We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good holiday!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of GHT Hotel Neptuno

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added GHT Hotel Neptuno to your Saves list
GHT Hotel Neptuno
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ La Guardia, 52, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Crewe, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A very good holiday!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

First, yes it is on a hill so there's a fair climb to the entrance (after you've been dropped off at the bus station, streets too narrow for coaches), yes there's queues for the drinks/meals at breakfast/dinner....good now that's out of the way.

My wife and I were looking for a relaxing holiday by pool with a quiet town to have a walkabout in.... well we found it!

The hotel Neptuno is an excellent hotel if you want a hassle free, loud music free holiday with no entertainment team or kids club, The clientele are mostly senior/couples or familys.There is some entertainment provided some nights (singers/V.good Flamenco dancers
Good selection of meals, no mad rush for the pool sunloungers (this is in mid June
)since most of the guests use the hotel just as a base for exploring Tossa and the nearby resorts such as Lloret de mar.

The staff are excellent, special mention to the bar staff, not sure if any of them actually went home, excellent service, leave tips, there appreciated.

the hotel is multinational so you'll be mixing it with the french, Germans, Russians etc.

We found the food to be of excellent standard with a good selection.

Beverage and food prices very reasonable, nothing overpriced here.
Rooms are cleaned everyday with fresh towels, soap and showergel provided, also felt secure, never felt the need to use the room safe.

Tossa De mar is a gem of a town, its very clean and retained its old character, it has a good mix of shops and restaurants. if you climb the castle to the top or ride the wagon truck, there's an excellent cafe at the top next to the lighthouse with a breathtaking view of the med sea.
My only grumble is the man-made beach, the sand consists of pea sized pebbles, very uncomfortable to walk on for some (I.E. me).
overall a very relaxing enjoyable friendly holiday, I would have no second thoughts to return here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHT_H0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at GHT Hotel Neptuno, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Adrian,
Thank you very much for having taken the time to leave your impressions of your stay on TripAdvisor. Everybody on the team is thrilled that you enjoyed their services. We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon. I inform you that GHT Hotels offers you 9 more hotels beside de Hotel Neptuno in the Costa Brava and Costa del Maresme. Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    112
    30
    7
    4
See reviews for
64
121
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Catral, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

booked a two night stay in June but due to illness only stayed one. Reception staff were excellent, returning cost for second night although booked as non refundable. Hotel clean. dining room all self service and chaotic due to lack of drinks machines and having to queue. Rooms clean but beds like rock, very noisy due to paper thin walls, pool area good. main downside is entrance is in small back street making it difficult to unload if in vehicle and car park some distance away. Also last 65 mtrs to entrance is up a VERY steep that is not conducive to anyone with "breathing difficulties" or of "a certain age" unless very fit.. This is not shown in any of the brochures . Close to beach and town BUT once again "beware " of the hill .

Room Tip: Try for rooms above second floor facing sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHT_H0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at GHT Hotel Neptuno, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Leo,
Thank you for your comment. We apologize your last minute illness but we are happy that time short time you were in our hotel you could enjoy it. Hope to see you soon there in perfect conditions!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Our first stay in Tossa de Mar, but not our last. We stayed in Hotel Neptuno as a family of 8 and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The staff, food and facilities made this exceptional value for money. We were made very welcome by Reception staff, who could not be more helpful. This level of service continued from the dining room and bar staff. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHT_H0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at GHT Hotel Neptuno, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear client,
Thank you very much for sending your comments to Trip Advisor. Your comfortability is our commitment. Thanks and do not hesitate to contact us in the future if you visit again Tossa de Mar.I would like to inform you that GHT Hotels has 9 more hotels, all of them perfects for families. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Firstly a little on the resort of Tossa de Mar. Very clean well cared for town , fantastic if you want to regularly eat out as choices of many restaurants but not a lot more to keep you entertained for a full week, however bus links are good to Loret de Mar and Barcelona for days out.
Hotel Neptuno was a very pleasant find and we are really pleased to have chosen it for our break. Traditionally Spanish style and we could find no fault whatsoever. Rooms spacious and kept clean, gardens and poolside very good, food excellent in general with enough choice. Biggest plus is that the hotel drinks prices are very reasonable indeed. Staff are fantastic, always smiling and helpful. Entertainment on some nights - Marcello was fun! Hotel location could not be much better for shops and beach.
One small piece of advice for travellers is that the transfer coach drops you at the bus station which is about 150 metres from the hotel and there is quite a steep walk up a hill at the end. You will have to pull you luggage up that ( although I think the hotel can collect you on request if its a problem).

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHT_H0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at GHT Hotel Neptuno, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your comments. We are so glad to know that you had a good experience in our hotel and enjoyed our facilities and services. Hope to see you soon. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

On the plus side:
Staff were very friendly and efficient, particularly the dining room/bar staff.
Rooms were clean and recently decorated... at least the one we stayed in.
We were able to pick up the free WiFi in our room, which was very handy.
Hotel was right on the edge of the old town, 5/10 min walk to beach.
No rowdy stag/hen parties. Mostly middle aged & older guests but also some younger couples and a few families.
Food was decent if not offering a wide variety in the hot food selection, lots of fish! Good salad bar & plenty of fruit. Hot & cold breakfasts available. In May the dining room wasn't too busy except on weekends. During busy periods dine late to avoid queues.
Hotel is not too big, has nice garden and some rooms have lovely view over town.
Old part of Tossa is beautiful. as is the landscape.

On the negative side:
Only one power point in room, which the tv was plugged into. If you wanted to charge phone, batteries or use electrical equipment then you had to do one thing at a time.
It got just a little bit chilly during the night (in May) and heater didn't work.
A bit of a queue at the coffee machine in the mornings. An additional machine would sort this problem out.
The town of Tossa De Mar was pretty quiet in the evenings during May, a little too quiet. Even at the weekends most bars were empty.

Overall, this hotel was pretty good value. Clean, great location and friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHT_H0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at GHT Hotel Neptuno, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us.
We hear all your comments and see possibilities to improve and make sure your next visit will exceed your expectations.
Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

We have been coming to Tossa de Mar for almost 15 years and have stayed at several hotels but the Neptuno is the one we keep coming back to.
This was our 5th stay here and again we were not disappointed. The hotel and grounds are spotless and the maids that look after the place are both efficient and very friendly.
I would like to say a special thank you to Isabel on reception, we arrived late and tired after a long journey and she dealt with us quickly and efficiently. From then on whenever we saw her there was a smile and a genuine interest in how our holiday was going.
Thank you for another great holiday!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHT_H0tels, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at GHT Hotel Neptuno, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear valued guest,
We would like to thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. We really appreciate all your kind words about our hotel and the our staff. We hope you will visit us year after year because we are waiting for you! Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

great hotel , this is our second stay here
we stayed for 1 week in may and all was great till the hotel become very busy with french, rude ,no consideration and we went down for breakfast and no tables available.
large hotel but when busy i would think you will need to wait to be seated for breakfast or dinner
staff are great , good fun and friendly would definatly return but in the quiet times, food is good can get bored with the same type of food but will find something for everyone

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GHT_H0tels, Director Comercial at GHT Hotel Neptuno, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear guest,
It's a pleasure to know that overall you had a good time with us. Thank you very much for your feedback. We apologize if your stay with us was not a perfect experience. We will take into consideration all your comments in order to improve and make sure your next visit will exceed your expectations.
Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to GHT Hotel Neptuno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GHT Hotel Neptuno

Address: C/ La Guardia, 52, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#9 Romantic Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — GHT Hotel Neptuno 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your GHT Hotel Neptuno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Neptuno Tossa De Mar
GHT Hotel Neptuno Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GHT Hotel Neptuno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.