We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Central, Very Comfortable and Very Hospitable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Florida

Save Saved
You added Hotel Florida to your Saves list
Hotel Florida
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Florida
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av De La Palma, 12, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 43 hotels in Tossa de Mar
belfast, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very Central, Very Comfortable and Very Hospitable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed in the Florida for the second time for four nights last week. The hotel has been very tastefully updated since our last visit. We had a lovely bedroom with a balcony and the hotel ambience is very charming with delightful hosts. Would highly recommend the Florida if you are visiting the jewel that is Tossa de Mar.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    26
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
41
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is a conveniently located hotel, being just minutes from the beach. Our room was spacious and well furnished, although my wife thought that the mattress was hard. We had a balcony facing to the front of the hotel which gave a nice sea view. Parking is a problem however; the hotel have limited parking on a first come first served basis but at a cost of €15 per day. This appears to be common in Tossa de Mar which has a congested town centre with narrow streets. The hotel staff advised us where to find parking for a more modest fee of €7 per day.

One advantage of staying in the hotel is that there is an excellent supermarket / deli across the street which provides delicious sandwiches, made to order, for unbelievably low prices - just the thing for a day on the beach.

The service at this hotel was uniformly friendly and helpful, with a genuine warmth displayed by all staff. Breakfast was included in the price and was excellent. All in all I would certainly recommend this hotel for a reasonably priced stay in Tossa de Mar.

Room Tip: Nice view from the rooms at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NZ
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed at Tossa de Mar for five days in June and enjoyed it immensely. We were well looked after by the staff/owners of the Florida Hotel. It started by being met off the plane by a lovely taxi driver arranged by Merce at the hotel, our room was nicely decorated, immaculate and spacious,
then we were given advise on dining in the town by the owner and loaned a couple of beach towels for our swimming. It was a great start to our holiday and we thoroughly enjoyed the rest of our stay in Tossa as well. The beach (two blocks away from the hotel) exceeded expectations and we swam daily before breakfast - such a good start to the day. Breakfast by the way was very good.
Loved everything about Tossa, the town, the beach, the friendly people, and the food. Do hope we will get back some time.
Thank you Merce for all the help including the Catalan language advise - it was all great fun.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Our visit to Hotel Florida was great. The location was good with a short walk to the beach, the castle and the city. The room was good with a balcony and the cleaning was ok. The breakfast, on the other hand, was great. There were different types of sandwiches, cereals, a good salami and different types of fruits.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed in Hotel Florida for one night on June 24, the Festival de Saint Joan - an entire nights worth of fireworks and celebration. We did not know about the festival beforehand, and the staff was very clear at letting us know what to expect. They also had great suggestions about what to do in and around Tossa. Staff was so accommodating that the lady at the front desk offered to give up her own parking spot so we wouldn't have to put our car in the public parking, though thankfully there was a spot open in their private lot in the back of the hotel.
Although there are not great views from the hotel, it is in a perfect location to walk to the beach, medieval area, and town. Our room was older but did have a balcony for us. Breakfast was great! We would definitely stay here again if we ever come back to beautiful Tossa de Mar.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Hotel is well kept and bearkfast is ok. Close to both beach and town centre. But, it's noisy and thus difficult to sleep at night. Noises from neighbours above and next door. Sometimes to 4 am in the morning. Bring earplugs and patience.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We had no worries rebooking our stay again, we last visited 2 years ago. This time we were 7 people booking 4 rooms for various lengths of stay. Five of us arrived in two cars for 6 nights, 2 flew in for 4 nights before going onto Barcelona. This hotel really knows how to make you feel welcome for your stay, rooms very clean, but all the staff look after you and are friendly. Breakfasts very good with loads to choose from,very good fresh coffee from machines. Tossa is very good value because it has kept its prices in check. On a night we had some excellent meals in good class restaurants for as little as 18 euros by picking the menu of the day 3 courses. All of us hope to return again to Tossa and this hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florida

Address: Av De La Palma, 12, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Florida 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Florida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Florida Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Florida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;