We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Reymar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Hotel Reymar to your Saves list
Gran Hotel Reymar
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Mar Menuda s/n, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My Husband and I and our 7yr old stayed for 2nts at the grand hotel reymar after being on a 12 night cruise. We were pleasantly surprised as the staff were very welcoming the room was spotlessly clean. Beds comfortable, bathroom all quite new and a decent size. The view from the balcony was fantastic looking over a lovely bay and rocks. The restaurant was very well presented with white table cloths and waiter service which was even better than the cruise service. The menu was excellent too and the food was well presented and delicious. The downside was there was no entertainment the pool was freezing cold and the rooms had no air conditioning just heating. I loved Tossa the old part was very quaint and spotlessly clean a walk up through the archway is a must the old buildings and small restaurants are lovely with fantastic views and lovely atmosphere. The beach is to be avoided don't take children to make sand castles its all sharp gravel, make sure you wear beach shoes.

Room Tip: We paid extra for the sea view it was well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gran Hotel Reym... S, Director Comercial at Gran Hotel Reymar, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Mrs. Linda,

Thank you for taking the time to post a glowing review of your stay at Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa. We are always especially delighted to read great feedback from our regular guests, and are really pleased you have enjoyed your stays at the Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa.
I have passed on your kind words to all the Reymar’s team.
We very much appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back for many more stays in the near future.

King regards,

Commercial Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    96
    33
    18
    8
See reviews for
78
142
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment behind the main hotel building. There is a separate pool for the use of the apartments & as a result did not spend much time in the hotel area. The apartments have everything necessary to self cater & nearby supermarkets provide the ingredients to produce decent meals. We did have trouble with the cooktop blowing the electrical circuit but hotel staff were quick to fix. Apartment can be serviced daily, we chose alternate days. Great to sit out on balcony with a gin & tonic in the late afternoon sun.
Wouldn't call the apartment luxury but comfortable. Free wifi. Be aware there is a steep staircase to the apartments.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gran Hotel Reym... S, Director Comercial at Gran Hotel Reymar, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear guest Mrs. (gungadin3333),

Thank you for posting a charming review of your stay at Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa. In Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa always willing to improve and we take as benchmarks of review of our customers, since they help us to provide a better quality of our services.

But our challenge is to improve and strive every day more and better so that our customers can enjoy unforgettable holiday. I have translated all the survey to our Staff.

We and look forward to welcoming you back for many more stays in the near future.

King regads,

Commercial Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This hotel had the most amazing views over the beach especially when you are having breakfast! The location is really good because it was over the quieter beach, which is really nice to sit on, a walk to the town and up the castle is lovely and you have the most amazing views of the town from the top. Rooms are a little dated and the beds were not that comfortable - no duvet...

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gran Hotel Reym... S, Director Comercial at Gran Hotel Reymar, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Mrs. (Lucindajane23),

I was absolutelly delighted to read your review following your stay at Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa.

I like you know that this year we start to renovate some sea view rooms and we continues to renovate some more rooms and other part of the hotel this year until next opening.

I have passed on your kind words to the Reymar's team.

Thank you for taking the time to write these lines and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards,

