We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best view in town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Diana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Diana to your Saves list
Hotel Diana
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza de Espana 6, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Port Hedland, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Best view in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Our first visit to Tosssa ans we had what we believe is the best hotel in town.

Center Beach front!! This historic and beautiful interior building has charm and antiquity! From the sitting areas to the stained glass windows it is lovely. Service friendly and courteous. We stayed here for 4 nights in the upstairs suite with 2 kids. It is advertised as a 2 star ??? but it is so relaxing, well serviced, clean and comfortable and it is hard to beat. Located right in center on beach. Everyone walking past cant help but look up at the balcony and take pics.

We so enjoyed out time here looking at at the sights all lit up at night through the large glass doors and windows and waking up to the beautiful sea everyday in this lovely town. I cant image if we had booked a into a big 5 star up the road with no views but a pool??

The breakfast was fantastic - we could have this in the restaurant, on the interior terrace, up on the upper terrace looking over the sea or on our balcony. The usual selection of pastry's, breads, cereals, yogurts etc along with wine or champers or various coffees or teas. Also a small selection of made to order hot meals such as an English breakfast, Spanish or french omelet. Breakfast runs from 8 am to 10.30.

The suite room had 2 balconies -one on the bottom floor where there was a sitting area, TV and full bathroom with bath and the other 2 up the spiral staircase which lead to the HUGE main room with bed, couch area, cupboards, mini bar fridge, 4 large glass windows taking up the entire front wall which included 2 doors that open u to lead you out to main balcony. Off the side was the shower and toilet area and the other side outside private terrace with table and 2 x sun lounges for privacy. We were delivered a yummy fruit platter and bottle of campaign on arrival as a gift. THANK YOU!

Front hotel exit lead to beach front and cafes while back entrance lead to main shopping street and center.

Sleep was undisturbed, quiet and comfortable. Curtains dark and no noise from other rooms as on top floor. This place was extreme value for money....we only paid 215E a night for 4 people. The view alone was worth this. Photos on website depict hotel exactly as it is
Well done Hotel Diana, you enhanced our last 4 days of our European trip and this was our favorite place! HIGHLY RECOMMEND as much as i would like to keep it a secret!

Would we return - absolutely and in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Suite room is wonderful and huge or any rooms facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Hotel Diana, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. And your review will help us improving our service in the future. We hope you come back soon.

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of the Hotel Diana staff, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    99
    20
    5
    3
See reviews for
57
194
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Myself and my husband are just back from Tossa de Mar having spent our Wedding there following many visits to this beautiful characterful and historical unspoilt resort which helped us decide on it as a perfect wedding location :)
The hotel is a Spanish 2* which is only down to it being an authentic Spanish hotel as it still has all mod cons but is not modern like its sister hotel the Delfin ( also great hotel!) but we wanted character and we got it by the bucketload !
The words amazing wow beautiful excellent superb fantastic were a few of the words used by us and all of our 50 guests who joined us at the hotel to describe the Diana
It is the place to stay in Tossa de Mar and is beautiful but the best thing is the service and the quality of the staff who work there including Nuria and Luis who helped us to plan an unforgettable and " perfecto " day from start to finish
With amazing organisation decoration and detail which made us all feel special and not just the bride and groom
Words fail me as to describe how perfect we found our day and stay here
It truly is a special place :)
100% recommend it as would all my guests who taped also and those who just attended wedding as many are already thinking of returning to stay
Tere on reception and Jose also made our stay great with their welcoming and helpful attitude to caring for their guests

Room Tip: Ask for a beach view room and if you can get a room with a terrace as the views of castle are amazin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Hotel Diana, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Amanda,

Thank you very much for your review. We have really enjoyed a lot helping you with the wedding preparations so that it was a very special day, and you and all your family have been amazing guests.

We are really happy that the wedding went perfect, we really appreciate your nice words!

We hope you come back soon, and please, do not hesitate to contact me for anything you might need.

Best regards on behalf of all the staff at hotel Diana!

And thank you very much!

Luis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My daughter told me she was getting married and it would be at the Hotel Diana in Tossa de Mar. When we arrived at this hotel it was like stepping back in time, it was brilliant. The wdding day was a special occasion that was made better by the staff who worked their socks off from early morning till late at night. The food was second to none and this hotel is well worth a stay. We will definitely be going back, ignore the 2 star rating as that is so false.

Room Tip: If going ask for a seaview room as the rooms that overlook the square are subject to a bit of noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Hotel Diana, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear,

Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy that you liked your daughters wedding. We really appreciate your review, and we enjoyed too organizing it.

Our best wishes for your daughter and his husband. We hope that everybody had a great time in this very special day.

We hope you come back soon.

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

Best regards on behalf of all the staff at hotel Diana!

Luis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

attending a hen night on 26.4.13 and the wedding on the 27.4.13, WOW this hotel is fab, although we were staying elsewhere in. the resort we were made to feel really welcome, the staff were fab with the kids, food at the wedding was out of this world, if your looking to get married aboard this has to be the place to do it. We were even given the use of a room for baby changing etc.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Hotel Diana, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear,

Thank you very much for your review. We are very glad that you enjoyed the wedding. We really enjoyed organizing it and we hope that the bride, the groom and all the family and friends attending the wedding had a very special day.

We hope you come back soon.

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

Best regards on behalf of all the staff at hotel Diana!

Luis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RTP54
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The location is great - right on the beach with a perfect view of the castle. We got an ocean view room on the third floor that not only had a view but a small balcony. The interior of this hotel is gorgeous. They have public spaces that welcome their guests to sit and enjoy a coffee and pastry (free, self-service coffee cart in the afternoon). This is a hotel not to be missed. The rating is only a 2 star and I kept wondering why. Terè at reception was particularly helpful. Breakfast was excellent, including a nice buffet, but also ordering off the full menu, plenty of coffee and the breakfast waiter was excellent. The pictures on the web site do not do this hotel justice.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Hotel Diana, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. And your review will help us improving our service in the future. We hope you come back soon.

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of the Hotel Diana staff, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Beautiful hotel-perfect location in the walled city. Beautiful outdoor area and great breakfast. Staff very helpful. Old, elegant furnishings. Some decorating is very dated. Perfect location for walking the streets of Tossa.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are more expensive. Our balcony overlooked the walled city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I e-mailed the hotel with questions about price/dates etc and Tere from reception rang me to answer my queries and could not have been more helpful. Her attitude made me really want to stay at this hotel as first impressions were, if this is the type of service I will receive I know I will like it. I loved it! Fabulous position on the sea front, centre for everything Tossa has to offer. All the years I have been going to Spain I cannot believe I have only just discovered this wonderful resort.
All the staff looked after us so well. We had a room over- looking the square at the back, which I thought may be disadvantage [but cheaper] when actually it was really nice as in the afternoon it got the sun and it was lovely looking out and people watching.I will hopefully be back in September.

Room Tip: Only a few of the rooms over looking the sea have a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at Hotel Diana, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. And your review will help us improving our service in the future. We hope you come back soon.

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of the Hotel Diana staff, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Diana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Diana

Address: Plaza de Espana 6, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Diana 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Diana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diana Hotel Tossa De Mar
Hotel Diana Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Diana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.