We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sea side hotel in prime position” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mar Menuda

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mar Menuda to your Saves list
Hotel Mar Menuda
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Mar Menuda s/n, Apto Correos 418, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain (Formerly BEST WESTERN Mar Menuda)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Durham
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Sea side hotel in prime position”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I found the Mar Menuda really quite a good bet. It is located on the edge of Tossa de Mar overlooking the smaller beach and is a five minute walk along the coastal road to Tossa de Mar centre. It has a small car park, a restaurant which seems to attract more than just guests, and a Jacuzzi/steam room, exercise room/terrace with small pool.

Rooms were undergoing final renovations at this time and the resort overall was quite quiet. Staff were good and very helpful, breakfast good quality for the hotel - and typically Spanish.

I had a room [106] which wasn't sea facing but was quite large, everything worked, it had a small balcony, large king size bed, and decent bathroom.

Room Tip: There are some very nice sea facing rooms and suites - but I guess they cost more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Right on the beach! Helpful, friendly staff. Rooms quite alright. Spa not quite up to nordic standards (I live in Sweden) but ok for a cloudy day. Restaurant superb, by far way better than the tourist traps on the strip. You'll spend about 10 euro more per person, but if you can manage it, you'll have a memorable dining experience.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Efraimfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Our short stay in Tossa de Mar was booked last minute due to the reviews we read about the Frigola hotel in Lloret de Mar, Spain.
Good job that we changed hotels because the Figola sounds like a hell hole, be aware!!!

Our holiday was bought for us as a mini moon from the sister in law through low cost packages. who advised her that the Frigola was the good choice of hotel and was within her budget.
The day before we were about to fly out we read about the shocking reviews and called up the company which refused to change our hotel.

So we looked on booking.com and found this place, which was good value and close to the beach. After reading the reviews on tripadvisor we decided to book the room.

It's a bit run down but never the less our stay is short. For 4 nights, we like it.

Our room is big and clean, the aircon works, the bathroom is on the small size but that doesnt bother me.

Breakfast consists of cold meat, pasteries, fruit, yoghurt, eggs. Also hot breakfast is available at a request.

The beach in front of the hotel is pebbly so most of our time was down at the main beach. Which is only 5 mins walk away.

The spa is not that great. Steam and suana room are ok, used the steam room 2 days out of 4. Jet showers could need a revamp and so could the jacuzzi.
There's the hotel pool, small in size, which we didn't use due to the beach.

The staff here are friendly and are willing to help.

Tossa de Mar is a place way from the madding crowd. Its quiet little town and the beach is very clean.
There's a great choice of resturuants to choose from.
The weather hasn't been great for us but the food has well made up for it!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yychan69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Walked along beach at Tossa to the quiet end away from the fort and liked the look and position of this hotel. Booked into a suite which had fantastic view over beach. Absolutely delighted with the room which was in a quaint Spanish style and was kept sparkling clean by friendly staff. Reception staff excellent and appeared to speak every language. Only complaint was that power kept clicking off in spa but staff tell us it will be sorted. Will be back as soon as we can.

Room Tip: All rooms quiet in the evening as well a way from entertainment. Upper floor front rooms have fant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marylawrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We arrived early but were made welcome and shown to the terrace bar for a beer while the room was readied. Private car park a big bonus. Quiet room at the back, comfortable bed, clean and well fitted. The web and room brochure offers a tea making kit available at reception but this is for the expensive suites only. If you like a morning cuppa, do as we do and take a camping kettle.

The pool area is small and dated on the first floor but a sun trap if you can get space or a sunbed.

Excellent restaurant punching well above its weight and reasonanly priced too. Buffet breakfast with cava extensive and very good value. Right on the beach, short walk to the town, great views of the castle. We liked it very much and would stay again, next time for longer than two nights.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms can be noisy as they overlook the pool and/or restaurant. Go without the view and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

For a 3 star it looks good from the outside.
Staff are all very welcoming and friendly, nothing seems to much of a bother.
We had not booked so whilst we were out side the hotel, we made the reservation on booking.com.
Hotel room was very clean and functional. Room was well equipped.
Was so impressed with the hotel we decided to stay a second night.
Hotel is just a short walk (20 paces - no exaggeration) from the beach.
If there is one minor niggle it is the hotel pool & spa. This is very small and not up to much although the steam room and sauna both work well. I would advise to use the Med, it is warmer that the hotel pool.

Room Tip: try a sea view rook on 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tossa de Mar
0.1 mi away
Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa
Premier Gran Hotel Reymar & Spa
#10 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 stars 407 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Delfin
Hotel Delfin
#3 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 stars 525 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#1 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 stars 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Golden Bahia de Tossa
Golden Bahia de Tossa
#4 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.5 of 5 stars 1,295 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
Hotel GHT Costa Brava
#17 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
4.0 of 5 stars 309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA
Hotel GHT Oasis Tossa & SPA
#20 of 43 in Tossa de Mar
3.5 of 5 stars 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mar Menuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mar Menuda

Address: Playa Mar Menuda s/n, Apto Correos 418, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain (Formerly BEST WESTERN Mar Menuda)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mar Menuda 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Mar Menuda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mar Menuda Hotel Tossa De Mar
Mar Menuda Best Western
Best Western Tossa De Mar
Tossa De Mar Best Western
Hotel Mar Menuda Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing