We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy and nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cap d'Or

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Cap d'Or to your Saves list
Hotel Cap d'Or
Passeig de Vila Vella, 1, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cozy and nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Stayed in Cap d'Or this summer - what a lovely place! Beach - few steps away, you can see it from your windows, even if they are not facing towards the sea. I was traveling solo so it was a great hideaway, prefect place to relax and just enjoy myself. Single room - lovely decor, clean and with big bed. Breakfast served outside, so one can enjoy sea views from the early morning. Staff - very friendly, helped me with Barcelona map and directions to my next destination! Also I could leave my bags with them while I was enjoying my last sun rays in Tossa de Mar. Would come back again!

Room Tip: Single room has part-sea-view, it is quiet and cozy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revisar, Propietario at Hotel Cap d'Or, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Madam,

thank you for your review. We really apreciate your opinion.

It was a pleasure help you in your next stop in BCN and we hope you enjoyed it. Also we are very happy if you feel like at home during your stay.

We wait for you very soon!

Thank you again.

Family Aragay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    31
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
16
79
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Small, comfortable, warm and charming hotel. Relaxing location on the beach at the base of the iconic castle.
Staff and services are excellent. We left our bags in the morning, and they were in our room upon our return.
Rooms are on the small but stylish side, and are attended to daily.
Food is home cooked, the chef even baked a gluten free cake for a coeliac staying at breakfast.
I think they offer the best tapas menu, having tried several on the front and in town.
(We have hired residential apartments and stayed in other hotels in Tossa, but this hostel was tip top).

Room Tip: Seaview rooms to be recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revisar, Propietario at Hotel Cap d'Or, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for your review.

We are really happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
You probably have super stay, as you said, because We have a super staff. We really apreciate their work.

We hope you will repeat your stay with us very soon.

Thank you again.

Family Aragay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is nice and warmming place.
The location is locking at the ceach and near the casttle. One of the best locationn in the town!
The place is clean all over the day and the staff kindley to help and give reccomandation.
If you are looking for place in the city - you find it!

Room Tip: Rooms with view to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revisar, Propietario at Hotel Cap d'Or, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for your review.

We hope you will enjoy Tossa and the hotel very soon again. It would be pleasure for us.

Thank you again.

Family Aragay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely stay in this small hotel on the Mediterranean Sea. The room was very comfortable and clean with an amazing view of the Sea. We were greeted by Maria and Anna (sisters who own the hotel) and an attentive staff who met our every need. Eating breakfast outside on the hotel's terrace situated along the path leading to the fortress was beautiful and satisfying, both for the body and soul. Tossa de Mar is a quaint town which draws tourists, but is not overwhelmed by them. We loved our walks back in time through the narrow streets of Tossa de Mar. Will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a full view of the Mediterranean Sea. What a wonderful way to wake up in the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revisar, Propietario at Hotel Cap d'Or, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for your review. We really apreciate your opinion.

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and we hope you will come very soon.

Thank you again.

Family Aragay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

After a hectic weekend in Barcelona we drove up the coast to Tossa de Mar for a quiet few days,
well so did a few hundred other people the place was buzzing, on the day we arrived (Monday) the streets were packed and to get to the hotel we had to drive through little streets milling with people, arriving at our hotel which is situated under the walls of the castle and right on the edge of the beach, we were greeted in the street by our host and were shown the one and only parking space outside the hotel which is used for unloading only. Once we were unloaded we were given a map which showed all the car parks in the area and we were given advice on the different charges we opted for one which was about five minutes walk away and cost 5e a day. Returning to the hotel and our room we stood and looked out of the window which overlooked the pathway up to the castle, tables and chairs which belonged to the hotel a low brick wall and the beach which was packed with sun bathers and people waiting for the ferries and pleasure trips children screaming and laughing it was brilliant a real holiday atmosphere,
It got quieter in the evening and through the week,
The hotel is small, the room we had was small but adequate the room was serviced every day,
shower no bath, the staff were frendly and helpful we had breakfast included and was the usual continental assortment which we ate outside overlooking the beach ,wonderful! It suited us wrinklies as everything was within walking distance of the hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revisar, Propietario at Hotel Cap d'Or, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Sir,

thank you for your review.

As you said, in August there are lot of people in Tossa, actually, it is high season, that means that you need to wait for restaurant, you must get up early to get place on the beach, etc, etc...Normally live in Tossa 6,000 people in for that time we are between 20,000 or 25,000.
So if you come in August don't expect to be alone on the beach. That doesn't happen from the 50's.
Also for the "tossencs", ( people from Tossa), that is the worst time although is good for business. Also for us is crazy to move around the village and we also need to wait for anything we need to do. So we understand you.

For next time is better if you planning your vacation in June or September when the atmosphere is quite and there are less people. Then, for sure, you will get the real live of Tossa that is wonderful with very hepful people.

Thank you again.


Family Aragay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liskeard, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This charming little hotel has a wonderful homely feel. Run by two sisters, Maria and Anna, who are always friendly and helpful (very good English too!). The hotel terrace is right on the beach and the food is excellent. All of the other hotel staff are very hardworking and friendly. The rooms are very comfortable and very clean. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. What a pleasure to stay there!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revisar, Propietario at Hotel Cap d'Or, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear guests,

thank you so much for your review that we really apreciate.

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you very soon again.

Family Aragay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This little hotel was fantastic. Very charming and the hosts were very nice and spoke good English. The rooms were small but very neat and clean. Bathrooms included hair dryer and all you needed. Window opened out right onto beach. Very quaint and charming. Breakfast was excellent and they even had an early breakfast for us since we had to leave by 6:00. Nothing fancy but a great little place in a wonderful little town. A little hard to find with a Garmin so beware! Worth it!! AC if you need it!! Only a few rooms so don't expect to wait and get one!! We will definitely go back!!

Room Tip: Ask for beach front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revisar, Propietario at Hotel Cap d'Or, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for your review. We really apreciate.

We are very happy you enjoy your stay and we hope you can come back very soon.

Thanks again.

Family Aragay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cap d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cap d'Or

Address: Passeig de Vila Vella, 1, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#9 Family Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Cap d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cap D'Or Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain
Cap d Or Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cap d'Or, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.