We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good sporty holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Giverola Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Giverola Resort to your Saves list
Giverola Resort
3.0 of 5 Apartment Hotel   |   Route de Tossa a San Feliu | Urb, Pola-Giverola, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“good sporty holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Nice location with stunning views, rooms are clustered together in little groups making it a large complex but not an unsightly block. We had a nice view and decent room with a good sized balcony although the room was quite small. Signs of attempts to modernise (cushions/tv etc) but could do with an update, particularly the shower and fridge (which didnt actually shut). Good facilities: (with a gondola up/down the hill) busy sports programme/activities and plenty of sunbeds, but the outdoor pool was too cold (in June) and you needed a swimming cap to use the indoor one. Nice private (ish) beach area too and the coastal path to tossa de mar is lovely. We went self catering and would probably recommend cooking yourself. None of the restaurants we tried in tossa de mar were particularly nice. We tried the food in the hotel restaurant on one night, it's obviously not based on British tastes (no chips in sight), with profoundly German & Swiss dishes served, we found it all a bit random, nothing went very well together and there was a significant lack of vegetables on offer. It was fine but not worth the 100 euro it cost 4 of us. Would also recommend hiring a car to get to Tossa de mar, Gerona, Barcelona etc. Overall good hotel with great sports facilities.

Room Tip: Standard '5' people rooms certainly shouldn't sleep 5, lots more comfortable for 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    89
    17
    5
    6
See reviews for
119
20
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedlington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was our first trip to Spain and we stayed for 5 days from May-23 to May-28 at Club Hotel Giverola in Tossa de Mar. This hotel exceeded our expectations. The location is just outside Tossa de Mar (approx. 10 mins drive down one of the most scenic roads or you can take a 20 mins. boat trip to Tossa with a crystal bottom boat).The hotel accommodations are set up as self catering units. We travelled as a family of 3 adults and 2 children and stayed in a 2 bedroom unit with two bathrooms, a well set up kitchen, living room and a huge balcony with excellent views of the ocean and grounds. The unit was very spacious and fit our family well. The hotel has its own private beach. It is a great beach set in a beautiful bay, with turquoise water and an interesting cave taking you to another small bay. We thought the hotel beach was nicer than the one in Tossa. What really sets this hotel apart are the sports & entertainment facilities and activities the hotel offers. The outdoor grounds are huge and include several tennis courts, a mini-golf course, outdoor swimming pool (set up for laps), waterslide with kids pool, two playgrounds including a waterpark feature, archery, beach voleyball, soccer field, regular yoga/pilates/aerobics classes, kids mini-club, and too many other activities to mention. The hotel also rents both road and mountain bikes. We rented mountain bikes and had one of the best rides through the hundreds of trails running right from the hotel grounds. There are also organized bike tours that can be booked. I should mention the bikes are the best quality we seen from any rental place (we got Scott mountain bikes in excellent shape). There is also a heated salt-water indoor pool and two hot tubs, as well as a huge gym. All the activities are free with the exception of the tennis courts and bike rentals. Not sure of the mini-club, as we did not use it. There are many entertainment activities every night, from mini-disco to Flamenco shows, magic shows and many others. The quality of the shows we seen were excellent. The hotel serves breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets, which you have to pay for separately. We eat both outside the hotel and at the hotel for all three meals. The quality of the food at the hotel is far better than what we were able to get in Tossa de Mar. Great buffet selections and a good combination of Spanish and German/Swiss cuisine (I believe the hotel is Swiss owned).The only negative we can say about the hotel is that is not well set up for people with disabilities. The lodging units are on a hill, which means there are lots of steps / hills to be walked. The hotel does have a great outdoor elevator / cable lift that takes you from the reception building down to the beach & outdoor sport grounds. This being said, we travelled with my mom who has great difficulties walking. The hotel manager was very kind and offered us the closest unit to the reception building & cable lift. It had the minimum amount of stairs and mom managed well. Thanks Club Hotel Giverola for a fantastic vacation in Spain! We are already looking forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I’ve spent 10 days at the the bike camp in Girona Hotel. That’s a great place for the bikers both road as well as MTB. Plenty of roads, paths and hills to ride. Great views and weather conditions (ca. 15C at the beginning of March). Accommodation in the bungalow house. Quality of the apartments is at rather average standard. Clean but old furnished. Breakfast and dinners very good with wide and tasty range of food. Staff pleasant and helpful. One of the staff member named Lukas – the coordinator and link between our group and hotel – has done the great job - thanks a lot. Wide range of bikes for rental (road and mtb).Internet access available but with very poor coverage and speed. Please worth recommendation for bikers for whom the surrounding is more important than the quality of the rooms.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlesheim, Basel-Stadt, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

On the 8th of september 2012 we spent a beautiful week with Country-Music at Giverola. We had nice and warm weather. The room we had was spacious, nice, clean. The breakfast and dinner was spectacular! The staff was very nice. We loved the activities: Yoga, Power-Kick, Pilates, Step-Aerobic, Beach-Volley. We did not use the indoor-pool - the weather was too nice for that! The lovely thing of that week was the Country-Music. There were two live-concerts every day with different bands. We were there for Heinz Flueckiger and the Trailers.
The only bad thing was that during a heavy thunderstorm the water run down the hill and almost in our room. The balcony was flooded and the water came into the room.
But the owners were very kind and gave us a bottle of champagne for the cleaning work we did.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Hotel is in the middle of nowhere, but dont be put off where it is, is gorgeous, and Tossa de Mar isnt far away and thats lovely too.
The Hotel itself, well apartments are ok a bit basic but everything you need is there.
The resturant is ok, but you will need the supermarket as the restuarant was closed alot of the time while we were there, but i suppose it is end of / out of season.
The beachs at the hotel and the campsite are fantastic, so clean and the water is lovely
The sports facitilties at the hotel are second to none, theres is so much activity for children, and adults alike
I would definately recommend the hotel to friends with families

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Emilion, France
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This is our 4th time here and it never disappoints us. The staff is excellent, the rooms are clean, activities galore. Spectacular breakfast spread. Excellent for kids. There is also an indoor pool and a gym. If you like you dont have to do anything but get a massage and lay out all day. They have a children's club, tennis lessons, mini golf, archery, exercise classes, scuba diving, you name it they have it. You can go to the near by Tossa de Mar or Girona. Barcelona about 45 minutes away.
extra things you can do with pay..glass bottom boat, banana boat, Splash boat, scuba (classes are free but you have to pay for the equipment) paddle boat, water skiing.
I seriously cant imagine anyone being bored here.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We spent a lovely week in Hotel Giverola with our two teenage children. The facilities in the hotel are fantastic and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The grounds are spotless and well cared for and while the accommodation is functional, it is still very comfortable and was all that we needed. We hired a car for the duration of our holiday so the trip to Tossa Da Mar (beautiful town) was very easy although the hotel run a regular bus service also.

Room Tip: We chose a Studio B which gave us a little more room and was well worth the little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Giverola Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giverola Resort

Address: Route de Tossa a San Feliu | Urb, Pola-Giverola, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Giverola Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 km from Tossa de Mar, a very picturesque town in a beautiful setting. Residence with pool between sea and mountain. Anim’incluse and children's club (4-12 years). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Pierre & Vacances, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Giverola Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giverola Resort Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giverola Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.