Commercial Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

the reymar has pluses and minuses. the hotel has a good ambience and the staff, with one exception, are friendly. the hotel is clean and the bedroom service excellent. the dining room offers table service only and so you are limited in your choice to what the hotel offers. the menu is 4 course but the second course could be just a dessert spoon of food eg a portion of cheese or tuna mixture perhaps. the meat does tend to come covered in a rich thick sauce so you do not always get the taste of the meat itself. the staff are very friendly and the head waiter extremely helpful. the restaurant is on three levels. at breakfast, you can choose which but the downstairs one has hot plates to keep the food warm. we only discovered this about three days into the holiday. up to then, we ate the cold scrambled eggs, bacon etc. and this is an example of the very bad poor communication in the hotel. they tell you nothing. we were given no information about hotel facilities except meal times and that was when we arrived. there was no information in the rooms about room service, dining room service, telephone service not even how to contact reception or other rooms. there are no garden grounds. a singer accompanied provides entertainment for the dining room some evenings and we liked her voice. there was no other live entertainment. however, there is a serious drawback with the gran reymar. the approach to it is from a very long hill and the last stretch is absolutely cruel it is so steep. there are no ramps in the hotel but steps everywhere. the location of the hotel is magnificant in that it is beside the beaches and overlooks them with tremendous views. we had a standard room which was adequate except that there was no view (we overlooked a multi storey car park) and the angry squawking from sea gulls from the colony of gulls on the adjacent buildings keeps you awake at night and starts again from 4:00am in the morning. the rooms are not sound deadened and the floors are of laminated wood so every sound of people moving furniture and walking across the floor above can be heard and is amplified to be very loud. we were offered a superior room at an extra 30 euros a night. the linen and rooms are kept clean and well provided with toiletries. we had a problem with reception. the details for our return pick up fom the hotel should have been sent to the hotel a couple of days before. they were not and we asked reception for help. they told us to wait until the day before. we went back next day and the details were still not there and reception told us they could not help. we asked if they would would phone to sort it out for us and they refused. we asked for the duty manager and she confirmed they would not help. we complained and said we would contact tripadvisor. some time later a call came through to the room and they had contacted the transfer company (they charged us for the call) and so we got our transfer details at 6;30pm on the saturday which was the day before we travelled - the transfer company's offices closed at 7:00pm on the saturdayand opened again well after or pick up time. reception on this occasion let us down badly. all in all, the reymar is a good hotel with excellent staff (except reception) and a good ambience but we wondered if it really deserved a 4* rating. we would recommend taking a superior room if you intend to stay here.

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — reception
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gran Hotel Reym... S, Director Comercial at Gran Hotel Reymar, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear guest,

We are delighted for the time you have spent to write this review and I want to thank you. In Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa always willing to improve and we take as benchmarks of review of our customers, since they help us to provide a better quality of our services. I like to apologize in name of the hotel about the services that didn't macht as we expected.

Our challenge is to improve and strive every day more and better so that our customers can enjoy unforgettable holiday. I have translated all the survey to our Staff to regret or complain about their work.

We hope to see you in Premier Gran Hotel Reymar next time you will visit Tossa de Mar.

Faithfully best regards,

Commercial Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The Reymar is right next to a lovely small beach with great view of the sea and old castle. All the public areas are spotless and high quality. Lots of different places to sit and admire the view especially in the dining room.
The food is buffet style in a morning but for other meals there is a 4 course meal ( a choice of 3 things for each course) The food was well presented and efficiently served. Drinks are expensive.
Rooms are a good size with a huge double bed. Many of the balconies overlook the sea. The pool isn't heated and at the end of May was breathtakingly cold!
The town is really pretty and not over commercialised. The walled town is stunning - lots of photo opportunities! Just walk around the walls, up to the lighthouse or through some of the little streets and alleyways. The Thursday market is worth a visit as is a tour of Barcelona (around £30).
There are some fantastic walks especially between Tossa and Lloret - soaring cliffs, amazing views and cork trees.
Be aware that buses can't get to the hotel so there is a good 5 minute walk with cases to the hotel (the last bit up a steep slope).

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gran Hotel Reym... S, Director Comercial at Gran Hotel Reymar, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are delighted for the time you have spent to write this review and I want to thank you. In Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa always willing to improve and we take as benchmarks of review of our customers, since they help us to provide a better quality of our services.

Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa is a much appreciated hotel in Tossa by our regular customers who repeat consecutive years their stay, which we are proud of it. I also like to apologize for the think you didn't like it.

Our challenge is to improve and to strive every day more and better so that our customers can enjoy unforgettable holiday. I have translated the survey to our Staff.

