We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable break” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Costa Brava

Save Saved
You added Hotel Costa Brava to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Costa Brava
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Verge de Montserrat s/n, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 43 hotels in Tossa de Mar
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Enjoyable break”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Our room on the fourth floor was nice - twin room, with a put-you-up bed/chair and the bathroom was nice with clean towels every day. It was certainly more spacious than our friends' room on the second floor. However, the walls are thin and it was irritating being woken up by the neighbours talking and listening to the TV at the crack of dawn every morning. You can also hear people in the shower etc. The room was kept immaculate throughout our stay.

The pool area was nice however I dont know whether it is the time of year but there is no sun until mid morning / lunchtime. While we were there the pool bar was not open which I think was a real shame.

Food - breakfast was fine - usual buffet selection, but dinner was just awful. I didn't have high expectations in the first place, but we ended up swapping dinner for lunch and it was much more pleasant with a selection of salads rather than lukewarm school dinner type food that was served in the evening. It would be nice if you were given a jug of iced water with your food!

We too noticed that the stairs were never cleaned - i dont mind shabby but dont understand why they were never vacuumed. It was the only part of the hotel that seemed to be dirty. All other areas were very clean - and it was the area that everyone would see!

The hotel was quite well located.. a short walk to the beach and shops and good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHT_H0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Costa Brava, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear guest,
We appreciate any comments made by our guests and constantly work to offer the highest quality service. We will try to improve and maybe in the future we’ll be able to offer you a better stay.
I strongly agree with you regarding the carpet from the stairs. This carpet is vacuumed regularly (daily) but the problem is that it is placed in crossing part of the hotel and absorbs everything. We plan to change it. I apologize for that.
Thanks for your constructive feedback.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    77
    46
    8
    5
See reviews for
67
79
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alingsas, Sweden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

For us, Hotel Costa Brava was our base camp to explore not only Tossa de Mar but also other parts of Costa Brava and the Catalunyan inland. And it offered us everything we needed. The kids loved the pool and started and finished every day there, when it was less crowded. Our balcony (4th floor, recommended) looked down at the pool so we could easily keep an eye on them if we didn't decide to join in. The room for four was not big but enough, and very clean. Staff was friendly, and the little we saw of the evening shows was better than expected (flamenco dancers, a magician, etc.). It's a 5-minute walk to the beach. Close to shops and restaurants, starting with Pano across the street (good food and good service). Breakfast was ok but not great. We parked our rental car 3 blocks away. Overall we were very happy with our choice. No complains and perfect if you are not planning to spend most of you time in the hotel. We never had lunch or dinner at the Hotel, the right thing to do considering all the good places you find in Tossa and if you like variation.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHT_H0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Costa Brava, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear guest,
We are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us, that the service of our team was up to your expectations and that you enjoyed our facilities!
We look forward to your next visit.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The hotel is what you would expect from a 4 star hotel.Friendly and helpful staff,clean and a good location for access to everything .Old town being 3 min walk and the beach the same.Tossa itself is a hidden paradise that any family can enjoy .Loved every minute we were there, and will definitely be back next year.

Room Tip: Anything with a pool view is recommended as the others offer the side street which can be noisy at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHT_H0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Costa Brava, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
We are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us. We will like that you consider coming back soon at Hotel Costa Brava.
Hope to see you soon.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

I was first taken to the Hotel Costa Brava by my Parents in 1973. We have been popping back ever since. I still have fond memories of the old rectangular pool with the diving board, Night Club in the basement. Many of the staff have been there for years, as has the table football! The value is excellent overall in all aspects. The service from the staff, new and old is exceptional. Rooms are comfortable. Tossa De Mar is a gem of a resort situated on the most beautiful Spanish Costa coast by far. The Hotel Costa Brava is well situated in the Town only a few minutes walk from the centre and the beach. many of the newer hotels are situated at the back of the resort due to the planning restrictions on the front and in the main part of the Town which have ensured it has kept its character and charm. The views from the castle are some of the best in Spain and often feature in advertising for the country without any specific reference. Food choice in the hotel is very good considering the half board rates and the restaurant service as in other areas of the hotel, is excellent. My Parents first managed to go to Tossa in 1961 after seeing the film 'Pandora & The Flying Dutchman' in 1959. It starred james Mason & Eva Gardner. Eva has a statue near the castle walls. To celebrate our '40th Anniversary' we visited the Hotel Costa Brava in May, June and we are going back for a few days again in August. I travel extensively for work and have been to many great locations on holiday, but the Hotel Costa Brava and Tossa de Mar will always be high on the 'must go back' list. It has something for all ages and requirements. For example the 'Waterworld' waterpark 25 minutes away has been rated one of the best in Europe. Looking forward to going back again in 3 weeks.

