We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well priced, but wouldn't stay again” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hermes

Save Saved
You added Hotel Hermes to your Saves list
Hotel Hermes
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Hermes
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Ferran Agullo 6 | Esq. San Vicente 5, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 43 hotels in Tossa de Mar
Selsey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Well priced, but wouldn't stay again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I stayed at the Hermes for the first time with a friend,

The hotel was very well priced for two single rooms.

The rooms themselves were very small, but I knew that from the photos.

I suspect even after seeing the size In the photos and the reality was that things were tighter than I had realised.

The bathroom was very small, and very difficult to use the sink, as the toilet was right in front , so shaving and brushing teeth was very difficult.

The shower was small, but very good water pressure and constant hot water.

The room itself was very clean, and a nice small balcony with two chairs, but my friends room was not that clean, and had sand and hairs over the floor.

The television never worked, I reported this but nothing was actually done about it.

The air conditioner was very effective.

There is no soap supplied, so remember to bring your own !

The Lady who runs the Hotel was very friendly and welcoming.

Breakfast was not included and costs €5 for a Buffett breakfast, even though there was a selection of meats, cheese and bread, I personally found it not very pleasant at all, the coffee was nasty, and the orange juice very watered down, and if you wanted breakfast you had to let the hotel know by 4:00 pm the previous day, for the rest of our stay we had breakfast at Bar Panos which was €5.25 for a delicious Cooked breakfast, which included 2 slices of toast, nice coffee and ice cool orange juice.

The hotel had a nice bar with beer at $1 a bottle.

I found charging deposits in each TV remote control and Air conditioner control of €5 each, made us feel like potential thieves, something I have never come across before.

On the whole it was very Friendly there, and cheap, and some plus points ,but would I stay again, possibly not.

Room Tip: Avoid the very small single rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    15
    11
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
14
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minsk, Belarus
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Locationgood, beach, eating places, shopping very close, bus staion just a block away.

My room was quiet, though for those overlooking the street it can be a bit noisy.

The personnel is very helpful, warm, like family.

All services are timely and good quality.
nice roof-pool and jacuzzi, nice swimming pool in the basement.

My room was tiny, but the bathroom was almost imperial.And there was place for everything.

Room Tip: Look for rooms over the side street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a family holiday 7 adults and baby Oscar 10 months old we the family adopted. we have visiting Tossa de mar for the past 5 years. We called in for drinks over the past 4 years and decided to stay here as it is small family run welcoming hotel. We had 4 rooms all different sizes. Main plus for this hotel is air conditioning in rooms which we think is a most in July as it was 35 degrees and don't normally get in a one star hotel. Rooms very basic but clean and better than some 3 stars we have stayed in. We were made welcome from the moment we arrived and treat like family. There is a jazzuci on the room terrace which we used daily and a small indoor pool in the basement. We are planning to visit next year.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Hermes is great value for Tossa, handy for bus station yet not too noisy, handy for big supermarket and for the street market on a thursday. Pretty typical style for a hotel of this price in Spain. I was upgraded becaue the hotel was not full, which was kind of them. Free wifi in reception and in first floor rooms. Nice roof terrace. Francesca is very helpful. The terrace bar is pleasant for people-watching and the drinks are cheap! yes, the deposit for the TV remote is "unusual", as is there being no soap or shampoo at all in the bathrooms, but these are small things. And it is unusual and lucky to have a jacuzzi or pool in a hotel of this budget so please ignore the people who complain about them! Visit beautiful Tossa and stay at Hermes - enjoy!

