We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Giverola, Tossa Da Mar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Giverola Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Giverola Resort to your Saves list
Giverola Resort
3.0 of 5 Apartment Hotel   |   Carretera Blanes a Sant Feliu, 194 | Apartado 330, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain (Formerly Club-Hotel Giverola)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Tossa de Mar
Dublin
2 reviews
“Hotel Giverola, Tossa Da Mar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We spent a lovely week in Hotel Giverola with our two teenage children. The facilities in the hotel are fantastic and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The grounds are spotless and well cared for and while the accommodation is functional, it is still very comfortable and was all that we needed. We hired a car for the duration of our holiday so the trip to Tossa Da Mar (beautiful town) was very easy although the hotel run a regular bus service also.

Room Tip: We chose a Studio B which gave us a little more room and was well worth the little extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    88
    17
    5
    6
See reviews for
119
19
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gdynia, Poland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I am definetely not a fan of organised family holidays in one hotel with "all-inclusive" option. But I ever were to do such thing, I would definetely choose Giverola. It is really a great place for a longer stay with children: great "own" beach, super facilities (3 swimming pools, including perfect heated one with salt water!), playgrounds (indoor and outdoor), minigolf, tennis courts, bikes and my daughter's favourite GONDOLA! :) Rooms are a liitle pass their due date, but for me it was just fine: big bedroom and "living" room, kitchen with all equipment, clean, GREAT, BEAUTIFUL view from the terrace. The location of the hotel is breathtaking. And they serve great breakfasts too! Really - I can truly reccomend this Club.

Room Tip: I would go for the "highest" room possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Emilion, France
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

The team here excellent. The entire staff is helpful, nice, friendly and accommodating. It has a good breakfast buffet. Our daughter loves the mini club she cried when we left. She will miss Miriam. You dont get bored here there are plenty of activities to do or you can do nothing and just lay in the sun and read a book. We met lots of nice people. We are already planning our next return. I would recommend this place for anyone with kids.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We arrived at 3pm but check-in was not until 5pm. The friendly man on reception tried his best to get us into the room but it hadn't been cleaned. I appreciated his efforts. We were allocated a room in block 17 which was quite a walk up the hill and many steps. We were quite dissapointed as the access to the room was down some dark alley smelling of urine.
The facilities were excellent in the resort and we enjoyed the entertainment in the evenings. However, once the entertainment has finished you won't be able to get the funicular railway back to the top due to the queues. You will have to walk up 178 steps.
We tried to go to the indoor pool but were told we needed swimming caps. We weren't offered a solution to this problem by the person on the desk so went to the outdoor pool.
You need to book your lounger with the life guard. We thought the numbers on the umbrellas related to our room number. Obviously that is too simple !
It would be a lovely resort if new accomodation was built.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the main complex if you don't like heights or climbing steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stay in this hotel in June 2010 for 10 days in 2 rooms apartments (Type B), very comfortable for 3 persons (slipping room and living room with kitchen). Very nice view, silence and good place for different types of sport. There is supermarket, so it was easy to have breakfast in the apartment. It was easy to get to the beach on lift from the main building. Hotel is in 5 km from Tossa de Mare (you can get there by hotel bus). Some times we have dinner in hotel – very good. But is was rather difficult to get to Girona and other places without car. The staff was helpful and friendly and we like our vacations in this hotel. It was one of the most beautiful places on Costa Brava.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonkoping, Sweden
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

Have just come back from a short stay at the Hotel club Giverola which I believe is excellent value for money for a 3 star hotel. The staff were fantastic- from reception to entertainment staff to waiters - all were very friendly and helpful and spoke several languages. The apartment we had was fine (casa 31- which was quite close to the pool area so not many steps to climb!) we had a view overlooking the pool area and found the apartment adequate for our family. The pool area is great for kids and I liked the fact that it was so close to the beach too. Plenty of sunlounges- infact was not crowded in June when we were there and the weather was fantastic. Loads of activities - minigolf, tennis, wateraerobics, gym, tabletennis, live music, kids club etc etc. There is an indoor pool too with spa and massages available for reasonable prices. We had half board and found the buffes to be of a very good standard, there is even a supermarket and poolside bar/restaurant for snacks etc. Easy access to Tossa via shuttle bus and even boat. We really enjoyed our stay and can not fault anything - I especially recommend this hotel for families as there is something for everyone, a relaxing place to stay but still close to Tossa.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Emilion, France
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

We accidently found this place, it is a great place to stay if you like doing sports. There is a fantastic kids club and pretty much any activity you can think of. The rooms are basic, the breakfast is filling. Tossa is a 15 min drive, Girona is 30 min. Its not a luxurious place but it is efficient. You do have to be fit to stay here as the steps to the pool are a good work out. We also find the staff extremely friendly and helpful. Lots of languages spoken here. Our 9 year old daughter loves it here.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Giverola Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giverola Resort

Address: Carretera Blanes a Sant Feliu, 194 | Apartado 330, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain (Formerly Club-Hotel Giverola)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Tossa de Mar
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Giverola Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 km from Tossa de Mar, a very picturesque town in a beautiful setting. Residence with pool between sea and mountain. Anim’incluse and children's club (4-12 years). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Pierre & Vacances, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Giverola Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giverola Resort Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giverola Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.