We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Diana

Save Saved
You added Hotel Diana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Diana
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza de Espana 6, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 43 hotels in Tossa de Mar
Kansas City, Kansas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Charming hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We arrived in Tossa on the day of a festival. We had two rooms, one with an ocean view. That room had huge windows overlooking the courtyard where breakfast is served, the sea, and the castle. Quite a view. The room had a little sitting area by the windows where we sat watching fireworks. The castle was lit, and there was a bonfire behind the hotel. It was a spectacular experience. Breakfast was included and was very good. We had drinks on the hotel terrace looking at the water. The staff was wonderful and helpful. If you take a car they will provide parking but the lot is away from the hotel. They had to guide us to the hotel by phone.

Room Tip: Booking a sea view is worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Hotel Diana, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. And your review will help us improving our service in the future. We hope you come back soon.

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of the Hotel Diana staff, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    88
    16
    4
    3
See reviews for
46
159
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We are currently guests at this hotel and it's beautiful, inside and out. The views are stunning, and the weather is great. I just wish that the Satellite TV they advertise had at least one English speaking Chanel besides BBC News! Once it's dark and you can't see the ocean anymore it would be nice to watch a TV show on the nice flat screen TV's. We are in a multi level suite, the best in the hotel. Room 305 in case you want to book it. But I was so bored last night as I flipped through all the channels of what was mostly American TV shows dubbed to Spanish and could not find ONE SINGLE CHANEL IN ENGLISH other than BBC News! We are here for two more nights and I dread lying in bed at night with no way of watching a show I can understand. Aren't Satellite Dishes supposed to be able to get a few English speaking Chanel's? In America we have Spanish Chanel's, but here they have NO English speaking ones for their guests. To make matters worse, the free Wi Fi doesn't come in strong enough in the upstairs suite so I can't even use my iPad or iPhone to try to watch something in English. So basically I'm left sitting in bed with nothing to do at all. Mind you that's my ONLY problem with the place, but it IS something that needs to be addressed.

Jeffrey Brandt
Lauren Handley-Brandt

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Hotel Diana, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. And your review will help us improving our service in the future. We hope you come back soon.

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of the Hotel Diana staff, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is our 2nd trip to the exquisite Hotel Diana. The hotel has many interesting architectural features especially all the stained glass throughout the common areas, not to mention the mermaid looking water spouts. Its unusual design has great walking areas from either front or back of the hotel.The outdoor terraces are available for your use and they also have a restaurant which faces the beach. Breakfast is included in your room fee. Be sure to walk under the main fireplace for a surprise on both sides! Get a room with a balcony facing the beach for incomparable views. (rooms 206-207 or 306-307) Climb to the top to visit the Citadel or shop until you drop on the cobble stone winding labyrinth of streets, lined with shops and restaurants. Rooms are very clean and comfortable with Wi-Fi, and in room safe.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Hotel Diana, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. And your review will help us improving our service in the future. We hope you come back soon.

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of the Hotel Diana staff, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights and couldn't praise it enough. We had a balcony and it really is worth paying the extra for one as the view of the bay is stunning. The interior of the hotel is beautiful and has to be seen. Staff were very friendly. We didn't eat our evening meal there as we wanted to eat out so I can't comment on the food. One of the best hotels I've stayed in.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Hotel Diana, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. And your review will help us improving our service in the future. We hope you come back soon.

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of the Hotel Diana staff, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moray, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We ate here for my birthday and last night of our holiday last week, and what a good choice. Lovely views of the beach and Vila Vella, spacious and comfortable. Great food, value and service. There was a large birthday party on below with a traditional band which was a bonus and really fun to listen to everyone singing along. It all made our night really special.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Hotel Diana, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. And your review will help us improving our service in the future. We hope you come back soon.

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of the Hotel Diana staff, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night only during our stay in Tossa. Must say it was a great experience as had sea view balcony. Very nice sight to wake upto in the morning. Also had a champagne breakfast, with full English. Got the taste of the champagne so bought bottle Cava(cheap skates)ha ha- to carry on the experience on our balcony until we had to leave the room at 12 noon. Rooms not as old fashioned as thought would be. Décor in hotel absolutely beautiful. Staff very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Hotel Diana, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. And your review will help us improving our service in the future. We hope you come back soon.

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of the Hotel Diana staff, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We spent six nights in Suite Diana and it was the best experience ever. My husband and I took the upstairs section, while my mother slept on the bottom level (reachable by spiral staircase). The top level has three doors to the outside. One leads to a patio with a shower and toilet, another to a patio with lounge chairs, and the biggest one has a table where we enjoyed many lunches overlooking the beach and tower. The bottom level has a pull-out sofa bed, a full bathroom, and another balcony overlooking the beach. It is the best room in the town! The breakfast was also amazing with many choices of pastries, cereals, etc.... along with a full hot menu featuring omelets and other egg dishes. Service from the restaurant and reception was friendly and efficient. The only real complaint was that the cleaning staff did not take away or replace our dirty dishes and glasses. The rest of the room was cleaned spotlessly. On the weekend nights, it was a little loud in the streets until the wee hours of morning, but we had our doors open to enjoy the sea air. Plus we were exhausted from traveling, so it wasn't much of an issue. The entire town was wonderful and was our favorite of our entire trip. It was about 1 1/2 hours to Barcelona, so we also enjoyed that city from our beach location. I would visit again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Suite Diana is well worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Diana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diana

Address: Plaza de Espana 6, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Diana 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Diana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diana Hotel Tossa De Mar
Hotel Diana Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Diana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.