We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good, the bad and the dangerous.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Mar Menuda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Mar Menuda to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Mar Menuda
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Mar Menuda s/n, Apto Correos 418, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“The good, the bad and the dangerous.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

The good.....the stunning beach location, the free parking and the breakfast included in the room rate had cereals, juice, Cava !, meats, cheeses, breads, pastries and a basket of fruit. Great coffee, and if you ask they will do some eggs. The bed in the room was very comfortable.
The bad.....the room was dirty and there was an unknown substance on the bathroom wall which stayed there for 2 days. Tv didn't work, and the complimentary coffee service and mini bar in our room was empty when we checked in and remained that way despite our requests to refill it. The 7 dead plants in our balcony planter. The 80's called they want their furniture back.
The dangerous.....the balcony railing was rusty and barely attached to the crumbling stucco wall.
It is an accident waiting to happen. Hopefully the hotel will fix it.
The hotel was disappointing only because for a beautiful beach location you would expect a better property.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a sea view, otherwise your view will be a car park or a wall. Don't lean o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    55
    13
    13
    8
See reviews for
27
60
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Largs, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

This beautiful hotel is right on the beach, so location is perfect,
If you want to go into town the walk back could be a struggle if you have mobility problems like myself but as the view is lovely just do what I did and take a few rest breaks to take in the vistas.
There are also some local restaurants and cafes if you want to stop for a longer rest.
Staff really helpful and cheerful.
However the best thing about the hotel (apart from the view from my room which was breathtaking) is the food, even a fussy eater like myself was amazed at the quality even if you don't stay at the hotel a walk the menuda beach for lunch or dinner is a must for anyone staying in Tossa.

Room Tip: Opt for a Junior suite with a sea view as the view is breathtaking
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I am very late in writing this review but as I felt that this was one of our favorite stops on our trip throughout Europe last year I just knew I had to write it anyways.

We loved the location of this hotel! It is at one end of a little bay with an tiny old "walled city" on the other end. We spent hours walking the tiny town and swimming in the Mediterranean. The hotel is literally separated from the beach by a sidewalk. Our balcony opened right to the sea. We fell asleep to the sound of waves on the beach. We could not have asked for a better view! The included breakfast was the best we have encountered at a Best Western, which we usually stay at when traveling abroad. There was a huge buffet of fruits and pastries. There was cooked to order eggs and breakfast meats. It was delicious!

We were in Tossa del Mar in mid September...and found it the perfect time as most of the big waves of tourists had already left. The hotel was going to be renovated the month after we left and I can only imagine it enhanced the total experience of travelers.

On our trip through France, Switzerland, Germany and Spain in 2012...this is the one place we always remember as our favorite.

Room Tip: get one facing the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for four nights. The place was pretty much as I expected after reading other reviews. The location was good, right on the beach. The food was great… well served, good selection and excellent taste. The personnel was friendly, helpful and appreciative (even when we didn’t have cash for tip). The room was clean, but very simple and instead of one bed we had two single beds put together. As a couple we didn’t like that, because it was not comfortable in many cases. The shower was disgusting…sorry, but I can’t find another word. The mold was all over the tiles, the shower head would not stick to the holder and we had to hold it all the time. The good impression was coming from the restaurant that was located outside on terrace, alone the boardwalk with a great view overlooking the sea. We bought the half-board plan and we regretted… not because the meals were not satisfactory, but just because there are so many attractive restaurants around and you have to eat at the same place all the time…

Room Tip: Do not buy half-board plan... there are a lot of restaurants around where you can get great food and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My wife, 14 year old son, and I had an excellent six day stay at the Mar Menuda. The location is terrific: right on a quiet beach with beautiful views of a walled medieval village and rock formations in the water. Lots of amenities: excellent breakfast with lots of variety, easy to control air conditioning, free parking, friendly and helpful staff, clean and quiet rooms, pleasantly decorated hotel, free late afternoon snacks, workout room, small pool. It was great eating breakfast outdoors with the terrific views! It was more $ than we usually spend (about 200 euros/night for the three of us in July 2013) but the location can't be beat. Lots of places to eat dinner close to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Make sure you book at this specific hotel, you might have wanted the much better one next door. (Reymar, which carries the old name of this hotel). Best Western Hotel Mar Menuda is not bad, nor very nice. Average *** in Spain if you ask me. But the reception people are definitively not helpful. We had to ask for the book of recommendations which they tried their best to stop us from using. If you do the same, insist on a copy and bring it to the tourist office in town by hand. If you are spanish spoken, don't let them know at the reception and you will hear some talk about their hotel guests worthy of a comics show.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

just returned from a 4 night stay half board, we ate in the outdoor restaurant every evening and had breakfast there also, its really lovely looking out to sea whilst eating your meal. The evening meal is waiter service you choose off a menu rather than the usual buffet style, If you dont like spanish food this is not the place for you. I was wondering what to expect when I looked at the menu, I must say the food was excellent I tried everything even though I didnt know what half of it was, the food was well cooked and the presentation was lovely my husband and i could not fault it. The hotel itself is in a lovely position right on the beach,I think the place is getting ready for a little bit of an update but it is very clean, the staff are excellent they cant do enough for you they are all very helpful. If you are getting a transfer from the airport take note you get dropped off about a ten minute walk away from the hotel due to its position the roads are very narrow, my advice if you are elderly is get a taxi rather than the bus as it takes you right to the door. overall we would recommend this traditional spanish hotel.

Room Tip: choose a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Mar Menuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mar Menuda

Address: Playa Mar Menuda s/n, Apto Correos 418, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Mar Menuda 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mar Menuda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mar Menuda Hotel Tossa De Mar
Mar Menuda Best Western
Best Western Tossa De Mar
Tossa De Mar Best Western
BEST WESTERN Mar Menuda Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Mar Menuda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.