We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Florida

Save Saved
You added Hotel Florida to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Florida
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av De La Palma, 12, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 43 hotels in Tossa de Mar
Hertford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We booked 3 nights here at the last minute and were really pleased. Room was quite basic, but spotless and very comfortable. There was also a fridge which was very handy and a shop opposite. The jaccuzis on the roof were nice and there is a lovely view towards the old town. The beaches are a just a few minutes away. The staff were very friendly and made arrangements for us to have breakfast early the day we left. Would definately return.

Room Tip: Rooms on 3rd floor probably a bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    28
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
31
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Good clean accommodation but rooms are somewhat basic.
View for our room was over parking lot so we had little use for the great balcony. Location is excellent for town and beach
Free breakfast was great value for money and staff were very friendly and helpful all the time.
If you're not looking for a really fancy place but simple value for money, this is it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Unfortunately we only had two days to spend at Tossa de Mar and chose the Hotel Florida for our accommodation. A key reason for doing so was being able to park our hired car on site. We were most pleasantly surprised by the Florida and its staff. Our room had a view of the bay and the ancient Roman battlements that remain in excellent condition on a cliff top at the end of the bay. The room was very quiet and comfortable with doors opening onto our own balcony which we enjoyed sitting on late at night taking in the lovely night scenery. The staff were so helpful and I would make special mention of Merce who could not do enough to ensure the enjoyment of our stay. Parking and a reasonable breakfast were included in the hotel tariff.

Room Tip: Simply ask for a room facing the bay on one of the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast, Ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed in the Florida for the second time for four nights last week. The hotel has been very tastefully updated since our last visit. We had a lovely bedroom with a balcony and the hotel ambience is very charming with delightful hosts. Would highly recommend the Florida if you are visiting the jewel that is Tossa de Mar.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is a conveniently located hotel, being just minutes from the beach. Our room was spacious and well furnished, although my wife thought that the mattress was hard. We had a balcony facing to the front of the hotel which gave a nice sea view. Parking is a problem however; the hotel have limited parking on a first come first served basis but at a cost of €15 per day. This appears to be common in Tossa de Mar which has a congested town centre with narrow streets. The hotel staff advised us where to find parking for a more modest fee of €7 per day.

One advantage of staying in the hotel is that there is an excellent supermarket / deli across the street which provides delicious sandwiches, made to order, for unbelievably low prices - just the thing for a day on the beach.

The service at this hotel was uniformly friendly and helpful, with a genuine warmth displayed by all staff. Breakfast was included in the price and was excellent. All in all I would certainly recommend this hotel for a reasonably priced stay in Tossa de Mar.

Room Tip: Nice view from the rooms at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at Tossa de Mar for five days in June and enjoyed it immensely. We were well looked after by the staff/owners of the Florida Hotel. It started by being met off the plane by a lovely taxi driver arranged by Merce at the hotel, our room was nicely decorated, immaculate and spacious,
then we were given advise on dining in the town by the owner and loaned a couple of beach towels for our swimming. It was a great start to our holiday and we thoroughly enjoyed the rest of our stay in Tossa as well. The beach (two blocks away from the hotel) exceeded expectations and we swam daily before breakfast - such a good start to the day. Breakfast by the way was very good.
Loved everything about Tossa, the town, the beach, the friendly people, and the food. Do hope we will get back some time.
Thank you Merce for all the help including the Catalan language advise - it was all great fun.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Our visit to Hotel Florida was great. The location was good with a short walk to the beach, the castle and the city. The room was good with a balcony and the cleaning was ok. The breakfast, on the other hand, was great. There were different types of sandwiches, cereals, a good salami and different types of fruits.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florida

Also Known As:
Hotel Florida Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain
Address: Av De La Palma, 12, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Florida 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Florida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Florida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.