Room Tip: first floor along the long side of the building - then you get balcony and free wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The photos and reviews are misleading, especially as regards the basement pool. It is not a swimming pool, it's too small: you can only do 4 strokes, and, worse, it's cold. And the jaccuzzi apparently only operates in high season and even then you have to pay for it (and I'd be surprised if it was heated). Cheapness is this hotel's only asset - don't be fooled by the reviews. Our room was miserable and damp, they don't heat the rooms when they're unoccupied and even then you can't keep the heating on while you're out as you can't detatch the heating/airconditioning key from the room keys and you can't close the room door if you don't take them with you, as the door locks automatically. The same no doubt applies to the air conditioning. They've thought of everything. If a cheap room is all you want, it's fine, and maybe in high season it's ok, but I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This hotel has a good price, to compare with the others in Tossa de Mar. Hotels location is really convenient and the receptionist is polite and helpfull. There is car parking in front of the hotel which is paid. The view from the windows is not astonishing, but for such a price it is good. There is a jakuzzi on the roof of the hotel with few sunbathing chairs. You can see castle from here and the see. But the building and furniture is not a brand new. All the furnishing and style is from 90's.
We booked 4 person room. It was clean and had a balcony. But in review it was written there isgoing to be a double bed and two beds for one person. We found four beds, three of which were one size, and the third was small one, not very comfortable. Also, there was a good air conditioner.
The biggest disapointment is breakfast: it was the wors breakfast I have ever had. There was nothing to choose from and all food was not tasty. I suggest not to take a breakfast here, beter find another place or make them by Yourself.
To sum up, I think this hotel is good for tourists who just needs a bed to sleep, if You need something more superior, it is not for You. Location is good. Next time, if I;ll come here just for a couple of days passing Tossa de Mar, I will stay here. But if I'll stay in Tossa de Mar for a longer vocation, I would prefer a much more comfort, then Hermes can give.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

As a solo traveler I’ve chosen Hotel Hermes, because accommodations in Tossa are expensive and this was best option that I could find for my budget.

It was an individual room with a private bathroom, and the rate was 34€/night, and it didn’t include breakfast (4€/day).

The hotel has a café near the reception.

They will charge the first night in your credit card when you book (you have to send an email) and then when you have to pay the rest when you do the check in.

After check in, you will be given a set of keys: one to your bedroom and another one that opens the door of the hotel at night, and in this way you can enter/leave the hotel 24h/day.

Pros
-Great location for those coming by bus (2 min). You just have to walk the street ahead of you, and there is even a sign to Hotel Hermes. Tossa is very small, so you can’t lose in it, chose a street and follow down to the beach in 5 minutes.

- The room was comfortable, clean and quiet; I wasn’t disturbed by noise of traffic on the street or by other guests in the hotel. There is a lift.

-The lady in the reception speaks English very well.

Cons

-The room especially, the bathroom needs an upgrade because the shower had some leaks nothing too much, but it should be fixed and renovated. There was always hot water in the shower. There wasn´t hairdryer, shampoo or soap.
-Deposit for the TV control, aircon and the key of the safe. Its 10 euros deposit per item, when you return the item, they will return de euros. Although I didn’t use any of these items, I don’t think that this politics is correct. It seems that the guest is always trying to steal something. Who the hell would steal the tv remote!? I don’t think that this is common thing, because then all the hotels would have this politics!

- Again the strict politics, as you can see in the picture, in the lift there is a warning that bags aren’t allowed in the breakfast area!
-
Although this wasn’t an issue for me, in the website is mentioned that all the rooms have balcony, but that isn’t true. At least mine didn’t (see picture)!

-The Jacuzzi on the top floor, only works 30 min per day. Although I didn’t used it ( I prefer the beach), I think that is little time!

In nutshell

So, in a nutshell, if you are travelling alone, and just need the room to rest and take a bath, and with low cost price (at least for Tossa), this is a good option!

Tip in Tossa

Go to the castle, stroll and see it and follow the sign to the miradouro (see picture).There is a pathway that goes to 3 miradouros who gave amazing views on the coast, the lighthouse and the sea! (This was the highlight for me!)

At night stroll through the village and castle!

During the day (and why not at night, it was hot anyway) chose as beach, take a swim and look to the ocean!

You can do scuba diving, because the water is so clear and calm . Terrific for families and for those searching some rest.

There is also the possibility to do a boat ride but at 20€/trip, it was out of my budget!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hermes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hermes

Address: Avenida Ferran Agullo 6 | Esq. San Vicente 5, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 43 hotels in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Hermes 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Hermes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hermes Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hermes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.