We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful little hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Diana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Diana to your Saves list
Hotel Diana
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza de Espana 6, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A delightful little hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

First of all, Tossa de Mar is great, and this is not a bad place to stay when there. The building and lobby are elegant and full of old world charm. The staff were all fine, with everyone at the front desk very capable in English, as well as other languages. The complementary breakfast was a welcome surprise, and you can get everything from fruit, cereal and yogurt to an English breakfast of bacon and eggs. The only thing holding me back from a "5" rating is that the room was pretty small and came with a double bed, as opposed to a queen or king-size. We are not big people, but found that we were more comfortable with one of us on the couch...not what you're looking for on a romantic get-away. I understand there are other room types available. We would certainly stay here again, but next time we'll make sure to get a bigger room!

Room Tip: Several rooms have beach-facing terraces, and larger beds. Call ahead to make sure you get the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Hotel Diana, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. And your review will help us improving our service in the future. As the hotel is an old building, all of our rooms are different, and unfortunatelly, some are bigger than others. Please, do not hesitate to contact us next time you come to the hotel so that we can find a bigger room for you.

We hope you come back soon!

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of the Hotel Diana staff, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    92
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
47
167
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in the Hotel Diana and would give it a strong recommendation. We had a sea view room and could look out at the beach and castle. No balcony but a little seating area. The staff were very helpful with restaurant recommendations. Breakfast was very good and fresh. We were there at the end of May so the restaurant was not open yet but plenty to do in Tossa.

Room Tip: Definitely pay extra for the sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Hotel Diana, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. And your review will help us improving our service in the future. We hope you come back soon, and we hope the next time you come our restaurant is open so you can taste our amazing tapas!

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of the Hotel Diana staff, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Second time in Tossa de Mar. This is a great hotel the all staff are very helpful and the kitchen ordered in special gluten free products for my husband and looked after him like a king. Our room was basic but met every need Tossa can be a little noisy at night but this is no fault of the hotel it would be a crying shame to rip out the windows and put double glazing in and remove the marble to cushion the noise. It is a charming hotel and hopefully will be back in a few years time. Thank you to all the staff

J Nicholson

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Hotel Diana, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. And your review will help us improving our service in the future. We hope you come back soon.

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of the Hotel Diana staff, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed 5 nights at this hotel and had a room with seaview.
It was a great "personal" hotel with a lot of feeling and love.

The room was not to charmy, but very clean and big (our romm was prob 35 m2).
Hotel was very charmy with a personal touch, and we can recomend it to everyone who want to stay in Tossa de Mar.

Over the road (not traffic except to the hotel etc) and you are on the beach in 2 min.
4 minutes to the castle and the shopping is just at the back of the hotel in the old tow,

Room Tip: The rooms on 1st floor with seaview is a bit bigger, but the ones on 2nd and 3rd seems to have balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Hotel Diana, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. And your review will help us improving our service in the future. Just so that you know, we are improving our rooms decoration, and we hope that in a couple of years we will have rooms as charming as all the hotel.

We hope you come back soon!

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of the Hotel Diana staff, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cluj-Napoca, Cluj, Romania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Romantic,friendly, beautiful...The hotel has many interesting architectural features.
Staff very friendly, in special, Tere and Manuel. A wanderfull atmosphere.

Be sure to check that you get a sea view room, its definitely..

Room Tip: Be sure to check that you get a sea view room, its definitely..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Hotel Diana, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. And your review will help us improving our service in the future. We hope you come back soon.

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of the Hotel Diana staff, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed at this nice hotel 10 days in july with our teen daughter and had 2 rooms (104 and 105) Our room 104 had a nice big terrace and her room 105 was a little smaller and perfect for a teen girl. All was so nice and clean. The fantastic atmhosphere was a great complement to the holiday. The calm and sophisticated feeling was so fantastic. Super nice location with the beach on one side and the small town at other side with great shopping and lot of restaurants. The never-ending beauty of the castlewall was always in sight. We can not understand the only 2 star rating of this fantastic hotel with this so friendly staff. We will always return to this hotel and to Tossa. If you search for a romantic and personal stay on your holiday this is the perfect choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Hotel Diana, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. And your review will help us improving our service in the future. We hope you come back soon.

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of the Hotel Diana staff, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stathelle, Telemark, Norway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Small, friendly, beautiful... We spent a week in the beginning of July in this little gem of a hotel. Something failed with our booking, and the first night was spent in a very small room overlooking the square, but this was quickly sorted the next morning. Be sure to check that you get a sea view room, its definitely worth the extra money. Alsom the very friendly lady at the front desk told us that they will match any discounts on hotels.com and similar webpages, so I would reccomend booking directly with the hotel, quoting the price you find on the web.

Breakfast is delightful in the courtyard, and when on holiday it can be tempting to start the day with a complimentary glass of cava!The terrace, with its comfortable and stylish furnishings, is ideal for sharing a bottle of rosewine and reading a book, before dinner. We also experienced two "house" concerts in the courtyard, coming back from dinner - and enjoyed it a lot.

Room Tip: Seaview, definitely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Hotel Diana, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. And your review will help us improving our service in the future. We hope you come back soon.

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of the Hotel Diana staff, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Diana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diana

Address: Plaza de Espana 6, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Diana 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, T4B, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Diana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diana Hotel Tossa De Mar
Hotel Diana Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Diana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.