We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Maria Rosa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Maria Rosa to your Saves list
Hotel Maria Rosa
Pont Vell, 4, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 Tossa de Mar B&B and Inns
Gold Coast
1 review
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

My partner and I have stayed at this hotel twice in the last two months and both times have been really impressed. The family are very nice, rooms are clean, beds comfy, location is amazing, breakfast is very good. Wouldn't stay anywhere else, this hotel was perfect for us!
They even have english TV!
Tim and Bec - Australia

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    11
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
6
18
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

Me and my partner stayed at this little hotel in July 2010 and it was fantastic. Its a very authentic family run hotel, a lovely family they are aswell. It's situated on a nice little street right next to the walls of the old town with a couple of good bars and restaurants (Bar Se Torre and Celler del Vi especially) alongside.

The hotel itself consists of a breakfast room and 3 floors above, with the 2nd and 3rd floors having spacious terrace/balconies apposed to the smaller balconies on the 1st floor. We were lucky enough to get a room on the third floor with a Balcony that had great views over the street, old town and onto the beach. The room itself was basic but good with everything we needed (double bed, fan, tv, en suite bathroom) and very well kept (bedding and towels changed daily). Breakfast was a good typical european style breakfast with croissants, toast, bread, jam, butter and tea or coffee.

We have to dig deep to find any negatives with the Hotel Maria Rosa. For some the noise from the street bars below could disturb sleep but its only as loud as the sound of the seagulls early in the morning which we quickly got used to and was really no problem for us. Theres no lift so if you've difficulty walking you might want to request a 1st floor room.

All in all we highly recommend Hotel Maria Rosa. It felt more like home than a hotel and we'd definately return. And all for a very very reasonable price, b&b, 52€ a night (high season).

If you prefer a more authentic, relaxing spanish holiday apposed to the bigger resorts e.g. Lloret De Mar, try Tossa De Mar and Hotel Maria Rosa

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

An absolutely great tiny little authentic spanish hotel/hostel right on the beach in a cosy little town Tossa de Mar 1hr drive north of Barcelona. 20 Euro per person per night, 2,50 Euro for the breakfast. Best value for money I have seen in a long time and great hosts, a Spanish family. The rooms are small but we were good with it the week we stayed there. August 2009, Einar

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Maria Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maria Rosa

Address: Pont Vell, 4, 17320 Tossa de Mar, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Tossa de Mar
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Tossa de Mar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Maria Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maria Rosa Tossa De Mar, Costa Brava, Spain

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Maria Rosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.