We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Florida

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Florida to your Saves list
Hotel Florida
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av De La Palma, 12, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Certificate of Excellence
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We booked 3 nights here at the last minute and were really pleased. Room was quite basic, but spotless and very comfortable. There was also a fridge which was very handy and a shop opposite. The jaccuzis on the roof were nice and there is a lovely view towards the old town. The beaches are a just a few minutes away. The staff were very friendly and made arrangements for us to have breakfast early the day we left. Would definately return.

Room Tip: Rooms on 3rd floor probably a bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmonkey000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Good clean accommodation but rooms are somewhat basic.
View for our room was over parking lot so we had little use for the great balcony. Location is excellent for town and beach
Free breakfast was great value for money and staff were very friendly and helpful all the time.
If you're not looking for a really fancy place but simple value for money, this is it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Quailsroost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Unfortunately we only had two days to spend at Tossa de Mar and chose the Hotel Florida for our accommodation. A key reason for doing so was being able to park our hired car on site. We were most pleasantly surprised by the Florida and its staff. Our room had a view of the bay and the ancient Roman battlements that remain in excellent condition on a cliff top at the end of the bay. The room was very quiet and comfortable with doors opening onto our own balcony which we enjoyed sitting on late at night taking in the lovely night scenery. The staff were so helpful and I would make special mention of Merce who could not do enough to ensure the enjoyment of our stay. Parking and a reasonable breakfast were included in the hotel tariff.

Room Tip: Simply ask for a room facing the bay on one of the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MelandHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed in the Florida for the second time for four nights last week. The hotel has been very tastefully updated since our last visit. We had a lovely bedroom with a balcony and the hotel ambience is very charming with delightful hosts. Would highly recommend the Florida if you are visiting the jewel that is Tossa de Mar.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is a conveniently located hotel, being just minutes from the beach. Our room was spacious and well furnished, although my wife thought that the mattress was hard. We had a balcony facing to the front of the hotel which gave a nice sea view. Parking is a problem however; the hotel have limited parking on a first come first served basis but at a cost of €15 per day. This appears to be common in Tossa de Mar which has a congested town centre with narrow streets. The hotel staff advised us where to find parking for a more modest fee of €7 per day.

One advantage of staying in the hotel is that there is an excellent supermarket / deli across the street which provides delicious sandwiches, made to order, for unbelievably low prices - just the thing for a day on the beach.

The service at this hotel was uniformly friendly and helpful, with a genuine warmth displayed by all staff. Breakfast was included in the price and was excellent. All in all I would certainly recommend this hotel for a reasonably priced stay in Tossa de Mar.

Room Tip: Nice view from the rooms at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebdubel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed at Tossa de Mar for five days in June and enjoyed it immensely. We were well looked after by the staff/owners of the Florida Hotel. It started by being met off the plane by a lovely taxi driver arranged by Merce at the hotel, our room was nicely decorated, immaculate and spacious,
then we were given advise on dining in the town by the owner and loaned a couple of beach towels for our swimming. It was a great start to our holiday and we thoroughly enjoyed the rest of our stay in Tossa as well. The beach (two blocks away from the hotel) exceeded expectations and we swam daily before breakfast - such a good start to the day. Breakfast by the way was very good.
Loved everything about Tossa, the town, the beach, the friendly people, and the food. Do hope we will get back some time.
Thank you Merce for all the help including the Catalan language advise - it was all great fun.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbbyMarlborough_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Our visit to Hotel Florida was great. The location was good with a short walk to the beach, the castle and the city. The room was good with a balcony and the cleaning was ok. The breakfast, on the other hand, was great. There were different types of sandwiches, cereals, a good salami and different types of fruits.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Emelie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tossa de Mar hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#3 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 stars 525 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#1 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 stars 474 reviews
0.3 mi away
Golden Bahia de Tossa
Golden Bahia de Tossa
#4 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 stars 1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Costa Brava
Hotel Costa Brava
#17 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 stars 309 reviews
0.2 mi away
GHT Hotel Neptuno
GHT Hotel Neptuno
#8 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 stars 322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cap d'Or
Hotel Cap d'Or
#5 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florida

Address: Av De La Palma, 12, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#14 Family Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Florida 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Florida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Florida Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing