We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly staff and great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cap d'Or

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Cap d'Or to your Saves list
Hotel Cap d'Or
Passeig de Vila Vella, 1, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Puerto Varas, Chile
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“friendly staff and great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This hotel has a beautiful view to the beach, and is located right under the city walls, the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel for sure!! The price is great and the breakfast was amazing!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revisar, Propietario at Hotel Cap d'Or, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Madam,

thank you for your review.

We are very happy to know you enjoyed your stay and all services we offered to you.

We hope you will visit again very soon.

Thanks again.


Family Aragay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    31
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
16
80
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kiel, Germany
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

This hotel has a beautiful sea view and is located practically on the beach, right under the old town wall. The owner and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Our room was clean, small and very simple, but sufficient. The bathroom could be larger. You can hardly move inside. There also no place to hang your wet things from the beach. The walls are rather thin and you can hear everything what your neighbours do. Our neighbours were quite loud and argued constantly. The breakfast was poor compared with other hotels we had visited. There were no eggs, only a small variety of cheese and yoghurt didn't looked inviting. But the coffee was good, the croissant and the waiters very friendly. All in all, our short stay there was quite enjoyable.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revisar, Propietario at Hotel Cap d'Or, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear Madam,

thank you for your review that we really apreciate.

I'ts absolutely true that rooms are not big. Actually we mention this point to everybody who is interested in booking. The hotel was fish factory years ago and the building is from the 17th century. This hotel is not the best option if you are looking for large rooms.

About bathrooms, they are also small like the rest, but they have all you need, like hairdryer and soap server, also if you were looking more carefully, in the shower wall there is rope to put your wet clothes.

We are very sorry you didn't enjoy breakfast because is one of the hotel service which is more apreciate for guests, especially the home made yoghourt and cakes.

Finally, we are probably simple because we try to keep the same atmosphere like our old fishfactory was. There are plenty of new, sofisticated and and full equiped hotels with large rooms in town. We belong to a family hotels category that every year are less in town.


Thank you again for your visit.

Family Aragay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We loved this hotel! The location is along the beach with views from many of the rooms. We especially liked room 107, which has a small balcony overlooking the beach. If you are on a budget, try room 101, which they describe as small, but we found it to be perfectly adequate (though the bed is against one wall.) The breakfast, which was included in the room rate, was very nice with croissants, rolls, quiche and baked sweet breads as well as cheeses, jams, juice, and coffee/tea, all of which was served at outdoor tables overlooking the beach.
The beach was very crowded (we were there in August) but the cove is beautiful and we liked the walk through the old town with winding streets and restaurants and shops.
I would not recommend dinner at the hotel, though; we tried it because it was recommended in Lonely Planet, but it was mediocre and there were many other options for eating outdoors along the promenade that looked better.

Room Tip: Room 107 for the small balcony- really nice. Room 101 if you are on a tight budget- they recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revisar, Propietario at Hotel Cap d'Or, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for your review that helps us to work better in the future.

We are really surprise about your opinion about the bar, where we served some home made tapas, because the same person who prepare breakfast is also in the kitchen to cook the tapas. So, if you enjoy the quiche and the home made cakes in the morning, we understand you could apreciate the rest of the food that is made with the same rigor.

We thank you again for your visit and we hope you will visit again very soon.

Family Aragay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Just got back from Cap d'Or. What a delightful surprise for a small, inexpensive beachfront hotel. Proprietor was lovely and accomodating. Rooms were quaint and clean. We enjoyed the "main balcony room" right atop the beach. Sweet little breakfast included. Hotel is mere steps from the town's landmark medieval castle, almost nestled into the base, with pathway providing lovely evening stroll and beautiful views. All in all, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revisar, Propietario at Hotel Cap d'Or, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for your review.

We absolutely apreciate your nice review and help us to go ahead with the work we are doing and with the business that our family began in 1954.

We hope you will visit the hotel again in the very next future.

Thanks again.

Family Aragay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed for two nights in room 101 at Cap D'or and had a great time. Although the room was small it was cheaper than the others and had everything we needed apart from the sea view. We were very happy with the facilities which included an ensuite and tv. The room and bathroom were immaculately clean and a lovely breakfast was also included in the price that included Croissant, Bread rolls, cake, fruit, yoghurt, juices and more! I thoroughly recommend this hotel which is directly below the old town walls and on the beach front. the owners are absolutely lovely!

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview as the beach is lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revisar, Propietario at Hotel Cap d'Or, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for your nice review.

We are really happy to know your enjoyed your stay in the small 101. Between the family we call this room the "bohemian room", because years ago this room was occupy for long time with a writer who write a book.

We hope you could visit the hotel again and enjoy one bigger room with seaside.

Thanks again.

Family Aragay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I recently stayed at the Hotel Cap Dor for a week, the hotel was perfectly positioned on the beach and within the castle walls. With the most fantastic views over the beach and the ocean this place is a real find. Prices are probably a premium but to be honest the hotel is spotless, service is superb and the breakfast included in the price is very good ! Rooms are fairly compact but have everything you need and are very comfortable, maid service is everyday which is a bonus.
I would definately return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 104 is the best !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revisar, Propietario at Hotel Cap d'Or, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear madam,

thank you for your nice review, that we really apreciate in order to improve the hotel services and facilities.

We hope you will come very soon again to enjoy Tossa de Mar and their beautiful beaches.

Thank you again.

Family Aragay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Home
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

Location, location,location with splendid views of resort.
Side of the road seating is special with the Castle beside you
100 yards of beach and then the tide.
Rooms & facilities faultless.
Breakfast was above average with a vegie pizza & Cheese Cake.
Tossa is a very pleasent enviorment for a break.

Recommended.





  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
revisar, Propietario at Hotel Cap d'Or, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Dear guest,

thank you for your review that we really appreciate.

We are happy to know you enjoyed breakfast and especially the vegetables pizza. We try to do a varied breakfast in order to satisfied all guests.

Thank you again for your visit and we hope you will come back very soon.

Family Aragay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cap d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cap d'Or

Address: Passeig de Vila Vella, 1, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#4 Best Value Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#10 Family Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Cap d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cap D'Or Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain
Cap d Or Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cap d'Or, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.