We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Mar Menuda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Mar Menuda to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Mar Menuda
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Mar Menuda s/n, Apto Correos 418, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“OK hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for four nights. The place was pretty much as I expected after reading other reviews. The location was good, right on the beach. The food was great… well served, good selection and excellent taste. The personnel was friendly, helpful and appreciative (even when we didn’t have cash for tip). The room was clean, but very simple and instead of one bed we had two single beds put together. As a couple we didn’t like that, because it was not comfortable in many cases. The shower was disgusting…sorry, but I can’t find another word. The mold was all over the tiles, the shower head would not stick to the holder and we had to hold it all the time. The good impression was coming from the restaurant that was located outside on terrace, alone the boardwalk with a great view overlooking the sea. We bought the half-board plan and we regretted… not because the meals were not satisfactory, but just because there are so many attractive restaurants around and you have to eat at the same place all the time…

Room Tip: Do not buy half-board plan... there are a lot of restaurants around where you can get great food and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    55
    13
    13
    8
See reviews for
27
60
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My wife, 14 year old son, and I had an excellent six day stay at the Mar Menuda. The location is terrific: right on a quiet beach with beautiful views of a walled medieval village and rock formations in the water. Lots of amenities: excellent breakfast with lots of variety, easy to control air conditioning, free parking, friendly and helpful staff, clean and quiet rooms, pleasantly decorated hotel, free late afternoon snacks, workout room, small pool. It was great eating breakfast outdoors with the terrific views! It was more $ than we usually spend (about 200 euros/night for the three of us in July 2013) but the location can't be beat. Lots of places to eat dinner close to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Make sure you book at this specific hotel, you might have wanted the much better one next door. (Reymar, which carries the old name of this hotel). Best Western Hotel Mar Menuda is not bad, nor very nice. Average *** in Spain if you ask me. But the reception people are definitively not helpful. We had to ask for the book of recommendations which they tried their best to stop us from using. If you do the same, insist on a copy and bring it to the tourist office in town by hand. If you are spanish spoken, don't let them know at the reception and you will hear some talk about their hotel guests worthy of a comics show.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

just returned from a 4 night stay half board, we ate in the outdoor restaurant every evening and had breakfast there also, its really lovely looking out to sea whilst eating your meal. The evening meal is waiter service you choose off a menu rather than the usual buffet style, If you dont like spanish food this is not the place for you. I was wondering what to expect when I looked at the menu, I must say the food was excellent I tried everything even though I didnt know what half of it was, the food was well cooked and the presentation was lovely my husband and i could not fault it. The hotel itself is in a lovely position right on the beach,I think the place is getting ready for a little bit of an update but it is very clean, the staff are excellent they cant do enough for you they are all very helpful. If you are getting a transfer from the airport take note you get dropped off about a ten minute walk away from the hotel due to its position the roads are very narrow, my advice if you are elderly is get a taxi rather than the bus as it takes you right to the door. overall we would recommend this traditional spanish hotel.

Room Tip: choose a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I found the Mar Menuda really quite a good bet. It is located on the edge of Tossa de Mar overlooking the smaller beach and is a five minute walk along the coastal road to Tossa de Mar centre. It has a small car park, a restaurant which seems to attract more than just guests, and a Jacuzzi/steam room, exercise room/terrace with small pool.

Rooms were undergoing final renovations at this time and the resort overall was quite quiet. Staff were good and very helpful, breakfast good quality for the hotel - and typically Spanish.

I had a room [106] which wasn't sea facing but was quite large, everything worked, it had a small balcony, large king size bed, and decent bathroom.

Room Tip: There are some very nice sea facing rooms and suites - but I guess they cost more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Right on the beach! Helpful, friendly staff. Rooms quite alright. Spa not quite up to nordic standards (I live in Sweden) but ok for a cloudy day. Restaurant superb, by far way better than the tourist traps on the strip. You'll spend about 10 euro more per person, but if you can manage it, you'll have a memorable dining experience.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Our short stay in Tossa de Mar was booked last minute due to the reviews we read about the Frigola hotel in Lloret de Mar, Spain.
Good job that we changed hotels because the Figola sounds like a hell hole, be aware!!!

Our holiday was bought for us as a mini moon from the sister in law through low cost packages. who advised her that the Frigola was the good choice of hotel and was within her budget.
The day before we were about to fly out we read about the shocking reviews and called up the company which refused to change our hotel.

So we looked on booking.com and found this place, which was good value and close to the beach. After reading the reviews on tripadvisor we decided to book the room.

It's a bit run down but never the less our stay is short. For 4 nights, we like it.

Our room is big and clean, the aircon works, the bathroom is on the small size but that doesnt bother me.

Breakfast consists of cold meat, pasteries, fruit, yoghurt, eggs. Also hot breakfast is available at a request.

The beach in front of the hotel is pebbly so most of our time was down at the main beach. Which is only 5 mins walk away.

The spa is not that great. Steam and suana room are ok, used the steam room 2 days out of 4. Jet showers could need a revamp and so could the jacuzzi.
There's the hotel pool, small in size, which we didn't use due to the beach.

The staff here are friendly and are willing to help.

Tossa de Mar is a place way from the madding crowd. Its quiet little town and the beach is very clean.
There's a great choice of resturuants to choose from.
The weather hasn't been great for us but the food has well made up for it!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Mar Menuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Mar Menuda

Address: Playa Mar Menuda s/n, Apto Correos 418, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Mar Menuda 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Mar Menuda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mar Menuda Hotel Tossa De Mar
Mar Menuda Best Western
Best Western Tossa De Mar
Tossa De Mar Best Western
BEST WESTERN Mar Menuda Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Mar Menuda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.