We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The stunning Costa Brava, one of Spain's premier tourist sites
The incredible view from the balcony of Casa Matilda
Our balcony - perfect for an al fresco meal or just admiring the spectacular views
Our property is brand-new, with comfortable, modern furnishings
Tossa de Mar
|
Condo/Apartment – 
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Peter A
Herne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very well equiped apartment with superb balcony and stunning views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We rented Casa Matilda in mid April for a short 4 day break. On arrival we were dropped off on the centre of Tossa and contacted Lorenzo and Matilde by phone. They picked us up and drove us back up the hill to the apartment showing us the supermarket and the roads to the beach on the way. They were very welcoming, explained the apartment and even left us some coffee etc. as we had arrived late in the evening. They live in the house above the apartment although they never bothered us and the apartment and balcony is very private. Also, we got a welcome bottle of wine.
The apartment itself is relatively new. Everything was clean and tidy. The bedrooms are functional with plenty of wardrobe and drawer space. My only criticism was there were no mirrors in the bedrooms, only the bathroom. One double bedroom and one twin bedroom.
The bathroom has a walk in shower (excellent), with wc, and hand basin.
The living area had the kitchen/diner at the end and fitted with fridge, microwave, two plate electric hob and dishwasher. Plenty of cooking utensils, plates, glasses and cutlery. There is a sofa-bed and a coffee table. The living area had SatTV, DVD and free wi-fi.
The wow factor is the balcony. This overlooks Tossa de Mar and gets the sun from early morning to late afternoon. There are table and chairs, and two sun loungers. We made full use of this while there.
The apartment is in a residential area up a steep hill. We are fairly fit so didn't find this too difficult. Lorenzo even offered to collect us from the supermarket and bring our shopping back but we found the ten minute walk from the supermarket no trouble. The beach is about 15-20 minutes walk.
We hadn't been to Tossa before and enjoyed it very much. There isn't a great deal if you like nightlife, but for us we enjoyed the walk into towm, sampling the open air bars and restaurants and then the evening meal.
All in all, a terrific apartment for a short break.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The terrace balcony.
Liked least: One small thing. No mirrors in the bedroom.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 25, 2013
Hello Peter and Jill
Thank you for your nice valuation about the apartment.
We are pleased that you have enjoyed your holiday here in Tossa de Mar
Kind Regards
Lorenzo & Matilde
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
SMN25
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay...and the views are incredible!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

My husband and I have just returned from our week's stay at Casa Matilde in Tossa de Mar. It was just perfect! With a brilliant blue sky and Mediterranean Sea, the view from the apartment balcony was fantastic...even better than the internet photos!

Matilde & Lorenzo were perfect hosts, waving to us as we arrived and giving us all the information we would need for a perfect holiday, including a 'welcome' bottle of wine. The apartment was spotless and equipped with everything you could need. The balcony was large and wonderfully placed for views of the sea, mountains, beach and both the old & new towns and made alfresco dining divine.
The apartment is in a quiet residential part of the town and high in the hills, which give it the outstanding views. This does mean that there are steep hills to get down (and up!) to the town and beaches. Parking in Tossa de Mar was no problem and we used to drive to the bottom of the steep hill and park, then walk from there.
We did have a number of cloudy, grey days but the temperature was still around 24 to 25 degrees...ten degrees higher than in the UK! There are numerous sandy beaches and coves and Tossa is a great holiday town without all the discos and bright lights but plenty to do. The old town is amazing especially when lit up at night.

Our daughter, her husband and young family (aged 8 years and 2 years) stayed in the same apartment at the end of August and they, too, had a wonderful time. All the apartment amenities made it very convenient for a young family, and Matilde even provided a paddling pool for the balcony for the two year old!

Thank you, Matilde & Lorenzo, for a providing a perfect place for our family to stay this Summer.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Everything but especially the stunning views.
Liked least: Nothing at all. With a car the hills are no problem!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 18, 2012
Thank you a lot for your evaluation about my apartment.
We are pleased aboud your holidays in Tossa de Mar have been nice.
Best Regards
Lorenzo & Matilde
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
jpspoons
Newcastle-upon-Tyne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Small but perfectly formed apartment with huge balcony and incredible views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I had a fantastic holiday in Tossa staying at this quiet, clean apartment on the edge of the town. Not having been to Tossa before, we had reservations about the distances we would have to walk each day, but were pleasantly surprised with how easy it was to walk into and out of town. It is a compact town with the restaurants and beaches right in the centre and it took about 20 minutes to walk in and 30 minutes to walk back (up a steep hill).

We got off to a great start. Booking the apartment by email was easy and the owners, Lorenzo and Matilde, answered quickly in excellent English. When we arrived we called them and Lorenzo kindly picked us up from the bus station, pointing out useful shops and so on along the way. At the apartment we couldn't believe our luck - the view was phenomenal, with the whole town, beaches and coastline laid out before us and since the apartment is on the outskirts of the town, we were next to a hillside of trees. The balcony was strung with vines and plants - later in the week we spotted what we think was a stoat on the balcony.

They offered to give us a lift back from the supermarket (half way between the apartment and town centre) if we wanted to do a big shop for the week. Although in the end we didn't take them up on it, it was good of them to offer.

Our apartment had a double room and a twin room. There was at least one other rental apartment available next door but our place felt very private, even on the balcony. Noise would have travelled though, so this is not somewhere for people who want to party.

The apartment was compact but well designed and had everything we needed. Lorenzo and Matilde even lent us beach towels, which we had forgotten to pack, and a beach parasol. The bathroom was a modern wet room with excellent shower and the kitchen was small (two ring hob) and had been designed with typical Spanish priorities in mind - four ways to make coffee! There were plenty of utensils, crockery and patio furniture. They had left mosquito repellent tabs to plug in the wall, which was thoughtful. They had also left us a bottle of wine, which was a nice gesture but not that necessary since we were so thrilled with the apartment itself - it always feels such a gamble booking somewhere without a friend's recommendation but we needn't have been worried.

A downside is the short but extremely steep hill to the apartment - strong legs/ joints or your own transport required. It only takes five minutes to climb but would not be good for those with mobility/fitness issues.

I also found the two large dogs in the adjoining apartment pretty scary. They were not always there and did not always bark, but when they did try and act as guard dogs and scare off us 'intruders' they did a pretty good job! I suspect this was only when there was nobody in their house - Lorenzo and Matilde would, I am sure, have told them to be quiet if they were in.

Overall though, a brilliant place to stay for people who want a peaceful holiday - thank you Lorenzo and Matilde!

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Peaceful, clean, great views, lovely people.
Liked least: Up a short but steep hill.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
AMBScotla...
Scotland UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic Apartment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012 for a stay in April 2012
2
people found this review helpful

My husband and i stayed here for five days.
The owners Matilde and Lorenzo were very friendly and made us feel very welcome.
The apartment has everything you would need for a holiday.
Most of all the view from the balcony was just spectacular.

My only recommendation is that a car is necessary if like me you have limited mobility.
Would really like to return to Tossa, last time i was there was forty years ago and it has not changed that much a beautiful resort.
Will certainly recommend to friends and family.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The spectacular view from the balcony and the location of the apartment.
Liked least: Nothing everything was fantastic.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Merlin L
Nõmme, Harjumaa, Estonia
1 review
“We loved our stay in this apartment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012 for a stay in March 2012

This apartment was amazing. Everithing was cleaned and there was everything we needed. The most fantastic thing was great view. The owners were very nice and friendly. We are very thankful.
We would absolutely recommend this apartment.

Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Jeanette...
Middelfart, Denmark
1 review
“Very nice stay at the Costa Brava Coast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012 for a stay in February 2012

We - a famly of four - have just enjoyed a very nice stay in Casa Matilda. The desription of the apartment and the facilities as welle as the picture simply describes reality very well. Tossa da Mar is a very nice place at the coast and it makes a great place to stay for both visits to Barcelona and along the coast.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: the view, the location of the flat
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
valertosa
Cluj-Napoca
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“quiet place, nice view of the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011 for a stay in September 2011
2
people found this review helpful

We (two families ~55 years old) rented the 2 bedroom apartment via internet so assuming all the possible drawbacks, but it was not a bad choice. The position of the house gives you a nice view over Tossa and sea. If full moon you have a spectacular night view too. Lorenzo and Matilde, despite the elementary English, are nice guests, ready to solve the problems you have. There is only one bathroom so either you are close friends or a family.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: the apartment position over the gulf of Tossa
Liked least: the smell of closed rooms when we entered the apartment
Traveling group: With Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$56
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
Matilde R
Speaks English, Spanish
Listed since : Dec 2008
Response Rate: 85 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 4 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing