We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Tossa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Diana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Diana to your Saves list
Hotel Diana
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza de Espana 6, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Tossa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

If you choose Tossa del Mar as your destination, Hotel Diana is the best choice in town - beautiful architecture, nice service, and great location. It may only have two stars but it is a delightful and hospitable small hotel. The hotel is centrally located with an excellent view of the crescent shaped beach and the castle on the southern side. We had the good fortune of staying there during a 3-day beach football tournament and had a superb view of the action from our balcony. I agree with the reader that a balcony room is important. It really defined our stay. Try to get one on the 2nd or 3rd floor. The hotel room and bathroom are fine but not exceptional but we spent a lot of time on the balcony. The breakfast buffet on the terrace is very enjoyable and the hotel has a nice bar on both the street level and the balcony above. I recommend their mojito.

The hotel was very helpful to us during our stay. They arranged for a taxi to pick us up in Barcelona and for the return trip as well. Be sure to ask about the taxi accepting credit cards. They arranged for that on our trip to Tossa but our driver for the return did not accept a credit card payment.

Now, some travelers may debate whether Tossa is the perfect Costa Brava experience. We liked Tossa a lot but it's definitely a beach town and I would define it as a family beach town. Kids will have fun there. So, if you like to go to the beach, Tossa is great. It's not too big like the neighboring Lloret de Mar to the south. However, some of my Barcelona friends like to go a little further north and enjoy a little more seclusion. My wife and I spent 3 nights in Tossa and enjoyed it. There are plenty of restaurants in town and you generally don't need reservations.I recommend Tapas del Mar as the best and you will need a reservation there.

Room Tip: Make sure that you get a room with a balcony overlooking the beach. 2nd or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Customer Service at Hotel Diana, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. And your review will help us improving our service in the future. We hope you come back soon.

Tossa de Mar is a very nice location, and we are very glad that you enjoyed of our room with balcony and views.

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of the Hotel Diana staff, thank you very much.

Yours sincerely,

Victor Doutón
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    92
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
48
169
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Enjoyed the Hotel Diana for four days in mid June 2014.
We can only agree with the numerous reviews which praise this hotel's delightful and elegant building, the excellent rooms with balcony and wonderful sea and castle views (IF you can snag such a room e.g #307 - see other reviewers comments about different rooms), fast and reliable free internet, wonderfully friendly and helpful staff (especially Tere) and one of the best included breakfasts we have ever experienced. The front desk will provide beach towels for a deposit. The beach sand in Tossa is coarse but the sea is beautifully clear and great for swimming.
Rear of hotel opens to a pedestrian area with nearby shops selling wine, bread, cheese, etc for enjoying "do it yourself lunch" on your own balcony or even out at the front of the hotel where there is a large raised "patio" with lots of seating and wonderful views. Good alternative if you don't have a balcony.
We did, one day, briefly experience the strange drain smell mentioned by other reviewers but the staff were quickly on the scene to resolve the issue within the hour.
Because of its excellent location, the hotel is a little tricky to access by motor vehicle through a maze of one way streets. We were happy to have arranged a vehicle with driver!
We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Customer Service at Hotel Diana, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. And your review will help us improving our service in the future. We hope you come back soon.

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of the Hotel Diana staff, thank you very much.

Yours sincerely,

Victor Doutón
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbra, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Modernist style hotel worth a visit even if you're not a guest there.
The common areas are stunning, especially for the architecture, and some of the furniture (though not all of it...)!
The outside garden is a must too!
The rooms are spacious, with typical tiled floors, but not up to the rest of the hotel.
In the pictures you can see two great rooms (there are really those two great rooms only): The suite and the sea view room with the iron furniture! Although they have more seaview rooms, they are completely different!
The location is perfect!
The staff is nice, and so is the breakfast!
And, of course, Tossa de Mar is a great place!
Would go back...but only for one of those two rooms!!

Room Tip: The rooms are spacious, with typical tiled floors, but not up to the rest of the hotel. In the pic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Hotel Diana, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and your review will help us improving our service in the future.

We understand your complain about the rooms, and I am pleased to inform you that we are renovating all our rooms, and we have started with the Diana Suite. Next year, all the sea view rooms and bathrooms will be fully renovated. And we will be pleased to have you as a guest in the room of your choice.

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of the Hotel Diana staff, thank you very much.

Yours sincerely,

Luis Osorio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Our four days in Tossa de Mar were made exceptional by staying at this hotel. Beautiful building. Wonderful, helpful, thoughtful staff. Superb location. Amazing views. Excellent breakfast buffet. Recommend this hotel without any reservation. We loved it!

Room Tip: Rooms vary in size and shape, and in size of bed. Of the 12 rooms with front view (sea, castle), no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Customer Service at Hotel Diana, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Feedback is extremely important to us and help us to take the necessary actions to correct the incidents.

Thanks you very much to value favorably our servicie and facilities, espacially the breakfast servicie.

Thank you, and please, do not hesitate to contact me for any enquiry you might need. You may contact us via email at comercial[at]hotelesdante.com or calling +34 934 524 951.

Yours sincerely,

Victor Doutón
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Beautiful hotel with wonderful location, just off the beach in Tossa. We had a room with a balcony with view of the castle. Just beautiful! The restaurant patio was also a great place to have a drink and take in the view. Staff was very friendly. Location right in the middle of Tossa. Great value. Only complaint was the room could get pretty warm so we often kept the balcony door open for some air/breeze. Also, there was sometimes a funny smell coming from the bathroom/plumbing. But don't think we would necessarily give up the location and the view for those minor inconveniences.

Room Tip: Definitely opt for a room with balcony. Ask for a view of the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Customer Service at Hotel Diana, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Feedback is extremely important to us and help us to take the necessary actions to correct the incidents.

Thanks you very much to value favorably our servicie and facilities, espacially the views of the hotel.

Thank you, and please, do not hesitate to contact me for any enquiry you might need. You may contact us via email at comercial[at]hotelesdante.com or calling +34 934 524 951.

Yours sincerely,

Victor Doutón
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

This hotel is absolutely wonderful. If you can stay here you should. The staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms are unlike the international rooms that are so similar throughout the world.

The breakfast buffet is excellent. All in all I don't have a bad word to say about this hotel and I am a very critical man!

Room Tip: The square can get noisy so try to book the sea view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Customer Service at Hotel Diana, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your review will help us improving our service in the future.

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of the Hotel Diana staff, thank you very much.

Yours sincerely,

Victor Doutón
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Friends and I spent two lovely nights here before traveling to Provence. Beautiful, charming building with lovely details throughout. The room was very comfy and it helped us get over our jet lag quite quickly. I had a double bed with an adjacent sitting area that overlooked the courtyard below and the sea. Breakfast was included and so nice. Start with champagne or mimosa and great coffee. They will cook you eggs, meat, etc. to order. Friendly and helpful staff and so relaxing. Be sure to visit the nearby castle, great view at night, and the small, lovely restaurant half way up is worth the walk. Lots of great shopping close by. Do bring euros or a debit card - there is no place in town to change US dollars to euros.

Room Tip: During slower times ask if the room with the balcony is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Customer Service at Hotel Diana, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your review will help us improving our service in the future.

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of the Hotel Diana staff, thank you very much.

Yours sincerely,

Victor Doutón
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Diana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diana

Address: Plaza de Espana 6, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Diana 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Diana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diana Hotel Tossa De Mar
Hotel Diana Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Diana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.