We hope to see you in Premier Gran Hotel Reymar next time you will visit Tossa de Mar.

Faithfully best regards,

Commercial Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke mandeville
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed here 7 days from June 5th to 12th 2013. We like Tossa a great small pretty resort (last year we stayed at the Diana not happy there). We loved the location beside the nicest beach in Tossa, staff were all very friendly food started off rather bland and then suddenly improved no end, at lunchtime the restaurant area is open air and very attractive. Breakfasts are great, no faults whatsoever, with a great range of food to choose from.

The bedrooms (our's was 3rd floor from pool 514) was large, spotlessly clean, light and airy, the bed was hard but comfortable, I rather unusually, did not ache at all.

I would definitely rate this hotel as number one in Tossa due to it being modern, next to the nicest beach and only a quarter of a mile from the main centre of the town and thus remains peaceful at night.

I am surprised with all the facilities that it is not 5 star.

We will be back.

Room Tip: front sea views do have great views albeit sideways on to the beach and looking at the pool which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gran Hotel Reym... S, Director Comercial at Gran Hotel Reymar, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Sir, Mr (Symro),

We are delighted for the time you have spent to write this review and I want to thank you. In Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa always willing to improve and we take as benchmarks of review of our customers, since they help us to provide a better quality of our services.
Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa is a much appreciated hotel in Tossa by our regular customers who repeat consecutive years their stay, which we are proud of it.

But our challenge is to improve and strive every day more and better so that our customers can enjoy unforgettable holiday. I have translated all the survey to our Staff.

We hope to see you in Premier Gran Hotel Reymar next time you will visit Tossa de Mar.


Faithfully, best regards,

Commercial Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Just arrived back from the gran reymar,lovely hotel situated on a hill which was ok for me but wouldn't have liked to push a wheelchair,or a children's buggy up there after a day in the town or at the beach.Had a full day of bad weather whilst I was there,so thought I would have a couple of hours in the spa only to be told there was a 20 euro charge for the day,thought this was a bit steep so didn't bother,staff not very friendly,wouldn't go back,theres plenty of other hotels to choose from in that price range.

Room Tip: Do asked for a pool view,much nicer and brighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gran Hotel Reym... S, Director Comercial at Gran Hotel Reymar, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear customer,

We are delighted for the time you have spent to write this review. In Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa always willing to improve and we take as benchmarks of review of our customers, since they help us to provide a better quality of our services.

Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa is a much appreciated hotel in Tossa appreciated by our regular customers who repeat consecutive years their stay, which we are proud of it. But our challenge is to improve and strive every day more and better so that our customers can enjoy unforgettable holiday. Our level of satisfaction of our customers guarantees (through imperative track customer surveys). Our meals are appreciated by all clients for its quality, variety and personal service at the table like a luxury hotel.

About the renovation, I can explain you this year, we start to renovate 1 floor and we will follow to renovate another floor and other areas of the hotel such as reception, adaptation for handicapped person, etc.

Reymar Premier Gran Hotel has a privileged location in Tossa, opposite the beach and fence Platja de la Mar Menuda and near the commercial and service area of Tossa de Mar. We are a traditional hotel and year after year we continuously carried out extensive maintenance in order to please our customers.

Faithfully, best regards,

Commercial Direction
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Hotel Reymar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Reymar

Address: Playa Mar Menuda s/n, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#6 Family Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#8 Romantic Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gran Hotel Reymar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Premier Gran Hotel Reymar, located on the seafront in Tossa de Mar on the Costa Brava, and just minutes from the town centre. The hotel is located on the more private Mar Menuda beach, separated from the main beach by a rocky outcrop, and a wonderful place for both adults and kids to sunbathe, swim, go snorkelling or even scuba diving. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Gran Hotel Reymar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tossa De Mar
Tossa De Mar Best Western
Gran Hotel Reymar Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel Reymar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.