Room Tip: Try to get a pool view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHT_H0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Costa Brava, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear David,
I’m impressed with your comment. What a touching story! It was indeed a pleasure read your kind words regarding Hotel Costa Brava.
Year after year we work hard to offer our clients the best quality and service possible. Thanks for appreciate it.
Thank you again for the courtesy of your time and we all look forward to welcoming you again. Please, contact us if you need something: transfer, special requirements… we will be more than happy to help you.
Don’t hesitate to check our web site to obtain the best promotions.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from our first visit to Tossa de Mar and stayed at the Costa Brava. Have to say that it's one of the best 3 star hotels we've stayed in. I'm a fussy eater but the choice of food meant there was always plenty for me to choose from and plenty of fresh salads and fruit to go with your meal. Our room had a great view overlooking the pool and was spotless and lovely and cool thanks to the air con. Didn't really use the pool facilities but that was more because of the heat rather than the facilities. There were plenty of loungers and you didn't have to worry about finding loads of towels on beds as the hotel sensibly didn't open the pool area until 9.00am each morning. This was our first trip to Tossa and fell in love with the place and this hotel was the icing on the cake. We'll definitely be back!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHT_H0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Costa Brava, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Lorraine,
What a wonderful comment! Thank you very much for taking the time to share it on TripAdvisor.
We are looking forward to your visit, that time we will try to make your future stay even more exceptional. Check our web site, ghthotels, to obtain the best prices and advantages.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Le Willows, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Went to this hotel in June with my mum and daughter. The hotel was fine and I enjoyed the food but they didn't seem to cater much for my 8 year old daughter so we chose to eat out a few times.when you come out of the hotel and turn right there's a bar called the solarium about 100 metres down the road and the landlord Emilio looks after you and spoilt my little girl. The town itself is lovely and the week we was there it rained quite a lot but all in all we had a good holiday.

Room Tip: End rooms at the top floor av a big balcony on two sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHT_H0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Costa Brava, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear James,
Thank you for your comment. We will take into consideration your words in order to improve.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Just back from a week at Tossa de Mar and the Hotel Costa Brava and had a great time. Took my 18 year old and 7 year old and they both enjoyed it too. Spent most of the time by the pool - which is brilliant and all the staff were very friendly and the room kept spotlessly clean. the food was plentiful if not always of the finest quality, but there was always something tasty to eat and loads of fresh fruit, etc. Entertainment was pretty basic, but the girl who led the MiniClub dancing was brilliant and got my 7 year old to take part - which was great. Tossa is beautiful and the holiday was exactly what we all hoped for and needed!

Room Tip: We weren't next to the pool so it was fine. Spanish hotels are often thin walled and this was no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHT_H0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Costa Brava, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Des,
What a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our services and enjoyed your stay with us. We are very much looking forward to your next visit to Hotel Costa Brava.

For future bookings we recommend you to book directly on our web site GHT Hotels to benefit from the best prices and offers. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Costa Brava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Brava

Address: Avenida Verge de Montserrat s/n, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 43 hotels in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Costa Brava 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gorgeous, friendly hotel that is continuously updated. It is ISO 9001 -certified. The Hotel Costa Brava is situated in the famous, quiet and welcoming town of Tossa de Mar, close to the centre and to the beach. The Hotel Costa Brava offers a broad range of amenities for your holiday enjoyment: outdoor pool for adults and children, terrace, kid’s area, small heated indoor pool, fitness suite, hydrotherapy shower, Turkish bath, massage area, round-the-clock reception, lifts, currency Exchange, bar, games room, entertainment programme, TV room, air-conditioned restaurant, kid’s club with a mascot, free WiFi throughout the hotel, garage, medical service and laundry (which carries an extra charge). In the hotel restaurant, meals are buffet-style. We do not accept pets A great hotel for a great holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Costa Brava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Brava Hotel
Hotel Costa Brava Tossa De Mar, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Costa Brava, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.