We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“right on the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cap d'Or

Save Saved
You added Hotel Cap d'Or to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Cap d'Or
Passeig de Vila Vella, 1, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 43 hotels in Tossa de Mar
Seoul, South Korea
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“right on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This place is a wee bit inconvenient if you have your own car, as they don't have any parking available (you have to park on the main road or at a parking lot - a 5-10 minute walk away - but they have a spot where you can unload your luggage first). But other than that, it's great. The beach is on your doorstep and the old castle is also right next door. Compared to the prices we paid for a sea view in Cadaques, this place was more than reasonable. Rooms are a bit on the small side, but we had enough space for ourselves and our luggage. Very friendly staff. Would definitely stay here again if we ever return to Tossa de Mar.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revisar, Propietario at Hotel Cap d'Or, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Madam,

thank you for your review that we really apreciate.

We are very sorry for the inconveniences for parking but we are located in the old town where parking is not allow.

Thank you for your visit and we hope to see you again very soon.

Family Aragay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    26
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
65
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We didn't stay at this hotel but stopped in for a coffee and when it started raining they asked us to come in until it stopped, also they offered to lend us an umbrella. They took the time to give us all sorts of pamphlets and discount coupons for the area. Hospitality went above and beyond especially as we were staying at another hotel. We thank you and we will return and stay at your hotel on our next visit to Tossa.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revisar, Propietario at Hotel Cap d'Or, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your review.

It would be a pleasure to have you at the hotel for your next holidays or for just a coffee.

Thank you again.


Family Aragay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed just for one night but wish it could have been longer. One of the nicest hotels Ive stayed in. Ignore the 2 stars, that means nothing. This place has wonderful views of the whole bay in Tossa. The owners are friendly and couldnt be more helpful. The breakfast which is served on the terrace is complete with fresh and homemade products. The rooms are so nicely decorated with little design touches to make this such a special place to stay. There are only 11 rooms and it gets booked up early - thats the only downside to what is a very lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view. Room 103 has lovely decoration.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revisar, Propietario at Hotel Cap d'Or, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for your review. We really apreciate your opinion and we are very happy you choose our hotel for your holidays.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Family Aragay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stalybridge cheshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Great little hotel .Lovely owners (mum and daughter). Ate breakfast looking over the bay every morning didnt want to come home .Clean rooms and friendly staff .Try a jug of sangria sat at one of the tables in the evening nothing more relaxing.Have not been to spain for 20 years but will be going back next year to tossa and the Cap dor !!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revisar, Propietario at Hotel Cap d'Or, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Madam,

thank you for your review.

We are really happy you enjoy your holidays in Tossa and the hotel.
We hope to see you very soon. Don't wait 20 years more!!

It's a pleasure have guests like you.

Yours sincerely,

Family Aragay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I have stayed at the hotel a few times, it has great views of the beach , friendly staff, clean and well maintained. Don't be put off by the term Hostal it is a great place to stay with a good breakfast. The hotel also is great for lunch or dinner. Phone the hotel direct they speak perfect English and will happy to help. One quick tip... If you fly into Girona I would just get a cab to the hotel in Tossa De Mar particularly if you are only going for a long weekend as parking is a nuisance and expensive. There are boat trips linking the beaches along the coast or a local bus.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revisar, Propietario at Hotel Cap d'Or, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for your review and we hope to see you very soon.

Family Aragay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The location of the hotel and view from our room was incredible. The Inn is right across the street from the beach and at the foot of the old fort. When I first saw the photos of the rooms, I thought a beach was digitally added to the windows of the photos, but that view is the real deal! The inn-keeper is very friendly and welcoming and there is a conveniently located restaurant on the bottom level of the inn. Parking is tough - you'll have to park outside of the historic part of town and hike to the hotel (we recommend a public lot near the bus station that has a reasonable daily fee). The rooms are basic, but clean and homey. Location is very convenient for exploring the old part of the town and of course, easy access to the beach!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revisar, Propietario at Hotel Cap d'Or, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear guests,

thank you for your review.

We are very happy to help you to get better your time in Tossa de Mar and we hope you will visit us in the very next future.

Thank you again,

Family Aragay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Varas, Chile
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This hotel has a beautiful view to the beach, and is located right under the city walls, the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel for sure!! The price is great and the breakfast was amazing!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revisar, Propietario at Hotel Cap d'Or, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Madam,

thank you for your review.

We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay and all services we offered to you.

We hope you will visit again very soon.

Thanks again.


Family Aragay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Cap d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cap d'Or

Address: Passeig de Vila Vella, 1, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Cap d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cap D'Or Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain
Cap d Or Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cap d'Or, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.