We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Diana

Save Saved
You added Hotel Diana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Diana
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza de Espana 6, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 43 hotels in Tossa de Mar
Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wow!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

A little hard getting in to& checking in, but Wow! What a great place. We, along with another couple stayed here for 3 nights & loved everything about it. The service, the rooms, the location, the town, the breakfasts.......wow!!
You won't be sorry if you book a room here!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Hotel Diana, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. The hotel is not easy to find by car due to the GPS mistakes with the pedestrian streets surrounding the hotel, but we are working on that issue. Your review will help us improving our service in the future. And we hope you come back soon!

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of the Hotel Diana staff, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    88
    16
    4
    3
See reviews for
46
156
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
hertfordshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Great hotel lot of old world charm and the decor is fabulous. As pointed out in other reviews there is no parking at the hotel but there is a nearby car park or on road bays where you can park for free and driving to the hotel to drop or collect luggage is fine. The reception staff were very helpful and breakfast excellent. Afternoon tea and cakes (no charge) was a real surprise. I understand there are different classes of rooms and we managed to change our room to a sea view and balcony which incurred a slight charge but was a great success. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel for adults, not so much to do for children although my grandchildren were quite happy at being able to sep straight out onto the beach.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Hotel Diana, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you, and your grandchildren enjoyed your stay with us. And your review will help us improving our service in the future. We hope you come back soon!

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of the Hotel Diana staff, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This was a gem of a place and the staff was very helpful. The location was perfect for the beach and the old town. Our room wasn't the most luxurious but I understand now I could have picked a different class, which I would do next time. If you're driving and using GPS I'd call ahead as GPS took us to the side of the hotel that wasn't accessible to cars and there are a lot of very narrow streets with pedestrians. Parking was free but up the hill so the front desk person explained where to go. The old town is great and the beach across the street. Perfect!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Hotel Diana, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. And your review will help us improving our service in the future. Please, accept our appologies because it is not easy to arrive to the hotel with the GPS directions, as the old town surrounding the hotel is only for pedestrians. However, hotel guests can acces by car following the road accros the beach, but GPS does not offer that possibility.

We hope you come back soon!

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of the Hotel Diana staff, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Be warned that finding this hotel by Sat Nav is impossible as if anything like mine it will try to take you down closed shopping streets. The hotel has no parking at all but you can pay to park some distance away in an underground car park. To drive to the hotel to unload you must ignore the no entry and drive beech side of the car park down a dip and left along the seafront. No one will help you to find reception or help with your baggage though.
Interesting hotel built about 100 years ago as a private house, with interesting architecture and a location which cannot be beaten. Beach out of the front door and a view of the old town and town centre out the back, or is it the other way around? No matter a great location. The pleasant receptionist gave us our key and we moved our luggage into the tiny lift, still functional and better than the stairs. We found the reception staff in general to be efficient but not particularly enthusiastic to help. Getting into the room was tricky as the door opened in against the bed, giving limited space. The room décor was very dated alongside traditional features such as the stained glass on the toilet door. Although the bathroom had been refitted and all worked well the general feel of the accommodation was tired. We had a second room leading to a balcony area with a limited sea view. The second room had a couple of chairs and a small table . The balcony was separated by a low wall directly to a public area over the street bar and overlooked by the other rooms. The breakfast in Hotel Diana was one of the finest of all the hotels in which I have stayed. Carefully laid out in the courtyard with pretty tables and chairs the usual buffet type staples were all available fresh and a plenty. In addition you can order from a menu with a choice of fruit, meats or cooked breakfast, the latter being fresh cooked and delicious.
Basically if the bedroom was freshened and brightened up and the staff became a little friendlier I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Hotel Diana, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. And your review will help us improving our service in the future. Please, accept my appologies on behalf of hotel Diana, because it is true that it is not easy to find the hotel using GPS. The streets surrounding the hotel are pedestrian streets, and the GPS does not find its way to the hotel easily. That is why an automatic email with directions is sent to guests who book the hotel though our website. Unfortunatelly, the other booking websites don't allow us to do it.

I understand your dissapointment with the room decoration, and I can assure you that we are working to improve the rooms decoration and give them the same charm the hotel has. Within the next couple of years I hope we can definitely have the rooms fully renewed and keeping the same old charm the hotel has.

We hope you come back soon and like our improvements.

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of the Hotel Diana staff, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Langley, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I had booked just one night in Tossa and after I arrived I booked another night! An absolutely charming hotel, and a really lovely seaside room with doors and windows opening to a small sitting area and a super comfy bed. I loved the breakfast and found the hotel staff to be professional but also warm and very friendly. A real delight and would not stay anywhere else in Tossa!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Hotel Diana, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. And your review will help us improving our service in the future. We hope you come back soon!

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of the Hotel Diana staff, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorkshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We have just had a brilliant long weekend in Tossa staying at the hotel Diana, we discovered this little gem on our visit in august and my wife was eager to return and stay at this hotel. The staff were amazing, they sorted the taxi transfers out for us and recommended some excellent restaurant's. Tere on reception was very helpful and polite, the breakfast was really good. you start off with the cold buffet breakfast then the waiter takes your order and the hot food is cooked from fresh to your order. we had a room overlooking the square which was pleasant, but next time we will book a sea view room. the rooms are clean and spacious. There is a to with basic channels, there is free WiFi in the hotel as well. if you want a modern hotel with gimmicks, then this hotel is not for you, if you want a good hotel with tradition and good service and a great location then this is the hotel for you. the lobby area is like stepping back in time in a good way. we cannot wait to visit this hotel again next year, A lovely hotel in a lovely resort.

Room Tip: book direct with the hotel, they are cheaper
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Hotel Diana, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. And your review will help us improving our service in the future. We hope you come back soon!

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of the Hotel Diana staff, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

First of all, Tossa de Mar is great, and this is not a bad place to stay when there. The building and lobby are elegant and full of old world charm. The staff were all fine, with everyone at the front desk very capable in English, as well as other languages. The complementary breakfast was a welcome surprise, and you can get everything from fruit, cereal and yogurt to an English breakfast of bacon and eggs. The only thing holding me back from a "5" rating is that the room was pretty small and came with a double bed, as opposed to a queen or king-size. We are not big people, but found that we were more comfortable with one of us on the couch...not what you're looking for on a romantic get-away. I understand there are other room types available. We would certainly stay here again, but next time we'll make sure to get a bigger room!

Room Tip: Several rooms have beach-facing terraces, and larger beds. Call ahead to make sure you get the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Hotel Diana, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. And your review will help us improving our service in the future. As the hotel is an old building, all of our rooms are different, and unfortunatelly, some are bigger than others. Please, do not hesitate to contact us next time you come to the hotel so that we can find a bigger room for you.

We hope you come back soon!

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of the Hotel Diana staff, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Diana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diana

Address: Plaza de Espana 6, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Diana 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Diana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diana Hotel Tossa De Mar
Hotel Diana Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Diana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.