads of shops and restaurants if you want to eat out. Hotel staff were really nice and any problems in the room however small were quickly rectified. I personally would not go again, but most of the people we spoke to had been before or were happy with it. Again it is only a two star rating so dont expect too much.

Room Tip: go for ground floor suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burslem
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

it was a excellent first holiday abroad, we went all inclusive was very good, the only down side i would say was the food was always cold there was alot to choose from tho, when you buy a cocktail they put more alcohol in thn then juice gave me bad head in morning lol, enterniment was not too bad for a two star hotel, the staff were very friendly, roooms where standard for a two star, would of liked air con in room tho, the bus is every hour would prefered every half hour as not much do in tossa and i fount it expensive to shop around lorent nice place to go look round, beware of the sale staff!!would recommed this hotel for familys. overall very good experience would go again maybe

Room Tip: doesnt make much difference where u are depends which kind of ppl are on there hols e.g. teenages, y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Arrived late at the hotel to a speedy checkin!!! Bars staff very good always remembered our drinks order!! Food always was good always hot and a good selection!!! Entertainment was good and the kids loved the mini disco!! The San Eloy is a very friendly and relaxed hotel, and we will go back next year!!! Tossa is a lovely town and there is a free bus every hour into town, but if you fancy a stroll in it only take 20 mins and it's a easy walk!!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy

Address: Ctra. Llagostera Km 14, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy 2*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel San Eloy Hotel Tossa De Mar
MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MedPlaya Hotel San Eloy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.