We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Florida

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Florida to your Saves list
Hotel Florida
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av De La Palma, 12, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Very good hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Very nice, clean and conveniently located hotel, and 50 from from the beach. Our room was spacious, clean, simple and confortable bed if you like hard mattress. The balcony facing to the front of the hotel is great to relax and gave a nice sea view. Parking at the hotel is very convenient.
The staff is friendly and professional. Esther and Mercé are very helpful.

Seems the hotel was renovated not long time a go. The Jacuzzi on the roof are very convinient as well to relax after a long day walking. I strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    27
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
43
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seaview, Washington
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is the best. The people at reception are friendly and go out of their way to help you. They speak 5 languages. The hotel is a block from the beach, it is a clean and spacious accommodation. It has parking! A must for this little town. Recommendations: 2nd or 3rd floor facing street with a balcony # 205 or #305. Eat at Castell Dell they will tell you where to go at reception, also for tapas La Luna right up the street from Castell Dell. Both of these places are off the main track and private and charming. Food is great! Only one little thing, I don't know when hotels started giving you little tiny packets with body gel and shampoo..come on bring back the little bottles of shampoo, hand lotion, and body soap!!!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My friend and I stayed 8 nights at Florida in june 2014. During many years of travelling - I have never found a hotel as great as Florida. The interior is beautiful, roooms and everything is very very clean - and the whole staff is fantastic. They meet you with a kindness and special interest in you. I have never experienced such helpfullness and kindness in any hotel. They are simply wonderful - big thank you to Mercé and the rest of the staff. Worth mentioning is that the breakfast is wonderful - everything about Hotel Florida is top service. Thank you. Hope to get back some day. And the town of Tossa de Mar: Simply beautiful.

Room Tip: Ask for room in front of hotel. Sun most of the day - and view to the old town - Vila Vella. But pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We booked 3 nights here at the last minute and were really pleased. Room was quite basic, but spotless and very comfortable. There was also a fridge which was very handy and a shop opposite. The jaccuzis on the roof were nice and there is a lovely view towards the old town. The beaches are a just a few minutes away. The staff were very friendly and made arrangements for us to have breakfast early the day we left. Would definately return.

Room Tip: Rooms on 3rd floor probably a bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Good clean accommodation but rooms are somewhat basic.
View for our room was over parking lot so we had little use for the great balcony. Location is excellent for town and beach
Free breakfast was great value for money and staff were very friendly and helpful all the time.
If you're not looking for a really fancy place but simple value for money, this is it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Unfortunately we only had two days to spend at Tossa de Mar and chose the Hotel Florida for our accommodation. A key reason for doing so was being able to park our hired car on site. We were most pleasantly surprised by the Florida and its staff. Our room had a view of the bay and the ancient Roman battlements that remain in excellent condition on a cliff top at the end of the bay. The room was very quiet and comfortable with doors opening onto our own balcony which we enjoyed sitting on late at night taking in the lovely night scenery. The staff were so helpful and I would make special mention of Merce who could not do enough to ensure the enjoyment of our stay. Parking and a reasonable breakfast were included in the hotel tariff.

Room Tip: Simply ask for a room facing the bay on one of the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed in the Florida for the second time for four nights last week. The hotel has been very tastefully updated since our last visit. We had a lovely bedroom with a balcony and the hotel ambience is very charming with delightful hosts. Would highly recommend the Florida if you are visiting the jewel that is Tossa de Mar.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florida

Address: Av De La Palma, 12, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Florida 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Florida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Florida Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Florida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.