We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cap d'Or

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Cap d'Or to your Saves list
Hotel Cap d'Or
Passeig Del Mar, 1, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Certificate of Excellence
dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I loved this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I had the opportunity to spend a few days, last minute, in Tossa last year and after all of the great reviews on tripadvisor, I booked Hotel Cap d'Or. I was not disappointed. It really was perfect. Angela and her family and staff are extremely accommodating and their breakfast is great with home made tortilla and a choice of Spanish hams or yoghurts. It is a very sweet, charming hotel with a delightful terrace right in front of the beach and is in a fantastic location in general. Tossa itself has kept its charm and luckily attracts a nice type of visitor, and not a drinking crowd at all. There are mostly couples and families and a lot of Spanish which means that the area is very pleasant to go out in. I stayed in a side facing room, in which you could still see a little of the beach, and it was perfect and had everything you might need. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revisar, Propietario at Hotel Cap d'Or, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you for your review.

We really apreciate your opinion and we are very happy you enjoyed you stay with us.

We hope you will come very soon!

Thank you again.

Family Aragay and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    33
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
19
83
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Over the years Tossa de Mar has retained its authenticity and has not become overdeveloped like so many other places in Spain. This is a lovely family run hotel in a beautiful little town in the heart of Catalunya. We were made to feel so welcome by the wonderful staff and everything about our stay was good. The hotel was clean and very appealing and right on the beach next to the castle. Our bedroom overlooked the beach with an outstanding view and we could walk everywhere from the hotel. Each morning a very good breakfast was served on the beach. The staff was courteous and very helpful. Parking has to be found away from the hotel but the staff provided good advice and information, and it's rather nice to stay in an area without traffic going by. Although on a walkway at the foot of the castle it was surprisingly quiet during our stay (May 2014). The restaurants were good and we enjoyed the local shopping. The Thursday outdoor market is fun and fabulous! We also enjoyed the many scenic trails in the area. I would return here in a heartbeat and would have no hesitation in recommending this accommodation.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the beach are wonderful. Still very quiet at night in May.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revisar, Propietario at Hotel Cap d'Or, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Madam,

thank you for you review.

We are really happy you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and we hope you will come again to Tossa to enjoy the village as you did, very soon.

Thank you again.

Family Aragay and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed for two nights at this lovely boutique hotel right on the beach. We had the only room with a terrace which made it even more perfect. When we arrived, we were greeted warmly by the owner and showed where we could park for free in the town. Besides being practically on the beach, it is at the base of the medieval castle walls, close to restaurants and shops. We had visited Tossa 12 years ago and stayed at one of the larger hotels. This was so much better. The breakfast is served outside and was quite good. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Many of the rooms have sea views. Ours was the only one with a small terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revisar, Propietario at Hotel Cap d'Or, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you for your review.

We really apreciate you choose the hotel Cap d'Or for your vacation and we hope you will come again very soon.

Thank you again.

Family Aragay and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orchard Park, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Uh oh...my wife told me the name of the hotel and it posted itself as a hostel. I'm thinking.....You got to be kidding me

Located right on the beach, our second floor room overlooked the ocean and the nearby castle. Angela and her family run the restaurant and Inn and was so helpful. The food and wine at the restaurant( with seating right next to the each) was terrific and the umbrellas, seating and service was first class. STAY AT THIS PLACE.

So it's 4/5 why? Driving to the location which is snuggled in the old section of the town ....is a challenge ...but very doable. We ended up parking about a 15 minute walk away...leaving our rental in a unguarded lot. But there were no issues. Once you arrive at the hotel, you won't mind having to spend the extra time finding a parking space. It's really lovely.

The room is quaint (small) and comfortable. The price was 87 Euros. So much to do on the each, live music, walk the medieval castle. I will revisit.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revisar, Propietario at Hotel Cap d'Or, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you so much for your enthusiastic review.

Also, we apreciate your review in order, that it can help to someone else to organize the trip to Tossa, especially when you mention the parking place and location.

Thank you again for your stay in the hotel and we hope to see you in the very next future.

Family Aragay and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

one of the most beautiful boutique style hotel in Costa Brava, located just 50 meters from the beach and it is the closest hotel to Villa Vella ancient walls.
Hotel staff are very friendly and helpful.
We had a great time and I'm sure we will book it again if we will come back to Tossa De mar.

Room Tip: try to get the room facing the sea, you wont regret it :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revisar, Propietario at Hotel Cap d'Or, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

thank you for your review.

We are really happy you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you wil visit us again very soon.

Thank you again.

Family Aragay and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett Square, PA USA
Level Contributor
127 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Cap d'Or for the first two nights of our 2 week vacation. The hotel is about a 1.5 hour drive from the airport in Barcelona ~ the perfect drive after an overnight international flight!

Hotel Cap d'Or is a small, family run hotel located at the base of the medieval castle walls ~ an ideal location! Our room had a beautiful view of the beach with a tiny balcony. It was nicely appointed with a small, but efficient bathroom.

Breakfast in the hotel was excellent!!! Freshly baked (and delicious) cakes, breads, meats & cheeses, homemade yogurt and strawberry sauce, fresh fruit, etc. We really loved the breakfast!!!

I believe the hotel is run by 3 women ~ Angela, her sister and mother. We had the pleasure of meeting and receiving excellent information of things to do in and out-of-town and places to eat from Angela and her mother. Both women spoke excellent English. Angela encouraged us to drive to Girona on our second day; we are so glad we did!!!!

The hotel does not have its own parking lot; there is a small pay public parking lot a few hundred feet away. It is my understanding that the public lot fills up during the summer months....

Tossa is a small beach town that is ideally located in the Costa Brava. Hotel Cap d'Or is the perfect place to stay for several days while venturing to other places out of town. I would love to stay here again in the future! :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revisar, Propietario at Hotel Cap d'Or, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you so much for your review.

It's wonderful to know you enjoyed your stay in the hotel and its breakfast.
I'ts also nice to hear you enjoyed Girona city and the Costa Brava area although you had been before several times and you know very well.

We really apreciate your stay, and the family, that is Angela mother and daughters Anna and Angela , and the whole staff, ( also 3 women), let you know you are very welcom for you next Costa Brava visit.

Thank you again.

Family Aragay and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Stayed in Cap d'Or this summer - what a lovely place! Beach - few steps away, you can see it from your windows, even if they are not facing towards the sea. I was traveling solo so it was a great hideaway, prefect place to relax and just enjoy myself. Single room - lovely decor, clean and with big bed. Breakfast served outside, so one can enjoy sea views from the early morning. Staff - very friendly, helped me with Barcelona map and directions to my next destination! Also I could leave my bags with them while I was enjoying my last sun rays in Tossa de Mar. Would come back again!

Room Tip: Single room has part-sea-view, it is quiet and cozy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revisar, Propietario at Hotel Cap d'Or, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Madam,

thank you for your review. We really apreciate your opinion.

It was a pleasure help you in your next stop in BCN and we hope you enjoyed it. Also we are very happy if you feel like at home during your stay.

We wait for you very soon!

Thank you again.

Family Aragay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Cap d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cap d'Or

Address: Passeig Del Mar, 1, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Cap d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cap D'Or Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain
Cap d Or Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cap d'Or, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.